

Health and Wellness Unit 1580 Logan, Suite 200 Denver, CO 80203

August 1, 2017

Dear Superintendents and Principals

Colorado's Immunization Law (C.R.S. 25-4-902) requires schools and child care providers to review and collect up-to-date immunization records for all children and adolescents. Immunization records should be provided to the school at the time of school entry, and parents have 14 days to bring their child into compliance. To be compliant, a student must be up-to-date with their immunizations, be in the process with a plan to become up-to-date or have an exemption on file at the school. Please refer to the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act concerning the requirement of an immunization record for students defined as homeless.

- Parents have the right to exempt their child from the school immunization requirements according to C.R.S. 25-4-903. Parents need to submit to the school a statement of personal or religious exemption annually. Either the use of the official certificate or a parental statement is acceptable. The joint guidance from CDPHE and CDE last spring regarding non-medical exemptions can be found on the school nurse website. <u>Link</u> A medical exemption must be signed by a licensed healthcare provider and only needs to be submitted once. For further information, refer parents to the state <u>vaccine exemptions</u> site. Please be aware that any information sent to parents regarding the school immunization requirements needs to include information on their rights to exclude their child from this requirement.
- Colorado Board of Health Rule 6 CCR 1009-2 requires public, private and parochial schools as well as preschools to report aggregate immunization and exemption data to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment annually. This data collection is due every December 1st. This collection and report on aggregate student immunization data is permitted under The Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). The 2016-17 School Immunization Data Report was recently released and you can view your school's data at this Link.
- To assist schools in obtaining current immunization information for their students, the Colorado Immunization Information System (CIIS) provides up to the date immunization records. While schools can access immunization information on CIIS, written parental consent is required under FERPA to add any student immunization information into the system. For further information, go to the CIIS link.
- Every year, schools are required to provide the student's parent or guardian a document from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment which lists all immunizations required for school entry and any recommended immunizations per the Board of Health. While we encourage this document be posted on the district website, it should be provided to parents in a newsletter, student handbook, or electronic copy. This document is updated annually and currently translated into 10 languages. Link

Schools do have the authority to suspend or expel any student who is non-compliant under C.R.S 25-4-907. We encourage you to work with your school nurse or local health agency to become 100% compliant with the immunization law. Be aware that the state and local health agency have the authority to quarantine for up to 21 days any unimmunized student during an outbreak. We appreciate your efforts to keep student healthy, in school and ready to learn.

If you have any other questions, please contact me at <u>patrick_k@cde.state.co.us</u>.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Patrick RN

Assistant Director, Health and Wellness