Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

ESEA Reward Schools

In accordance with Colorado’s ESEA Flexibility Waiver the state rewards Title I schools that demonstrate high performance and schools that demonstrate high progress. The specific reward programs and the methodologies used to identify recipients are outlined below.

ESEA High‐Performing Reward Schools

The ESEA Reward School awards are given to Title I schools demonstrating high-performance and high-progress. In 2014, 6 schools earned this award. To receive this award Title I schools must meet the following requirements:

  • Have received any of the following Colorado school award: Governor's Distinguished Improvement Award, John Irwin School of Excellence Award, Centers for Excellence Award, Blue Ribbon Schools, and the National Title I Distinguished School Awards;
  •  Is a Title I funded school;
  • Earned an exceeds rating on Academic Achievement (a rating of exceeds is greater than the current year AMO, up until 2015-16 when it equals the AMO); 
  • Have all disaggregated groups meeting or exceeding the current year AMO; and
  • Earn a Graduation Rate indicator rating of exceeds for high schools.

ESEA High‐Progress Reward Schools

This award is distributed annually to those schools in the state that:

  • Receive Title I funds;
  • Showed a change in the Academic Achievement rating from 3 years prior to the current year of does not meet to meets/exceeds, or approaching to meets/exceeds;
  • Meet the minimum n-count for at least one disaggregated group;
  • Have all disaggregated groups meeting or exceeding the current year AMO; and
  • For high schools, have earned a change in the Graduation Rate indicator ratings from 3 years prior to the current year of: does not meet to meets/exceeds, or approaching to exceeds.

2012-13 and 2013-14 Reward Schools

2014-15 Reward Schools



Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access