You are here

ESSA Blog Banner

ESSA Hub Committee Membership

By Patrick Chapman, Executive Director, Federal Programs
Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 9:19am

The State Board of Education and the Colorado Department of Education are pleased to announce the finalized ESSA Hub Committee membership. The Hub committee will include:

  • Steve Durham and Angelika Schroeder (State Board of Education)
  • Rep. Brittany Pettersen and Rep. Jim Wilson (State Legislature)
  • Evy Valencia (Governor's Office)
  • Ken DeLay (Colorado Association of School Boards)
  • Lisa Escarcega (Colorado Association of School Executives)
  • Linda Barker (Colorado Education Association)
  • Don Anderson (Colorado BOCES Association)
  • Diane Duffy (Colorado Department of Higher Education)
  • Jesus Escarcega (Colorado ESEA Committee of Practitioners)
  • Jim Earley (Parent)
  • Ross Izard (Independence Institute)
  • Luke Ragland (Colorado Succeeds)
  • Jeani Frickey (Stand for Children)
  • Kirk Banghart (Moffat School District, President of Rural Alliance)
  • Dan Schaller (League of Charter Schools)
  • Sean Bradley (Urban League of Metropolitan Denver)
  • Ernest House, Jr. (Colorado Commission on Indian Affairs)
  • Carolyn Gery (Goal Academy)

The schedule of ESSA Hub Committee meetings is as follows (Please visit the Hub webpage to see an updated list of meeting dates and times):

  • August 8, 2016
  • September 12, 2016
  • October 10,2016
  • November 14, 2016
  • December 12,2016

Each meeting will begin at 12:00 PM and end at 4:00 PM. The first meeting of the Hub Committee will take place at 1560 Broadway, Suite 1900. All other meetings are expected to take place in the State Board of Education room at the Colorado Department of Education, 201 E. Colfax Ave., Denver.

Updates on Hub Committee meetings and work will posted on the ESSA State Plan Development webpage.

(Note: This blog post was updated on 8/2/2016 to include additional hub committee members, and again on 11/8/16 to link to new meeting dates)