Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Colorado's Early Childhood Professional Development Advisory

Advisory Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

* All meetings are from 9:00am - 11:30am

  • March 15, 2016 - 1560 Broadway, Denver, CO 80202, 19th Floor Conference Room
  • June 14, 2016 - Location: TBD

Past Meetings

  • January 28, 2016 - EDU - Denver Place, 999 18th Street, Suite 144 , Denver, CO
  • Sept. 15, 2015 - 1560 Broadway, Denver, CO 80202, 19th Floor Conference Room 
  • June 2, 2015 - EDU - Denver Place, 999 18th Street, Suite 144 , Denver, CO
  • April 7, 2015 - EDU - Denver Place, 999 18th Street, Suite 144 , Denver, CO
  • Feb. 3, 2015 - EDU - Denver Place, 999 18th Street, Suite 144 , Denver, CO

  • Nov. 4, 2014 - EDU - Denver Place, 999 18th Street, Suite 144 , Denver, CO
  • Sept. 2, 2014 - Mile High United Way, 2505 18th Street Denver, CO 80211, Founder's Room
  • June 30, 2014 - Mile High United Way, 2505 18th Street Denver, CO 80211, Founder's Room
  • May 9, 2014 - 1560 Broadway, Denver, CO 80202, 19th Floor Conference Room

Advisory Members - 3 Year Terms

Updated 8/26/2014

EC PD Advisory Chairs

  • Pamela Harris
    President and CEO
    Mile High Montessori Early Learning Centers; Head Start programs

  • Rebecca Kantor
    Professor and Dean - School of Education and Human Development
    University of Colorado Denver - Early Childhood and Education Preparation Programs

  • Nancie Linville
    Director of the Office of Early Learning & School Readiness
    Colorado Department of Education

Two and Four Year Colleges, Universities, Alternative Teacher Prep: 8 Representatives

  • Michelle Bender
    Faculty and Department Chair Early Childhood Education and Education
    Pikes Peak Community College; Colorado Community College ECE Faculty; Co-Chair of Colorado’s Early Childhood Faculty Coalition
  • Michelle Koch
    Family and Consumer Sciences Program Director
    Colorado Community College System
  • Barbara Jackman
    Associate Professor and Coordinator; Co-Chair of ECE Coalition
    Early Childhood Programs, Colorado Mountain College
  • Rashida Banerjee
    Associate Professor and Coordinator
    University of Northern Colorado, EC Special Education

  • Terry Hotz
    Coordinator, Early Learning ProfessionsDelta Montrose Technical College
  • Dr. Malinda Jones
    Assistant Professor of Early Childhood EducationMetro State University
  • Ellen Hall
    Founder and Executive Director
    Boulder Journey School, Director of the Teacher Education Program, created by Boulder Journey School in partnership with the Colorado Department of Education and the University of Colorado Denver
  • Dr. Lissanna Follari
    Director, Bachelor of Innovations in Inclusive ECE, Department of Special Ed
    University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

EC Professionals: 6 Representatives

  • Linda Adams
    Executive Director
    Colorado Association for the Education of Young Children; RMEC
  • Ilona Witty
    ECE Principal
    Salida Schools
  • Rosemarie Allen
    Faculty and Early Childhood Consultant
    Metropolitan State University of Denver

  • Diane Price
    President and CEO
    Early Connections Learning Centers
  • Barbara Sawyer
    Director, Special Projects
    National Assoc. of Family Child Care
  • Noel Nelson
    Early Childhood Education Association of Colorado (ECEAC)

State Level Higher Education, CDE Teacher Licensure, CDE Effective Educator: 2 Representatives

  • Karen Lowenstein Martinez
    Consultant, Educator Preparation
    Colorado Department of Education, Educator Licensing and Teacher Prep Programs (including alternative teacher prep programs)
  • Robert Mitchell, Ph.D.
    Academic Policy Officer for Educator Preparation
    Colorado Department of Higher Education

Early Intervention, Special Education, CPP, Results Matter: 3 Representatives

  • Laura Merrill
    Early Intervention Training and Personnel Coordinator Colorado Early Intervention Team - Colorado Dept. of Human Services
  • Penny Dell
    Supervisor, Preschool Special Education and Child Find
    Colorado Department of Education
  • Cathrine Aasen Flloyd, PhD
    Program Director, Colorado Preschool Program and Results Matter
    Colorado Department of Education

State Level Child Care Licensing and QRIS: 2 Representatives

  • Carin Rosa
    Licensing Administrator
    Colorado Department of Human Services, Office of Early Childhood
  • Karen Enboden/ Cathy Smyth
    Child Care Quality Rating and Improvement System Manager
    Colorado Department of Human Services; QRIS

Head Start: 2 Representatives

  • Heather Craiglow 
    Head Start Collaboration Direction
    Colorado Department of Human Services
  • Ashante Butcher, MPH 
    Director of Health Services
    Denver Great Kids Head Start, City and County of Denver

EC Training, Coaching and QI Providers (includes Councils and R&Rs): 6 Representatives

  • Tami Havener 
    Executive Director
    Family Development Center of Steamboat Springs (CCR&R, Parent Education, NAEYC accredited center)
  • Phyllis Lucas
    Professional Practice Director
    Qualistar Colorado
  • Geneva Hallett, M.A. Ed.
    Director The Colorado Center for Social Emotional Competence and Inclusion
    University of Colorado Denver; Pyramid Plus Center

  • Lynn Andrews 
    Sr. Director of Professional Development
    Coaching Consortium and Clayton Early Learning
  • Emily Bustos
    Executive Director, DECC
    Board President, Early Childhood Council Leadership Alliance (ECCLA); Denver Early Childhood Council (DECC)

Family, Friend and Neighbor: 1 Representative

  • Diana Romero-Campbell
    Director, School Readiness
    Mile High United Way; Statewide Family, Friend and Neighbor Care

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access