CPP Online Handbook: Program Requirements
Specific CPP Program Requirements Identified in Legislation
True quality goes beyond licensing requirements – these minimum
just a beginning. Quality programs attempt to provide the best
possible environment for all children.
The basic elements of quality that are identified in the Colorado
Preschool Program Act include:
There should be a maximum of 16 children per classroom with an
adult-child ratio of one to eight in preschool programs.
- One of the primary determinants of quality in early
childhood programs is the relationship between children and
- It may be difficult for a teacher to develop a close
relationship with his/her students if the class size is too
large or if the teacher is responsible for too many children.
- The relationship between a teacher and child is especially
critical when serving children who are at risk for school
- Multiple opportunities for one-on-one communication are
critical for children to develop language, math and self
Frequency of Contact:
programs, the law requires 360 contact hours a year, which
is usually 10 hours per week (22-32-109 C.R.S.).
- Classes are to be held for four half days, or the equivalent
- The fifth half day should be used for home visits, staff
development, or planning. (22-28-108 C.R.S.)
- In each school district, the funding levels for CPP
preschool are one-half of what is provided for a child in
- While the preschool program must be operated at a
minimum of 360 hours per year, half-day kindergarten must
operate a minimum of 450 hours per year.
- The 90 hour difference in the program requirement hours
is to enable preschool teachers additional time to attend
staff training, provide home visits to families, assess
children, and do child planning based on those assessments.
- With the implementation of Results
Matter, the funded non-pupil contact time is even more
Each child should have an
individual learning plan which
identifies the child’s needs in language, cognition, gross and fine
motor development, social skills, and self-esteem.
Results Matter, our authentic assessment and online data
collection, is also required. Data from the assessment can
inform the individual learning plan.
In a quality early childhood program, parents and providers learn
how to be partners in a child’s education. CPP requires programs to have a
written plan for parent
- In addition, parents are asked to enter into an agreement
with the program that specifies what this involvement looks like
(22-28-110 C.R.S.) .
- Programs that are able to engage parents in their child’s
education can strengthen parents’ ability to support their
children and reinforce the learning that occurs in the
- Early childhood programs can break down barriers with
families, such as lack of trust in schools and fear of failure,
to set a pattern of parent involvement that can be followed
through a child’s school career.
Back: Licensure through Colorado
Department of Human Services
Next: Colorado Quality Standards for
Early Childhood Care and Education Services Requirements
Top of page