Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

News Release - Colorado Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program

Jan. 25, 2013

News Release

Colorado Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program

Students Headed to Washington, D. C. and to Receive $5,000 Scholarship

Commissioner of Education Robert Hammond today announced the names of the two students who have been selected as delegates to the 51st Annual United States Senate Youth Program that will be held March 9 – 16, 2013 in Washington, D.C. Connie Hammond of Colorado Springs and Sean Weller of Colorado Springs were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program’s 51st annual Washington Week.

Connie Hammond attends Colorado Springs Christian High School and serves as Class Council representative, as well as senator in Student Cabinet. Connie plans to study political science, followed by a master’s degree or doctorate from a Colorado college or university. In the future, she plans to run for an elected office.

Sean Richard Weller is a senior at Air Academy High School on the United States Air Force Academy, near Colorado Springs. He is currently chair of the statewide Colorado Youth Advisory Council, as well as Student Body president at his school. After high school, Sean plans to pursue a degree in political science, economics or public policy followed by graduate school. In the future, he hopes to pursue a career as a public policy analyst and run for an elected legislative office.

Chosen as alternates to the 2013 program were Chinmay Pandit, a resident of Fort Collins, who attends Fossil Ridge High School and Breanna Williams, a resident of Thornton, who attends Legacy High School.

Selection for the U.S. Senate Youth Program is based on the student’s outstanding abilities and demonstrated qualities of leadership in an elected or appointed high school student office, in addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates to the U.S. Senate Youth Program. Two delegates are chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity. The student leaders will gather in Washington, D.C., from March 9-16, 2013, for a week of intensive study of the federal government and, in particular, the U.S. Senate. As in past years, arrangements are underway for the delegates to meet with leading cabinet members, a Supreme Court justice and several key congressional policy makers.

The Hearst Foundations provide each of the 104 student delegates with a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs.

Contact: For questions about delegates, alternates or the selection process, please contact your state selection administrator: Ms. Lynn Bamberry at (303) 866-6813 or or visit For more general information about the United States Senate Youth Program, please contact Program Director Rayne Guilford at 800-425-3632,

Return to news release page

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access