You are here

News Release - Five Colorado schools awarded 2017 Blue Ribbon Schools

Sept. 28, 2017

Five Colorado schools awarded 2017 Blue Ribbon Schools 

DENVER -- Commissioner of Education Katy Anthes today congratulated five Colorado schools named by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos as National Blue Ribbon Schools based on overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.
"Congratulations to these schools, their staff, their students and families for this well-deserved recognition,” said Commissioner Anthes. "I am so proud of their dedication and tireless efforts to help every student succeed." 

The schools are Bear Creek Elementary School in Boulder (Boulder Valley School District), Dennison Elementary School in Lakewood (Jeffco Public Schools), Connect Charter School (Pueblo 70), Valdez Elementary School (Denver),  Wildflower Elementary School (Harrison School District 2). 

The program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards and are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gaps.

“National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to the honorees. “You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff.”

All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores and subgroup scores on state assessments or nationally normed tests as well as graduation rates:

  • “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized as high performing as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Improving,” in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Now in its 35th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,500 schools. On Nov. 6-7, Sec. DeVos and the U.S. Department of Education will celebrate with these honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

A total of  342 schools in 44 states, the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity schools in Okinawa, Japan, Stuttgart, Germany, and West Point, NY,  were recognized this year as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The U.S. Department of Education asks National Blue Ribbon School nominations from top education officials in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the U.S. Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by the Council of American Private Education (CAPE).