C.R.S. 22-33-104.5 Home-Based Education
Welcome to the Home School section of the CDE website! Did you know Colorado law recognizes that parents have the primary right and obligation to choose the proper education and training for children under their care and supervision? A parent can choose to begin home schooling at any time. Please scroll down to learn about the reporting requirements as stated in the Home School Law. The FAQs link at the bottom of this page (under Additonal Resources) provides information on how to start your home school program. Parents are encouraged to contact their local school district with questions about home schooling.
Important things to know about Home School
- Home school is considered non-public and parents are not required to follow the Colorado Academic Standards or have their child take the Colorado State Assessments.
- Parents provide the instruction and determine what curriculum will be taught based on the content areas outlined in the Home School Law.
- Home School is not accredited by the state of Colorado nor does the state keep records on home school students.
- It is the parent or guardian's responsibility to generate and maintain all records from the home school program, including a diploma.
The Difference between Home School and Online Public School
Often students in home school programs and students enrolled in an online school access curriculum in the same manner, online via the internet. However, home school programs are very different from online public schools.
The Colorado Home School Law defines a nonpublic home-based educational program as “the sequential program of instruction for the education of a child which takes place in a home, which is provided by the child's parent or by an adult relative of the child designated by the parent, and which is not under the supervision and control of a school district. This educational program is not intended to be and does not qualify as a private and nonprofit school.” Whereas an online school in Colorado is defined as "a full-time education school. . . that delivers a sequential program of synchronous or asynchronous instruction directed by a teacher, primarily through online digital learning strategies that provide students choice over time, place, and path, and teacher-guided modality, of learning."
Home schooling is deregulated in the state of Colorado. Therefore, the parent or guardian is taking on all of the responsibility for the student's education including but not limited to; instruction, the acquisition of books, curriculum, supplies, tests, and maintaining permanent records. In an online public school, the school handles these responsiblilites and is accredited by their local school district.
Reporting Requirements for Home School Programs
The Colorado Home School Law dictates that home school programs register with a local school district in the state by submitting, in writing, a notice of intent to home school. See the FAQs below for information on what your letter of intent must include. If your child is currently enrolled in a public school, the parent must submit their letter of intent to their local school district 14 days before they can beging their home school instruction. Any absences from public school during that 14 day period may be marked as unexcused absences, in accoradnace with the school's/district's attendance policy.
A home school student must take a nationally standardized achievement test to evaluate their academic progress when he/she reaches grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11. An alternative to taking a national standardized achievement test is having a qualified person, as defined in Colorado Home School Law, evaluate the student’s academic progress at the parent’s expense. It is the parent’s obligation to report the test or evaluation results to the school district that receives the written notification for the home school student. (22-33-104.5(3)(f), C.R.S.)
The state does not have any guidance or information on assessments other than what is written in the Colorado Home School Law. Please contact your local school district office for resources or with questions concerning your notice of intent and assessment reporting requirements.
The links below include a copy of Colorado Home School Law, how to get started home schooling your child, and a resources link to home school organizations that provide information on networking, support groups, curricula, and testing.
- FAQs (Help! How Do I Get Started?)
- Home School Resources
- Home School Law
- School Attendance Law
- General Assembly Resolution
- Assessment Testing for Home-Based Students
- Colorado P-12 Academic Standards - A guide to determine the elements and concepts to identify in the curriculum you choose for your student(s).
Contact Kelly Rosensweet with questions regarding home school.