You are here

Determinations for Administrative Units (AUs)

COVID-19 and Special Education

View information for educators and parents to support students with disabilities during the COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 resources for special education

Starting in 2017, the Colorado Department of Education Exceptional Student Services Unit (ESSU) is using both compliance and results matrices to make determinations for each Administrative Unit (AU) under section 616(d) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Using the Result Matrix developed by the Result Matrix Workgroup and the preexisting Compliance Matrix, we consider the totality of the information we have about an AU.

Please see the resources below for more information about AU Determinations.

Important Note: Each Administrative Unit (AU) operates within a unique context.  Questions about the information contained in the Determination Matrix are to be directed to the AU Director,



Adams 1 (Mapleton)


Adams 12 (Northglenn)


Adams 14 (Commerce City)


Adams 27J (Brighton)


Adams 50 (Westminster Public Schools)


Adams Arapahoe 28J (Aurora)


Arapahoe 1 (Englewood)


Arapahoe 2 (Sheridan)


Arapahoe 5 (Cherry Creek)


Arapahoe 6 (Littleton)


Boulder RE-1J (St. Vrain)


Boulder RE-2 (Boulder)


Colorado School for the Deaf and the Blind (CSDB)


Charter School Institute (CSI)


Delta 50J


Denver Public Schools

Douglas RE-1


Eagle County


Elizabeth School District


El Paso 2 (Harrison)


El Paso 3 (Widefield)


El Paso 8 (Fountain-Fort Carson)


El Paso 11 (Colorado Springs)


El Paso 12 (Cheyenne Mountain)


El Paso 20 (Academy)


El Paso 38 (Lewis-Palmer)


El Paso 49 (District 49)


Fort Lupton-Keenesburg


Fremont RE-1 (Cañon City)


Gunnison RE-1J


Jefferson County R-1


La Plata (Durango 9-R)


Larimer R-1 (Poudre - Fort Collins)


Larimer R2J (Thompson - Loveland)


Larimer R-3 (Estes Park)


Logan RE-1 (Sterling)


Mesa Valley 51 (Grand Junction)


Moffat RE-1 (Craig)


Montrose RE-1J


Morgan RE-3 (Fort Morgan)


Pitkin County (Aspen)


Pueblo 60 (Pueblo City)


Pueblo 70 (Rural)


Summit County


Weld 4 (Windsor)


Weld 5 (Johnstown-Milliken)


Weld 6 (Greeley)





If the visual nature of the AU Determinations above is not accessible to you, or if you would like to explore all the data in one place, the full data set, including all Administrative Units, can be found in the Excel files below.

Please Email Miki Imura or Email Alyssa Ohleyer with questions.


AU Determinations over 5 years old (starting in 2016) can be found on the AU Determinations Archive Page.


Find what you were looking for?


If you have problems with broken links or accessing the content on this page, please contact our web content coordinator Amanda Timmerman at Please copy the URL link for this page into the email when referencing the problem you are experiencing.