Alternative Teacher Preparation Programs
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How long will it take to complete an Alternative Teacher Licensing Program?
Designated Agencies offer 1-year and 2-year programs. Individuals enrolled in an Alternative program in the content area of special education may take up to 3 years to complete the program requirements. To find out more specific information regarding these programs, contact the Designated Agency.
2. What if I don't complete the program within the specified timeframe? Can it be extended?
For applicants enrolled in a 1-year alternative teacher program, the alternative teacher license shall be valid for a period of 1 year after the date of issuance. It may be renewed for only one (1) additional year with approval of an extension request submitted to the Colorado Department of Education by the Designated Agency.
For applicants enrolled in a 2-year alternative teacher program, the alternative teacher license shall be valid for a period of 2 years after the date of issuance and cannot be renewed.
3. What is the salary for Alternative Teachers?
If you are employed as an Alternative Teacher, you will be paid by the employing district. Salaries vary among school districts. Contact the schools or districts that you are interested in for this information.
4. What is the typical fee for these programs?
The fee charged to the alternative candidate will vary depending on the Designated Agency. CDE does not set or keep program fee information. Information about program costs may be obtained from the Designated Agency.
5. What is a Designated Agency?
Designated Agencies include school districts, charter or private schools, Boards of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES), institutions of higher education, non-profit organizations, or a combination of these groups that have been approved by the state to offer alternative programs.
6. Do these programs include placement?
No. Alternative candidates must hold a valid Statement of Eligibility and are required to seek their own employment, similar to those who have completed regular preparation for licensure. CDE has a job website at Teach in Colorado. You may also want to check with individual districts for their job openings.
7. Is a Statement of Eligibility a license?
No. The Statement of Eligibility is used to indicate to a Designated Agency that you meet the state requirements to enter the program. It is not a license.
8. How long is the Statement of Eligibility valid for? Can it be renewed?
The Statement of Eligibility is valid for three years and can be renewed. Applicants must meet current standards at the time of renewal. To renew an applicant must submit an online ALT: Statement of Eligibility application and fee.
9. Can I apply for a Statement of Eligibility in more than one endorsement area?
Yes. An individual can apply for numerous endorsements. However, a separate ALT: Statement of Eligibility application and fee must be submitted for each endorsement being sought.
10. When should I apply to the school districts?
This will depend on the district. The Statement of Eligibility is required for employment and may be required for application to various districts.
11. What if a school district wants to hire me, but does not have the funding for a full-time person? Can I participate in a program if I am only teaching part-time?
No. Per Colorado Law, these programs require full-time employment as an alternative teacher.
12. May I hold an Alternative License in more than one endorsement area?
No. While in the alternative teacher program, you can only be endorsed in one content area. Additional endorsements may be added to an initial or professional license through the added endorsement application.
13. What if I have a degree, such as in psychology, that does not match any of the listed endorsement areas?
CDE is unable to issue endorsements in content areas not listed. Please apply to the program and select an endorsement in which you wish to be licensed. If you are deficient in any coursework or testing, CDE will notify you via email.
14. When I submit my application, may I include supplemental materials to verify competencies?
No. If additional information or documentation is required beyond what is requested within the application, CDE will notify you via email.
15. Do I need to send or include transcripts from each college or university attended?
Yes. Colorado requires official transcripts from all accepted, regionally accredited colleges and/or universities that you have attended. If you do not include all transcripts, your evaluation will be delayed.
16. What is the difference between the PLACE exam and the PRAXIS II Exam?
Both are content area assessment tests. PLACE was designed and developed for Colorado and PRAXIS II is a nationwide test. Colorado accepts PRAXIS II in 5 content areas: Elementary Education, English, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. Please check that the test for which you are registering is approved by the state of Colorado.
For technical problems with this page please contact the Web Content Coordinator