Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

2016 Colorado Teen Video Challenge

2016 Teen SRP Slogan


The Colorado State Library and the Collaborative Summer Library Program (CSLP) are excited to announce the 2016 Colorado Teen Video Challenge! Teens, 13-18, individually or in teams, are invited to create a short Public Service Announcement promoting the 2016 summer reading theme, "Get in the Game: Read!!"


The "Colorado 2016 Teen Video Challenge" is open to legal U.S. residents who are residents of Colorado aged 13-18. Participants are ineligible if directly related to the panel of judges for the contest. All Colorado public libraries can participate.


  • Actively engage teens at your library and in your community

  • Promote reading and library use to teens

  • Provide teens with a real-world opportunity to strengthen essential 21st skills like teamwork, digital literacy, communication, and leadership

  • Promote Teen Tech Week, March 6-12, 2016!

  • Encourage teens to be creative and have fun
  • Provide an engaging project for your teen advisory board or other teen groups
  • Establish or further partnerships with local schools, after school programs, nonprofits, and homeschooling families
  • Put that video camera in your library to a great use!
  • Allow teens from CO to get national exposure and receive a cash prize! The winning teen or teen team will receive $150!

  • Receive an incentive for your library! The library that sponsors the winning video in Colorado will get an Upstart gift certificate worth $50!


For library staff:

  • Promote the contest to teens in your library and community, and encourage them to tell their friends. Your library's website and social media, teen advisory board, nearby schools (especially video production teachers), after school programs and clubs, flyers in popular restaurants and teen hangouts, and word of mouth are all great ways to promote the contest.

  • Encourage teens to participate and assist them by providing resources to produce and edit videos, finding copyright-free music and art, and answering questions.

  • Promote the program to local high school librarians and teachers (several AV teachers have made the contest a class project in the past with great success)

  • Teens can use video cameras and editing software from your library, their homes, their friends, and/or their schools.

  • Provide your library for teens to film in (though the videos don't have to be filmed in your library; filming can occur anywhere)

For teens:

  • Get the contest guidelines, entry form, and model release form

  • Have fun and be creative creating a 30 to 90 second video that encourages teens to read and use libraries this summer. Use the concept of "Get in the Game: Read!" as the focus of your video. Do not promote or name your local public library (though if the name of your library appears in the video that's fine); videos need to promote libraries in general.

  • Find useful video production resources on the CSLP website, and ask at your local library for more.

  • Entitle your video with: "2016 TVC-CO-Unique Name." Please choose a unique name that does not include your real name.

  • Upload your video to or

  • Fill out your Entry Form and Model Release form(s) completely. Be sure to include one Model Release form for each person that appears in the video.

  • Mail in the completed forms by March 20, 2016 to:

Colorado State Library
Attn: Beth Crist
201 E. Colfax Ave Room 309
Denver, CO 80203


Scan completed forms and email to (we do not need the originals)


Ask your local library to send the forms in the library courier system to C912, Attn: Beth Crist.


All submissions must be received by midnight on March 20, 2016. Late entries will not be accepted.

Video Criteria for Acceptance:

All videos must:

  • Be 30 to 90 seconds

  • Promote the idea of using public libraries and reading.

  • Include your interpretation of the 2016 CSLP teen slogan "Get in the Game: Read!"

  • Be designed for use at any library (in other words, it cannot promote a specific library, though it's ok for a sign with your library's name to appear in the video).

  • Be appropriate for viewing by audiences of all ages. This means that videos must be rated "G"--no swearing or violence, please!

Check out this YouTube playlist for last year's winning video and finalists for the Colorado contest.

Videos will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Creativity

  • Message clarity and relevance

  • Motivation and inspiration

  • Overall impact

Terms and Conditions:
All audio and artwork must be created by the entrant or be in the public domain and must be specified as such on the entry form. CSLP (and all CSLP member affiliates) have permission to use the "2016 Teen Video Challenge" submissions, including all work created and all intellectual property embodied therein as per the Model Release Form.
The Colorado State Library will find and coordinate a panel of judges to select the state winner.

Guidelines and Entry and Model Release Forms (DOC)

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access