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Statutory Authority 

CRS 22-54-120 grants the state board authority to “make reasonable rules and regulations 
necessary for the administration and enforcement” of the Public School Finance Act. 

The Rules for the Administration of the Public School Finance Act are published in 1 CCR 301-
39.   

Colorado Revised Statutes http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/colorado/ 

Code of Colorado Regulations http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/Welcome.do 

You must open your browser to “Colorado Legal Resources” before clicking any link to a 
statutory reference 

Data Privacy and Security 

As a reminder, local education agencies must use secure means when sending Personally 
Identifiable Information (PII) to CDE. CDE strongly recommends that districts use a secure 
method of transferring PII between districts, schools, or with other parties (for example, a 
secure file sharing tool like Syncplicity, or including the PII in a password-protected 
document).  

For more information, visit the Data Privacy and Security website at 
http://www.cde.state.co.us/dataprivacyandsecurity or contact CDE’s Data Privacy Office at 
dataprivacy@cde.state.co.us. 

  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J3KF-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-120&context=1000516
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/colorado/
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/Welcome.do
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/colorado/
http://www.cde.state.co.us/dataprivacyandsecurity
mailto:dataprivacy@cde.state.co.us
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Resource Guide Introduction and Overview 

The purpose of the 2025 Student October Count Audit Resource Guide (“Guide”) is to: 

1. Support the Student October Count data collection and subsequent audit; 
2. Summarize state and federal requirements regarding the Student October Count audit 

process; 
3. Summarize the required documents necessary to audit per pupil funding eligibility; 
4. Ensure the Student October Count data is audited in a consistent manner; and 
5. Provide information and guidance to school districts, the Charter School Institute 

(CSI), charter schools, charter school collaboratives, charter school networks, and 
Board(s) of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES). 

 

This Guide is to be read as a whole, in context, and CDE gives effect to every word of the 
document. In auditing, CDE is bound to give consistent, harmonious, and sensible effect 
to all of the parts of the Guide. The Guide is interpreted as harmonized and not read or 
interpreted as creating a conflict. Individual sections of the Guide provide additional 
information and definition for specific student, course, school, and program types. These 
individual sections are not meant to stand alone or to contradict or supersede the 
general funding requirements of the Guide. 

While the Guide has been developed to conform to state statute and the Code of Colorado 
Regulations (Administrative Rules), this Guide is not meant to be comprehensive and is not 
intended to replace state statute or administrative rules. 

All references to “district” or “school district” include the Charter School Institute (CSI), 
charter schools, charter school collaboratives, charter school networks, and BOCES. Each 
organization is encouraged to review all sections of the Guide, state statute, and 
administrative rules. 

Any references to “days” refer to calendar days. 

References to “school days” refer to scheduled student contact days as evidenced by the 
adopted calendar of a district, school, or program.  

Throughout this Guide, a student’s “year” of high school is determined using the student’s 
assigned Anticipated Year of Graduation (AYG). 

• The “Anticipated Year of Graduation” (AYG) is the assigned, unchanging, year a 
student is anticipated to graduate high school based upon the year they enter 9th 
grade and adding 3 three years. For example, the formula anticipates that a student 
starting ninth grade in the fall of the 2022-2023 school year will graduate in 2025-
2026. For more information, visit the Student End of Year Snapshot website 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_eoy). 

  

http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_eoy
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How to Use the Guide 

Updated Information 

Throughout the Guide, the Delta symbol Δ is used to identify information that has been 
updated or clarified since the previous edition of the Guide. Further information about these 
changes can be found in the “Summary of Changes” section found at the end of the Guide. 

Guide Subsections 

Within each section of the Guide, there may be subsections meant to assist districts in 
identifying relevant information. Subsections may include: 

• What is Unique? 
o Describes how particular student, course, school, instructional model, and 

program types are different, including: 
 Exceptions to a general funding rule  
 Variation of supporting audit documentation 

• Course/Funding Requirements 
o Describes the course- and student-level requirements and audit documentation 

necessary to support funding eligibility 
• Limitations 

o Describes any pertinent restrictions on courses or student funding eligibility 
• Helpful Hints 
• Additional Documentation Requirements 
• References 

o Lists the applicable statutes, administrative rules, and additional posted 
guidance 

Overview of the Audit Process 

Data Collection Overview 

Each year all public school districts across the state of Colorado participate in the Student 
October Count data submission to the Colorado Department of Education (CDE). The purpose 
of this data collection is to obtain required student-level data as provided for by state 
statute and administrative rules, including information regarding students’ funding eligibility 
as outlined in the Public School Finance Act, as amended. The Colorado Department of 
Education collects data using the Data Pipeline. The Data Services Unit of CDE oversees the 
collection, which opens in August and closes at the end of November.  

For further information regarding the actual data collection process, visit the Student 
October Snapshot website (http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_studentoctober).  

For information regarding available Data Pipeline student-level October Count reports, view 
the CEDAR/COGNOS Report Guide 
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/studentoctoberreportdefinitions). 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_studentoctober
http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_studentoctober
https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/studentoctoberreportdefinitions
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Audit Overview 

In an effort to ensure accurate reporting of data fields associated with total program funding 
as described in the Public School Finance Act, the School Auditing Office conducts 
compliance audits of each district’s Student October Count data, which includes the funded 
pupil, at-risk, and English Language Learner (ELL) counts.   

With the emergence of new technological capabilities, districts should be prepared to 
provide all audit documentation in electronic format. In most cases, districts should be able 
to generate and save required reports electronically from their student information system 
(SIS), or if needed, scan hard copy documents and save them in an electronic format. 
Districts should be prepared to provide source documentation in addition to any standard 
reports when requested by an auditor. Each district shall retain complete documentation 
supporting any certification made to CDE or any other data given to CDE for purposes of 
administering the Public School Finance Act until audited by CDE, or until five years from 
the certification due date, whichever comes first.  

In addition to meeting funding requirements for its own students, if a BOCES provides 
educational services to students on behalf of a district, charter school, or another BOCES, 
the BOCES must ensure sufficient documentation is kept in order to meet funding 
requirements for those students as well.  

If a district submits students for funding without sufficient documentation to demonstrate 
funding eligibility, this will impact the counts used to calculate the district’s Total Program, 
which may require the district to repay funding back to the State, including any applicable 
interest. Failure to repay the State for ineligible students may result in future disbursements 
being withheld. In the event a district did not receive full funding for students to which it 
was entitled, the State will reimburse the district within 45 days of the final audit report 
being issued.  

Appeals regarding audit findings may be made to the Commissioner of Education within 30 
days following the issuance of the final audit report.  

At no time should any documentation containing Personally Identifiable Information (PII) be 
emailed to CDE. 

Annual Audit Review 2025-2026 

Beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, the audit process has changed. 

The Annual Audit Review consists of two phases: an initial documentation upload and an 
expanded documentation review.  

All districts take part in the initial documentation upload, which occurs during the fall 
semester. During this process, districts are expected to provide high-level documentation, 
such as calendars, bell schedules, and school handbooks. Districts must also complete the 
Pupil Count Questionnaire (Form AUD-110) and submit it to the School Auditing Office via 
Syncplicity no later than September 15, 2025. 

Following the conclusion of the Student October Count data collection, some districts will be 
required to submit additional, student-level data as part of an expanded audit. Districts may 
be required to submit documentation to support funding for all district students (a 
“comprehensive” audit) or for only a sample of students in a “focused” audit. The School 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_pupil_count_questionnaire_aud110
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Auditing Office will notify districts who are subject to an expanded audit during the spring 
semester. 

For more information about the Annual Audit Review process, please review the Annual Audit 
Review Guidance document that is available on the School Auditing Office’s Pupil Count 
website. 

Reference 

CRS 22-54-103(9.5), -103(10)(d)(II), and -103(10.5)(a) 
1 CCR 301-14 
1 CCR 301-39(2.02)(1) 
1 CCR 301-39(8.01), et seq. 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_office_audit_process
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_office_audit_process
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_pupilcount
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2031&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-14
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Pupil Enrollment Count Date 

The pupil enrollment count date is October 1 of each year, unless that date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or major religious holiday. If the pupil enrollment count date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or major religious holiday, the pupil enrollment count date will be the 
following weekday. 

2025 Pupil Enrollment Count Date:  Wednesday, October 1, 2025 
 

Determination of the pupil enrollment count date will not be affected by a district’s decision 
not to have school on the pupil enrollment count date, including districts with a four-day 
week calendar.  

Districts and schools must use the pupil enrollment count date unless an alternative count 
date is requested and approved by the Department (as described below).  

In this Guide, references to the “pupil enrollment count date,” “applicable count date,” and 
“count date” are interchangeable and may include a district’s approved alternative count 
date, as described below. 

Δ Pupil Enrollment Count Period 

Pursuant to SB25-125 and beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, there will no longer be 
reference to the “11-day count period.”  All students will be required to meet the 
enrollment and attendance requirements as described in the corresponding sections of this 
Guide. For audit purposes, districts will be required to provide attendance documentation 
that encompasses the “attendance documentation date range.” 

Alternative Pupil Enrollment Count Date 

A district may request a district-wide alternative count date (or alternative count dates for 
specific schools) to allow maximum flexibility in the operation and scheduling of alternative 
program school calendars and year-round calendars, or for other reasons as authorized in 
statute. 

Throughout this Guide, references to the “applicable count date” include approved 
alternative count dates. To apply for an Alternative Count Date: 

• A district official must email their request to the School Auditing Office at 
audit@cde.state.co.us. To be considered, the email must include the following: 

o The requested alternative count date 
o An indication of whether the request applies to the entire district or certain 

identified schools 
o Confirmation that the requested alternative count date falls within 45 school 

days after the first school day of the applicable school year 
o A copy of the district and/or school’s applicable calendar 

• The deadline for requesting an alternative count date is September 15. 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2025a_125_signed.pdf
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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• During the Duplicate Count process, if a student is submitted by more than one 
district for funding, a district using the pupil enrollment count date will take 
precedence over a district using an alternative count date.   

For more information, refer to the Applying for an Alternative Count Date document 
available on the School Auditing Office’s Pupil Count website. 

Applicable Count Date Helpful Hints 

• The deadline for submitting the 2025 Student October Count data is no later than 
November 10. If a district or school is granted an alternative count date after the 
pupil enrollment count date, the submission deadline remains the same. Therefore, 
districts must have processes in place to ensure the deadline is met.  

• In the event a school or district is granted an alternative count date, that same date 
will be used for their official mileage count date as described in the Rules for the 
Administration of the Public School Transportation Fund (1 CCR 301-14).  For more 
information, visit the Pupil Route Transportation Reimbursement Funding website. 

• Districts should ensure that all reported data is accurate as of the close of the data 
submission. In the event a district identifies issues with their submitted data that 
impact funded pupil, at-risk, and/or ELL counts, the district should contact the School 
Auditing Office. 

Reference 

CRS 22-54-103(9.5), -103(10)(d)(II), and -103(10.5)(a) 
SB 21-268 
1 CCR 301-14 
1 CCR 301-39(1.02) 
1 CCR 301-39(1.13) 
1 CCR 301-39(3.01), et seq. 
1 CCR 301-39(4.01), et seq. 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/alternative_count_date_instructions
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_pupilcount
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2031&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-14
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/sftransp
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2021a_268_signed.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2021a_268_signed.pdf
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2031&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-14
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2031&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-14
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Introduction to General Funding Requirements 

To be eligible for funding, students must—at a minimum—meet at least three general funding 
requirements (as of, or during the semester of, the pupil enrollment count date). With 
limited exceptions, these requirements include:  

1) enrollment, AND 
2) attendance, AND  
3) scheduled instructional time 

Students who meet the enrollment and attendance requirements are eligible to be 
considered for funding. The level at which each student is funded (full-time, part-time, or 
no funding) is determined based upon the amount of instructional time that the student is 
scheduled to receive in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date.  
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Enrollment Funding Eligibility 

In order for a student to be eligible for funding in the Student October Count data 
collection, the student must be enrolled with the district and meet the requirements below 
as of the applicable count date.  

Funding and Audit Documentation Requirements 

Enrolled K-12 students 

• Are enrolled with the district as of the applicable count date. There is an exception to 
this rule: 

o Pursuant to SB24-048, and beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, a district 
may submit a student for funding if the student established attendance during 
the current school year prior to the pupil enrollment count date, but then 
withdrew prior to the count date for the purpose of attending a recovery high 
school.  For the 2025-2026 school year, only 5280 High School (CDE School Code 
2994) qualifies as a recovery high school under this statute. For more 
information, contact the School Auditing Office at audit@cde.state.co.us. 

o Δ Prior to the 2025-2026 school year, under specific circumstances some 
students may have been granted a transfer enrollment exception to this 
requirement.  Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, pursuant to SB 25-125, 
transfer enrollment exceptions are no longer available. 

• Are at least 5 years old as of October 1, but younger than 21 years of age as of the 
applicable count date. Exceptions to this requirement include: 

o Kindergarten students under the age of 5 who have been identified as highly 
gifted/talented 

o This requirement is waived for students who receive services under an 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) and reach age 21 during the semester of 
the pupil enrollment count date. 

o Δ This requirement is waived for 21-year-old students who are enrolled in and 
attending an Alternative Education Campus and meet specific exception 
criteria. 

• Have not met the graduation requirements of the school district (including students 
who have earned an HSED but not a diploma) as of the applicable count date.  
Exceptions to this requirement include: 

o Students who have met the district’s minimum graduation requirements but are 
being retained to participate in the ASCENT, P-TECH, or TREP programs 

o Secondary transition students receiving 18 to 21-year-old services as described 
by an IEP, who have met the district’s minimum graduation requirements and 
have not been issued a diploma 

o Students meeting the district’s minimum graduation requirements by the end of 
the 3rd year of high school may be eligible for part-time or full-time funding 
during the 4th year of high school, assuming all other requirements for funding 
are met. 

• Are enrolled in a school that is authorized to serve the students in their respective 
grades  

mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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Documentation 

• The district must be prepared to provide evidence that the student was enrolled with 
the district as of the applicable count date, to include: 

o A student’s official registration 
o Entry date of the student  
o For students new to the district, documentation completed on or before the 

applicable count date by the parent or guardian for the applicable school year 
• For students who reach the age of 21 on or prior to the pupil enrollment count date: 

o The IEP service delivery page showing services being delivered encompass the 
applicable count date, or 

o Documentation demonstrating specific exception criteria have been met for 
students attending an AEC 

• District graduation requirements 
• For students exclusively enrolled in alternative instruction courses which do not 

require the student’s regular physical presence at a Colorado public school, the 
district must verify and document the student’s residency in the State of Colorado 
upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

• Δ For students who are exclusively enrolled in qualifying postsecondary online 
courses, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the State of 
Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

Helpful Hints 

• Districts should consider reviewing the list of all students being included in the data 
submission for funding to ensure that each student was actively enrolled as of the 
applicable count date or, if not, that they have documentation showing students have 
met one of the exceptions to this requirement.  

• If a student transfers between districts and attends both districts on the applicable 
count date and meets the funding requirements at both districts, the receiving 
district is entitled to include the student in their funded pupil count with applicable 
supporting documentation evidencing that all funding requirements (enrollment, 
attendance, and scheduled hours) were met. For more information, refer to  
Appendix B. 

Reference 

CRS 22-54-103(10)(a)(I) 
HB20-1418  
1 CCR 301-39 (1.15) 
1 CCR 301-39 (5.01), et seq. 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2020a_1418_signed.pdf
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Attendance Funding Eligibility 

In addition to being enrolled with the district, students must also meet the attendance 
requirements in the district (or educational program with which the district has contracted 
to provide instructional services) in order to be considered for funding.  

Funding and Audit Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

• Student is present for all, or any portion of, the applicable count date (in any 
scheduled class),  
OR 

• If the student is absent or does not attend for any reason on the applicable count date 
(including non-student contact days), then the student: 

o Must establish attendance in any scheduled course, during the current school 
year, prior to the applicable count date AND 

o Resume attendance, in any scheduled course, within 30 days following the 
applicable count date. 
 This assumes the student did not withdraw or transfer from the district 

between the applicable count date and the date in which attendance 
was resumed. 

Exceptions   

Postsecondary Courses 

• If a student is taking only qualifying postsecondary courses, attendance 
documentation is not required from the Institution of Higher Education (IHE). 

• If a student is taking both postsecondary and non-postsecondary courses, the student 
must still meet the attendance requirements for the non-postsecondary courses in 
order to include those courses in the determination of funding level. 

Alternative Instruction Courses 

• If a student is enrolled exclusively in alternative instruction courses, the following 
are the only acceptable evidence of attendance: 

o Evidence of attendance in direct instruction content  
o Logins into course content for digitally-delivered instruction 
o For work-based learning courses, documentation from an employer (e.g., 

timesheets, paystubs, etc.) that lists a student’s name and dates worked  
• For Independent Study courses, districts may submit a request for alternative 

attendance documentation to be considered by emailing the School Auditing Office by 
September 15.  

Δ Attendance Documentation Date Range 

As stated above, students in Colorado are considered to be in attendance if they are present 
for all (or any portion of) the applicable count date. If a student is absent on that date for 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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any reason, the student may meet the attendance requirement by establishing attendance 
during the current school year both prior to the count date AND within 30 days following the 
count date. For this reason, the documentation provided to evidence this requirement has 
been met should include a range of dates that encompasses the count date. A useful range of 
dates when generating attendance reports includes the week prior to the applicable count 
date and the week following the count date; this is referred to as the “attendance 
documentation date range.” As such, for each student, districts must be prepared to 
provide attendance records that include, at a minimum, this range of dates. 

If the district allows different calendars for individual schools or programs, the attendance 
documentation date range for each school is tied to the district’s adopted calendar unless 
the district requests an alternative pupil enrollment count date. Pupil counts are conducted 
the same whether the pupil enrollment count date or an alternative count date is used.  

Districts may never solicit students from other districts (or from the home-school or private 
school population) for the sole purpose of attending through the audit attendance window.  

Documentation 

• Daily attendance summary for a minimum of the attendance documentation date 
range 

o Evidence of attendance in direct instruction content  
o For Supplemental Online courses and Blended Learning courses using 

Alternative Instruction, logins into course content for digitally-delivered 
instruction 

o For courses offered through an Online School or Program, attendance 
documentation as described in the submitted Authorizer Assurances 

o For work-based learning courses, documentation from an employer (e.g., 
timesheets, paystubs, etc.) that lists a student’s name and dates worked  

• Detailed daily period attendance from the start of the current school year through the 
month of October for those students who did not meet the attendance criteria during 
the attendance documentation date range 

o For brick-and-mortar students scheduled into courses using alternative 
education, students being educated through a contractual agreement, and/or 
district students whose daily attendance may not be tracked in the student 
information system, the district must be prepared to provide appropriate 
attendance verification.  

Helpful Hints 

• Non-student contact days will be considered non-attendance days. 
• Excused absences are not considered evidence of attendance. 

Reference 

CRS 22-54-103(10)(a)(I). 
SB 19-176  
1 CCR 301-39(5.01), et seq.  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Scheduled Instructional Time Funding Eligibility 

Introduction 

Once it is determined that a student is eligible to be considered for funding (i.e., the 
student meets both the enrollment and attendance criteria), the district must determine the 
level of funding at which the student is eligible: full-time, part-time, or not eligible. A 
student’s funding level is determined by the student’s scheduled instructional time in the 
semester of the pupil enrollment count date. To receive funding, a district must provide 
evidence supporting a student’s scheduled instructional time.  

To be considered eligible for full-time funding, a student’s schedule must provide for a 
minimum of 360 hours of instructional time (as defined in Board Rule) in the semester of the 
pupil enrollment count date. If the student’s schedule provides for less than 360 hours of 
instructional time, but at least 90 hours of instructional time, the student is eligible to be 
reported for part-time funding. Some students who are reported for part-time funding must 
meet additional audit documentation requirements, as described below. 

Throughout this guide, “instructional time” for brick-and-mortar students may refer to 
either direct or alternative teacher-pupil instruction.  These concepts are discussed in 
detail in the sections below. The required documentation for demonstrating direct or 
alternative instructional time may vary based on the specific type of instruction being 
delivered. (Instructional time equivalencies for Colorado public Online Schools and Programs 
are neither direct nor alternative teacher-pupil instruction and are calculated differently. 

Note:  In this Guide and in Board Rule, “licensed educator” and “licensed teacher” mean a 
teacher with an active Colorado educator credential. Each local board shall define 
“supervision of a licensed teacher.” In this context, “licensed teacher” may include any 
educator of record when the district is not required by law to use a licensed teacher.  

Direct Teacher-Pupil Instruction 

“Direct teacher-pupil instruction” is the organized delivery of educational content (aligned 
to state standards, where applicable) to brick-and-mortar students that takes place 
synchronously, under the supervision of a licensed teacher. Direct teacher-pupil instruction 
may be counted as instructional time for all students in grades K-12.  

“Synchronous” instruction occurs during scheduled times and includes real-time interactions 
between teachers and pupils in-person, by video, or by phone. 

Direct instruction includes instruction that occurs on-site or when students and licensed 
teachers are in the same virtual classroom. For funding purposes, “on-site” means the 
physical location where the school or contractor regularly delivers instruction; a “virtual 
classroom” is an online learning space in which students and licensed teachers interact 
synchronously as if they were in the same “on-site” location.  
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Direct instruction includes engagement with educational content that occurs:  

1) on-site or in a “virtual classroom”; 
2) at a scheduled time during regular school hours; 
3) for a set amount of time;  
4) and where attendance is mandatory. 

This may include on-site study hall, advisory, and independent study courses or periods. 

Alternative Teacher-Pupil Instruction 

“Alternative teacher-pupil instruction” is the organized delivery of educational content 
(aligned to state standards, where applicable) for brick-and-mortar students that may take 
place asynchronously, under the supervision of a licensed teacher.  

• “Asynchronous” means the delivery of educational content designed to allow the 
teacher and the pupils to engage with the educational content at different times.  

Alternative instruction courses must be credit-bearing and are only available to students in 
grades 6-12, and students receiving home-bound or expelled services (in any grade). These 
courses include only: 

• Blended Learning   
• Independent Study 
• Supplemental Online  
• Work-Based Learning 

Credit-bearing means that a passing grade and credits are given for satisfactory completion 
of course requirements within the parameters of the academic calendar.  

For funding purposes, alternative instruction courses will be evaluated based on an 
equivalent amount of instructional time the student would have received if taking a 
similar credit-bearing direct instruction course offered at the brick-and-mortar school at 
which the student is enrolled. Whereas direct instruction is funded based on “time in 
seat,” the instructional time associated with alternative instruction is equal to the time that 
a pupil would have been “in a seat” if they had taken a similar course in-person and on-site. 
For more information on how to determine instructional time, refer to Appendix A. 

As a reminder, because schedules are student-specific, not all students may be eligible for 
full-time funding based on their scheduled equivalent instructional hours. 

• For example, some high school students are intentionally scheduled for less than 360 
hours; this may include students with family or work obligations, or those who do not 
need a full-time schedule in order to meet graduation requirements. In these 
instances, students should not be reported for full-time funding; they should be 
reported as part-time or for no funding based on the number of hours they are 
scheduled to receive instruction. 

Students in some alternative instruction courses may have control over the timing of 
participation in courses during a semester (i.e., they may not necessarily begin work on all 
scheduled courses prior to the count date). In addition to meeting the general attendance 
funding requirement, in the event a student has control over when they begin participating 
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in an alternative instruction course, the district must also be prepared to demonstrate that 
the student attended the course at some point during the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date in order to validate the student’s schedule. 

Instructional Time Calculations and Restrictions  

Δ IMPORTANT: This section refers only to the calculations used to determine funding 
level for individual students (i.e., the “360/90 hour requirements.”)  These calculations 
are unrelated to the instructional time minimums that are established at the school 
level or the “Instructional Days and Hours” periodic data collection. 

Semester Calculations 

The determination of funding level will be dependent on the student’s scheduled 
instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date, as evidenced by the 
student’s individual student schedule, and the corresponding school or program’s calendar 
and bell/class schedules (see Appendix A).  A semester is defined as one-half of the school 
year; as such, “the semester of the pupil enrollment count date” refers to the first or fall 
semester of a given school year.  

For calculation purposes, the length of the semester will be determined by dividing the total 
yearly number of scheduled student contact days (as evidenced by the applicable calendar) 
by 2. This is true regardless of whether a school follows a semester, trimester, quarter, 
“hexter,” or mini-session calendar. 

Funding Levels 

When including students in the Student October Count data submission, districts must 
identify the corresponding Public School Finance Funding Status (“funding code”) relevant 
for each student. The available funding codes align with the following funding definitions: 

• Full-Time Funding 
o Students must have a schedule as of the applicable count date that provides for 

at least 360 hours of instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date. 

• Part-Time Funding 
o Students must have a schedule as of the applicable count date that provides for 

at least 90, but less than 360, hours of instructional time in the semester of the 
pupil enrollment count date 

• Not Eligible/No Funding 
o Students meet the enrollment criteria, but may not meet the attendance 

requirement or may be scheduled, as of the applicable count date, for less 
than 90 hours of instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date. 

Passing Periods 

For funding purposes, passing periods may only be included as instructional time when a 
student is passing between two on-site courses, or between an on-site course and lunch. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_calendar_instructional_hours_guidance
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_calendar_instructional_hours_guidance
https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/per_inst-hours-days
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• Passing periods up to seven minutes may be included in the calculation of full- or 
part-time funding.  

• The following periods cannot be considered in the calculation of instructional time: 
o Periods reserved exclusively for breakfast  
o Periods reserved for lunch  
o Periods between lunch and the following class  
o Periods between a class and a free period 
o Periods between a free period and a class 
o Periods between an alternative instruction course and an on-site course 
o Periods between an on-site course and an alternative instruction course 

• Passing periods between an on-site course evaluated based on college credit hours 
(i.e., qualifying postsecondary courses) and an on-site course evaluated based on 
actual direct instructional time cannot be included in the determination of scheduled 
instructional time.  

Restrictions that apply to all instructional time calculations  

• Only time in which a student is expected and required to attend may be considered 
instructional time. In no instance should optional attendance days or class periods be 
included in the determination of scheduled instructional time. 

• Periods reserved for breakfast or lunch are never considered instructional time. 
• Δ Decisions regarding lunch periods are left to the discretion of individual school 

districts. There is considerable research supporting the benefits to student learning 
when students have access to healthy meals. Therefore, the district should ensure 
appropriate meal breaks are implemented for students in all educational settings 
(including contracted education services) offered by the district.  

o For contracted educational services, as required by the “Annual Assurances for 
Statutory Compliance for Contracted Services” (Form AUD-108), the district 
should ensure that lunch periods are “of comparable quality and meet the 
same requirements and standards that would apply” if performed by the school 
or district. 

• Students in grades K through 12 are eligible for a maximum of full-time funding 
statewide. 

• Home-school students are eligible for a maximum of part-time funding statewide 
(regardless of the services or instruction being provided). 

• Private school students are eligible for a maximum of part-time funding statewide 
(regardless of the services or instruction being provided). 

• Only teacher-led instruction may be considered as instructional time for funding 
purposes; parent-led or parent-directed instruction may not be included in the 
calculation of instructional time. This includes time when a parent is instructing or 
supervising the delivery of educational content.  

o Instructional time for purpose of the Public School Finance Act does not include 
instructional time based on the district (or its contractor) providing funding 
directly to families or creating a spending account for the parent to use to 
design their educational experience.  

o “Parent” includes guardian or other person living in the home with the pupil. 
Parent does not include an individual who is employed by or contracted with 
the school or district and is subject to Human Resources data collections. 



 Scheduled Instructional Time Funding Eligibility Page 20 of 118 

 This Guide is to be read as a whole  

o For alternative teacher-pupil instruction courses, the course must be designed 
by the district or contractor rather than custom built by a parent. The catalog 
of courses using alternative instruction must include the educational content 
that will be provided in the course, not what could be provided based on the 
interests of the parent.  

• In some cases, the language in a student’s IEP may waive the general full-time funding 
requirement of 360 hours. For more information, refer to the Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) Students section of this Guide. 

Audit Documentation Requirements 

In order to calculate instructional hours for both direct and alternative instruction courses, 
districts and schools must conduct calendar and bell schedule calculations, as explained in 
Appendix A.  The following documentation must be included to support those calculations. 

Documentation 

• Calendars 
o Adopted district calendar, as well as individual school and program calendars as 

applicable 
• Bell Schedules 

o Must provide all bell schedules used by the school, program, or contracted 
entity including, but not limited to, “regular” weekly bell schedules (Monday 
through Friday), early release, late start, finals, etc. 

o Should include: 
 Start and end times for each period for every day of the week 
 Time set aside (start and end times) for breakfast, lunch, and passing 

periods 
• Calculations—calendar and bell schedule (See Appendix A) 
• Individual Student Schedules 

o Documentation evidencing individual student schedules as of the applicable 
count date for all secondary students (usually grades 6-12) and elementary 
school students being served through a contractual agreement or program. 

o Documentation should reflect all scheduled classes equal to one half of the 
school year (i.e., semester calendar = first semester schedule, trimesters = 
first and second trimester schedules, quarters = first and second quarter 
schedules, hexters = first, second, and third hexter schedules, etc.). Examples 
of acceptable documentation evidencing student schedules include, but are not 
limited to: 

 Student schedules generated out of the student information system 
(SIS) that align with the school’s bell schedule 

 Main schedule and student list for students participating in a program 
in which all students follow the same schedule, etc. For example, 
this may include students in grades 6-8 who are attending a “K-8” 
school or secondary students attending an alternative high school in 
which they are scheduled to attend a given “session.”  

 Individualized Education Program (IEP) service delivery pages 
• For part-time students in grades 1-12 who do not meet one of the following criteria 

listed below, at the time of audit the district must be prepared to provide Form AUD-
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109, “Confirmation of Part-Time Funding Eligibility.”  This includes students who 
were: 

o Receiving services under an IEP 
o Identified by the Department as being in their fifth year of high school or 

beyond 
o Identified as participating in a high-school equivalency diploma program 
o Identified as a home-based education student receiving educational services by 

the district 
• Student handbook for each high school, district-run program, or contracted program, 

if available 
• District or school course catalog(s) (if requested at the time of audit) 

Additional Documentation for Schedules Which Include Alternative 
Instruction 

• Catalog of Courses Using Alternative Instruction 
• Additional documentation to validate schedules which include alternative instruction 

courses, as necessary. 

Helpful Hints 

• A student who is enrolled in 90 hours of instructional time at one district school and 
90 hours of instructional time at another school within the same district is NOT 
considered to be a full-time student. A student must be scheduled for a minimum of 
360 total hours of instructional time within a given district in order to be reported as 
eligible for full-time funding by that same district. 

• Districts should generate electronic copies of all required student schedules on or 
about the applicable count date in order to ensure funding level is determined by the 
student’s schedule as of that date. 

• Districts should review all student schedules to ensure that they completely and 
accurately represent the classes into which each student is enrolled and attending as 
of the applicable count date.  

Reference 

CRS 22-32-109.  
CRS 22-54-103(10)(e.5). 
1 CCR 301-39(1.01), et seq. 
1 CCR 301-39(2.05), et seq. 
1 CCR 301-39(5.05), et seq.  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_part_time_funding_form_aud-109
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C62-WXV3-RRSF-B068-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-32-109&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Unique Students, Courses, Schools, and Programs 

As described in the preceding general funding requirements sections, students may be 
considered for funding if they meet the enrollment and attendance requirements. The level 
of funding for eligible students is determined based on the teacher-pupil instruction time 
they are scheduled to receive during the semester of the pupil enrollment count date.  

In some cases, the way in which instruction is being provided may impact the general 
funding requirements or the ways in which districts are able to document that these 
requirements have been met. In other circumstances, additional criteria must be met in 
order for the student to be eligible for funding. 

The following sections of the Guide address unique funding and audit documentation 
requirements for: 

• Alternative Teacher-Pupil Instruction Courses 
• Postsecondary Courses and Programs 
• Unique Schools and Programs 
• Unique Student Types 
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Alternative Teacher-Pupil Instruction Courses 

Alternative Teacher-Pupil Instruction is defined as “the organized delivery of educational 
content (aligned to state standards where applicable) for pupils enrolled in a brick-and-
mortar public school under the supervision of a licensed educator that may take place 
asynchronously. [Only] the following types of courses with alternative teacher-pupil 
instruction can be funded with appropriate documentation: independent study, work-based 
learning (work-study, internships, apprenticeships), blended learning, and supplemental 
online learning.” 

Note: Guidance pertaining to Alternative Instruction courses does not apply to students who 
are “primarily” enrolled in a Colorado public Online School or Program (i.e., those whose 
reported Student October Count funding codes are 91, 92, 94, 95, or 96). 

Alternative vs. Direct  

All alternative and most direct teacher-pupil instruction is evaluated at the course level.  
Both direct and alternative instruction courses are delivered under the supervision of a 
licensed teacher; all alternative instruction (and most direct instruction) courses must be 
credit-bearing. Instruction delivered through direct instruction courses must take place 
100% synchronously, in the same “place” (whether brick-and-mortal or a virtual 
classroom), while alternative instruction courses do not have these requirements. In 
alternative instruction courses, some portion of the course will take place asynchronously 
and off-site (i.e., in a different location from the teacher). 

A course can either be classified as offering 100% direct instruction, or alternative 
instruction, but not both. If a course includes any element of off-site, asynchronous 
instruction, it must be classified as alternative instruction for funding purposes.  

Alternative instruction courses must be credit-bearing and are only available to students in 
grades 6-12, and students receiving home-bound or expelled services (in any grade).  These 
courses include only: 

• Blended Learning  
• Independent Study 
• Supplemental Online  
• Work-Based Learning  

Credit-bearing means that a passing grade and credits are given for satisfactory completion 
of course requirements within the parameters of the academic calendar.  

Catalog of Courses Using Alternative Instruction 

In order to include courses featuring alternative instruction as instructional time when 
determining funding level, the district must publish a “Catalog of Courses Using Alternative 
Instruction” that includes, at a minimum: 

• The title of each course that includes alternative instruction 
• A description of each of the courses 
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• The course provider (if applicable) for each alternative instruction course 
o Course provider refers to the entity that creates (and, if applicable, from 

whom the district or school purchases) the digital course content for Blended 
Learning and Supplemental Online courses. If the district is purchasing digital 
course content from a third-party course content provider (such as CDLS, 
Edmentum, Edgenuity, etc.), the district must indicate this in their catalog of 
courses using alternative instruction. Further, the district must be prepared to 
provide evidence of payment for these courses (as applicable). If the district or 
school uses digital course content created by district or school staff for these 
course types, this should also be stated in the catalog. 

• The number of credits associated with each alternative instruction course 

A catalog of courses using alternative instruction must be published to the school, district, or 
BOCES website by the applicable count date. Any courses that are not included in this 
catalog will not be considered for funding purposes. In the event the district incorporates its 
alternative instruction course offerings into its general course catalog, the catalog must 
clearly identify which courses are offered as alternative instruction (in addition to providing 
the above required information for each course). 

Other Considerations 

For all alternative instruction courses, the instructional time that may be included in 
calculating a student’s funding level will be evaluated based upon the amount of 
instructional time a student would receive if taking a similar credit-bearing course (i.e., 
offering the same number of credits) in a 100% direct instruction course offered at the same 
school. 

For Independent Study courses, districts may submit a request for alternative attendance 
documentation to be considered by emailing the School Auditing Office by September 15.  
Otherwise, attendance for all other courses using alternative instruction should be 
demonstrated using acceptable attendance documentation. 

Passing periods into and leaving alternative instruction courses may never be included in the 
determination of funding level, even if some portion of the course meets the definition of 
direct instruction (e.g., the on-site portion of a blended learning course). 

For students exclusively enrolled in alternative instruction courses, or any student that has a 
schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a public school, 
the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the State of Colorado upon 
enrollment and annually thereafter. The School Auditing Office has created a sample 
Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency for brick-and-mortar students. 

• Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Additional limitations and documentation requirements for these specific course types are 
discussed in the following subsections. 

  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/affidavit_of_residency_for_brick_and_mortar_with_instructions
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
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Blended Learning Courses 

Reminder: This guidance only applies to Blended Learning courses offered to students who 
are “primarily” enrolled in a traditional, brick-and-mortar school (i.e., those whose 
reported Student October Count funding codes are 80, 82, 85, or 86).  

This guidance does not apply to students who are “primarily” enrolled in a Colorado public 
Online School or Program (i.e., those whose reported Student October Count funding codes 
are 91, 92, 94, 95, or 96). 

What is Unique? 

“Blended Learning” courses are credit-bearing courses for a student enrolled in a traditional 
brick-and-mortar school (i.e., those reported with funding codes 80, 82, 85, or 86) in which 
some of the instruction is regularly received in-person and on-site (i.e., direct instruction) 
and some of the digitally-delivered asynchronous instruction is received off-site (with some 
element of student control over the time and place of participation).  

Only courses that require both in-person AND digitally-delivered instruction are considered 
“blended learning” courses. 

• Courses that are offered 100% on-site (synchronously, in the same physical or virtual 
location) are not considered blended learning courses; rather, these are considered 
direct instruction courses.  

• Courses offered to students enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools that are conducted 
100% digitally, off-site (not including virtual, synchronous classrooms) are considered 
“supplemental online” courses.   

• Courses offered to students enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools, through Colorado 
public Online Schools and Programs, will be evaluated as “supplemental online” 
courses, even if some instruction is delivered in-person.  

Course Requirements 

Blended Learning courses must meet the following requirements in order to be considered in 
the determination for funding:   

1) The course must be included in the district’s catalog of courses using alternative 
instruction. 

2) The course must be credit-bearing. 
3) The course must include both direct (in-person and on-site) and digitally-delivered 

instruction. 
4) If the district intends to use Student Information System reports to evidence 

attendance in the direct instruction portion of a course, the course must occupy a 
unique position on a student’s schedule and indicate the days and times in which the 
in person and on-site portion of the course is being delivered. 
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Limitations 

• When determining funding level eligibility, there are no limits on the number of 
Blended Learning courses that may be included in instructional time calculations. 

o Δ However, for funding purposes, Blended Learning will always be evaluated at 
the course level; Blended Learning programs or sessions are not permittable. 

• The direct (in-person and on-site) and asynchronous instruction in a Blended Learning 
course should occur concurrently throughout the semester (i.e., some direct, in-
person instruction and some asynchronous instruction occurs each week).  

Determining an Equivalency 

The instructional time for Blended Learning courses will be determined based on an 
equivalent amount of instructional time the student would have received if taking a 
similar credit-bearing direct instruction course offered at the brick-and-mortar school at 
which the student is enrolled. See Appendix A for more information. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

In addition to documentation demonstrating the enrollment, attendance, and scheduled 
hours requirements for funding have been met, to include a Blended Learning course in the 
determination of funding level, districts must be prepared to provide the following 
documentation at the time of audit: 

• A catalog of courses using alternative instruction that includes the title of each 
course, a description of each course, the content provider for each course, and the 
number of credits earned for completing the course  

• Schedule documentation which clearly indicates the days and times in which a student 
is receiving direct instruction and expectations for asynchronous instruction 

• If the district is purchasing digital course content for Blended Learning courses from a 
third-party course content provider (such as CDLS, Edmentum, Edgenuity, etc.), the 
district must be prepared to provide evidence of payment or agreement for these 
courses (as applicable).  

• The district must ensure students participating in Blended Learning courses have the 
appropriate electronic equipment and resources to participate in the course.  

Reference 

CRS 22-5-119 
CRS 22-30.7-105 
1 CCR 301-71 
1 CCR 301-39(1.01)(2) 
CDE Office of Online and Blended Learning Resources 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/62PB-YBT3-CH1B-T15H-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-5-119&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J31Y-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-30.7-105&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/resources
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Independent Study Courses  

What is Unique? 

For the purposes of this section, “Independent Study” courses refer to those courses in 
which some or all of the course is being completed off-site, independently by a student 
attending a brick-and-mortar school. They include the provision of content aligned to grade-
level standards (where applicable) and are substantially equivalent to a traditional course. 
Independent Study courses must follow a written learning plan that includes a curriculum, 
course outline, or plan for study, the materials to be used, the requirements for submitting 
assignments and recording academic progress, and the role of the supervising licensed 
teacher. 

For funding purposes, courses that are offered 100% synchronously, in the same physical or 
virtual classroom, are never considered Independent Study courses; a course offered in this 
manner would be evaluated as direct instruction. 

Independent Study courses differ from Blended Learning and Supplemental Online courses as 
these course types must provide digitally-delivered course content, while Independent Study 
courses do not have this requirement. 

Course Requirements 

1) The course must be included in the district’s catalog of courses using alternative 
instruction. 

2) The course must be credit-bearing. 
3) Independent Study courses must provide content that is aligned to grade-level 

standards, and must be substantially equivalent to a traditional course. 
4) Independent Study courses must have a written learning plan, as described below. 

Limitations 

• In most circumstances, a student may only include one Independent Study course in 
the determination of funding level.  

o In the event a student has exhausted the curriculum options at their brick-and-
mortal school, this limitation is waived and more than one Independent Study 
course may be included in the determination of funding level. 

Determining an Equivalency 

The instructional time for Independent Study courses will be determined based on an 
equivalent amount of instructional time the student would have received if taking a 
similar credit-bearing direct instruction course offered at the brick-and-mortar school at 
which the student is enrolled. See Appendix A for more information. 
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Additional Documentation Requirements 

In addition to documentation demonstrating the enrollment, attendance, and scheduled 
hours requirements for funding have been met, to include an Independent Study course in 
the determination of funding level, the following documentation must also be provided at 
the time of audit: 

• A catalog of courses using alternative instruction that includes the title of each 
course, a description of each course, the content provider (if applicable) for each 
course, and the number of credits earned for completing the course  

• A written learning plan that includes: 
o the course outline or plan for study;  
o the digital/print curriculum or materials to be used 
o the requirements for submitting assignments and tracking academic progress 
o the role of the supervising teacher 

• For students exclusively enrolled in alternative instruction courses, or any student 
that has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. The School Auditing Office 
has created a sample Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency for brick-and-mortar 
students. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

• For Independent Study courses, districts may submit a request for alternative 
attendance documentation to be considered by emailing the School Auditing Office by 
September 15.   

• Documentation demonstrating that the student has exhausted the curriculum options 
at a brick-and-mortar school (only required if a student is enrolled in more than one 
Independent Study course to be included in funding level calculations) 

Reference 

1 CCR 301-39(1.01)(3) 

  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/affidavit_of_residency_for_brick_and_mortar_with_instructions
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_alternative_attendance_is
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Supplemental Online Courses 

Reminder: This guidance only applies to Supplemental Online courses offered to students 
who are “primarily” enrolled in a traditional, brick-and-mortar school (i.e., those whose 
reported Student October Count funding codes are 80, 82, 85, or 86).  

This guidance does not apply to students who are “primarily” enrolled in a Colorado public 
Online School or Program (i.e., those whose reported Student October Count funding codes 
are 91, 92, 94, 95, or 96). 

What is Unique? 

“Supplemental Online” courses are credit-bearing courses taken by students enrolled in 
traditional, brick-and-mortar schools (i.e., those reported with funding codes 80, 82, 85, or 
86) in which all of the instruction is received off-site, digitally (with some element of 
student control over the time, place, path, and/or pace of participation).  

A student enrolled in a brick-and-mortar school cannot be exclusively scheduled into K-12 
Supplemental Online courses unless they are homebound or expelled (in any grade). 

Courses offered to brick-and-mortar students that are conducted 100% digitally, off-site, 
with some element of asynchronous instruction are considered “Supplemental Online” 
courses.   

• A course that is offered 100% digitally, off-site, but is 100% synchronous is not 
considered Supplemental Online because it does not offer any asynchronous 
instruction; this course will be evaluated as direct instruction.   

• A course that is 100% digitally-delivered, off-site, with some synchronous and some 
asynchronous instructions is considered Supplemental Online because it offers some 
asynchronous instruction; this course will be evaluated as a Supplemental Online 
course.  

• Courses offered to students enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools, by Colorado public 
Online Schools and Programs, will always be evaluated as “Supplemental Online” 
courses, even if the Online School or Program delivers some instruction on-site.  

Course Requirements 

Supplemental online courses must meet the following requirements in order to be 
considered in the determination for funding.  

1) The course must be included in the district’s catalog of courses using alternative 
instruction. 

2) The course must be credit-bearing. 
3) Any asynchronous, off-site instruction must be delivered digitally. 
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Limitations 

• A student who is enrolled exclusively in K-12 online courses (including Supplemental 
Online courses) cannot be reported at a brick-and-mortar school (i.e., reported with a 
funding code of 80, 82, 85, or 86). These students must be reported at a Colorado 
public Online School or Program. 

o This limitation does not apply to students who are homebound or expelled. 

Determining an Equivalency 

The instructional time for Supplemental Online courses will be determined based on an 
equivalent amount of instructional time the student would have received if taking a 
similar credit-bearing direct instruction course offered at the brick-and-mortar school at 
which the student is enrolled. See Appendix A for more information. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

In addition to documentation demonstrating the enrollment, attendance, and scheduled 
hours requirements for funding have been met, to include a Supplemental Online course in 
the determination of funding level, the following documentation must also be provided at 
the time of audit: 

• A catalog of courses using alternative instruction that includes the title of each 
course, a description of each course, the content provider for each course, and the 
number of credits earned for completing the course  

• For students exclusively enrolled in alternative instruction courses, or any student 
that has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

• If a Supplemental Online course is necessary to demonstrate attendance for funding 
purposes, the district must provide logins into course content. 

• If the district is purchasing digital course content for Supplemental Online courses 
from a third-party course content provider (such as CDLS, Edmentum, Edgenuity, 
etc.), the district must be prepared to provide evidence of payment or agreement for 
these courses (as applicable).  

• The district must ensure students participating in Supplemental Online courses have 
the appropriate electronic equipment and resources to participate in the course.  

Reference 

CRS 22-5-119. 
1 CCR 301-71 
1 CCR 301-39(1.01)(4) 
CDE Office of Online and Blended Learning Resources  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/62PB-YBT3-CH1B-T15H-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-5-119&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/resources
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Work-Based Learning Courses 

What is Unique? 

Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-39, rule 1.01(1), “Work-based Learning courses are credit-bearing 
courses that must be incorporated within the student’s Individual Career and Academic Plan 
(ICAP) in order to qualify for funding. They are learning opportunities that occur in part or in 
whole in the workplace and provide the learner with hands-on, real-world experience.” 

Work-based Learning courses are different from other courses offered at a district school in 
that students scheduled into these courses may not be “attending” a class in a way that 
would be reflected on a traditional bell schedule (i.e., the times and days in which students 
are actively engaged in these courses may vary based on their individual work, 
apprenticeship, and/or internship schedule).  Because some of the instruction considered in 
the determination for funding is occurring asynchronously, these courses are categorized as 
Alternative Instruction. 

Additional documentation, as described below, is necessary in order to determine the 
equivalent instructional time that should be applied to these courses when evaluating 
individual student schedules for funding level eligibility. 

Course Requirements 

1) The course must be included in the district’s catalog of courses using alternative 
instruction. 

2) The course must be credit-bearing. 
3) The course must be incorporated within the student’s Individual Career and Academic 

Plan (ICAP). 

Determining an Equivalency 

The equivalency used in the determination of funding level is based upon the amount of 
credit the school assigns to each section of Work-Based Learning course into which the 
student is enrolled. The number of hours worked in a semester is not equivalent to the 
amount of instructional time that will be considered for funding purposes. The amount of 
instructional time for the Work-based Learning course will then be evaluated consistently 
with the equivalency as described in the Alternative Education section of this guide.  See 
Appendix A for more details. 

Limitations 

• There are no limits on the number of Work-based Learning courses on a student’s 
schedule that may be considered instructional time in the determination of funding 
level. 
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Additional Documentation Requirements 

In addition to documentation demonstrating the enrollment, attendance, and scheduled 
hours requirements for funding have been met, to include a Work-based Learning course in 
the determination of funding level, the following documentation must also be provided at 
the time of audit: 

• A catalog of courses using alternative instruction that includes the title of each 
course, a description of each course, the content provider (if applicable) for each 
course, and the number of credits earned for completing the course  

• Student schedule that lists each section of work-based learning course 
• Δ Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-81, beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, student ICAP 

portfolio documentation that includes: 
o Student name 
o The term for which it applies (e.g., Fall 2025) 
o The date the document was created or updated 
o The specific work-based opportunity that the student is pursuing  
o A description of how the work-based learning course connected to the student’s 

postsecondary workforce or education goals. 
The documentation provided to meet this requirement should clearly indicate that 
it is part of the student’s ICAP portfolio. 

• For any student taking more than one work-based learning course with the same 
course code, a transcript must be provided to demonstrate the number of credits the 
student attempted. 

• If a work-based learning course is necessary to demonstrate attendance for funding 
purposes, the district must provide documentation from an employer (e.g., 
timesheets, paystubs, etc.) that lists a student’s name and dates worked. 

• For students exclusively enrolled in alternative instruction courses, or any student 
that has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• Each section of a work-based learning course should occupy unique periods on a 
student’s schedule. 

Reference 

1 CCR 301-39(1.01)(1) 
1 CCR 301-81(3.6) 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3065&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-81
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Postsecondary Courses and Programs 

Overview 

Postsecondary courses are offered in cooperation with an Institution of Higher Education.  

For funding purposes, qualifying postsecondary courses are those which are offered through 
programs or opportunities that are defined in statute.  

The types of postsecondary courses and programs include: 

• ASCENT 
• Concurrent Enrollment  
• Dropout Recovery 
• Early College (some courses) 
• TREP 

 

Note: for additional information regarding postsecondary courses offered under P-TECH, 
refer to that section of this Guide. 

Qualifying postsecondary courses are evaluated for funding based on semester postsecondary 
credit hours, rather than total direct and/or alternative instructional time. The funding 
thresholds for qualifying postsecondary courses (except Dropout Recovery) are: 

• Part-time funding: 3-11 semester credit hours  
• Full-time funding: 12 or more semester credit hours 

A student who is taking both high school courses and qualifying postsecondary courses may 
be considered full time if the student’s schedule (in the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date) meets the requirements for part-time funding in both environments: 

• 90 hours of scheduled instructional time at the high school 
AND  

• 3 or more semester credit hours 

In order to include a postsecondary course in the determination of funding level, the course 
must meet all programmatic requirements (described in the specific sections that follow). 
Additionally, the district must provide documentation demonstrating that the district 
incurred the entire cost of tuition for any courses included in the determination of funding 
level.  

Attendance documentation is not required for qualifying postsecondary courses. Therefore, 
if a student’s funded schedule is entirely composed of qualifying postsecondary courses, the 
district does not need to provide documentation demonstrating that the student met the 
attendance requirement.  

Δ All students must meet the Colorado residency requirement in order to qualify for funding. 
As such, proof of Colorado residency will be required for students who are enrolled 
exclusively in online postsecondary courses. 
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The School Auditing Office has created a sample Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency for 
brick-and-mortar students. 

• Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Δ Instructional Time for Postsecondary Courses Considerations 

The way in which instructional time for postsecondary courses is evaluated will vary based 
upon the type of course and the specifics of how it is offered. Below are some specific 
considerations regarding various postsecondary courses; it is the district’s responsibility to 
verify that each student’s schedule supports the funding level at which they are 
reported. 

• ASCENT and TREP courses will always be evaluated based on credit hours. 
• Qualifying Concurrent Enrollment courses offered off-site (i.e., at the IHE or online) 

will always be evaluated based on credit hours. 
• Qualifying Concurrent Enrollment courses offered on-site (i.e., at the high school) 

may be evaluated either based on the school’s bell schedule or based on credit hours.  
• Postsecondary courses that do not qualify as Concurrent Enrollment may be evaluated 

as contractual education courses, based on actual instructional hours (rather than 
credit hours). 

 
Additional limitations and documentation requirements for these specific course and 
program types are discussed in the following subsections. 

Reference 

1 CCR 301-39(5.10), et seq. 

  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/affidavit_of_residency_for_brick_and_mortar_with_instructions
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39


 ASCENT (Accelerating Students Through Concurrent EnrollmeNT) Page 35 of 
118 

 This Guide is to be read as a whole  

ASCENT (Accelerating Students Through Concurrent 
EnrollmeNT) 

IMPORTANT: SB25-315 has repealed the ASCENT Program after the 2025-26 budget year, 
effective June 30, 2026. Questions about the ASCENT Program should be directed to the 
Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness.  For the 2025-2026 school year, a 
district’s available ASCENT slots are capped at the number of total slots reported 
during the 2024-2025 school year. 

What is Unique? 

The Concurrent Enrollment Programs Act (CEPA) created three district programs: Concurrent 
Enrollment (CE), Accelerating Students through Concurrent EnrollmeNT (ASCENT), and the 
Teacher Recruitment Education and Preparation (TREP) program. Districts must ensure that 
both the programmatic and funding requirements are met for the applicable CEPA program 
when submitting students for funding.  

ASCENT is a program which allows students to participate in concurrent enrollment the year 
after 12th grade only (which has been defined as the fifth year of high school, as determined 
by a student’s Anticipated Year of Graduation--AYG).  Students meeting the requirements for 
the ASCENT program have the option of taking college-level courses for which they are 
earning both high school and college credit, or college credit from: 

• enrollment in Guarantee Transfer credit courses;  
• a state approved Career and Technical Education (CTE) postsecondary program; or 
• a specific postsecondary degree program pathway (including coursework related to 

apprenticeship programs and internship programs). 

The documentation requirements and determination of funding eligibility for ASCENT 
students vary from traditional students. 

Programmatic Requirements 

In order for an ASCENT student to be eligible for funding, the district must ensure that the 
student has met the following programmatic requirements as described on CDE’s ASCENT 
Student Eligibility website 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ascentstudenteligibility): 

• The student must be in their 5th year of high school only (as determined by the 
student’s AYG) 

• The student has completed, or is on schedule to complete, at least 9 semester credit 
hours of transcripted, credit-bearing, college-level postsecondary coursework prior to 
completing their 12th grade year (i.e., the 4th year of high school, as determined by 
the student’s AYG) 

o Does not include International Baccalaureate (IB), College Level Education 
Program (CLEP), prior learning, or experiential courses, unless these 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2025a_315_signed.pdf
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/contact
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ascentstudenteligibility
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ascentstudenteligibility
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exams/experiences have been converted to transcripted credits on a college 
transcript.  

o See the ASCENT FAQ  (https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ascentfaqs) 
for Advanced Placement (AP) courses. 

• ASCENT courses may only be offered by an eligible Institution of Higher Education 
(IHE), with which the district has entered into a Cooperative Agreement which covers 
ASCENT courses. 

o To determine if an IHE qualifies to offer ASCENT courses, districts may review 
the Concurrent Enrollment Requirements Flowchart 
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs) 

• Online ASCENT courses will be evaluated based only on semester credit hours, similar 
to all other ASCENT courses. 

• Only those courses for which the district directly paid all tuition costs to the IHE will 
be considered in the determination of funding level. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Verification the district paid the student’s share of tuition directly to the IHE 
• College credit hour verification (from the IHE) in the semester of the pupil enrollment 

count date 
• A college transcript or equivalent documentation demonstrating the student has 

completed the minimum college coursework (i.e., at least 9 semester credits) prior to 
their ASCENT year   

• ASCENT Cooperative Agreement or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the 
school or district and the Institution of Higher Education 

• For students exclusively enrolled in online postsecondary courses, or any student that 
has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• A student’s “year” of high school is determined using the student’s assigned 
Anticipated Year of Graduation (AYG). 

• Secondary Transition students are eligible to participate in ASCENT during their 5th 
year of high school only, provided programmatic requirements have been met. 
However, pursuant to SB24-188, beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, transition 
students are not limited in the number of Concurrent Enrollment courses they can 
take while receiving 18 to 21-year-old services (provided the courses can be applied 
toward the completion of the student’s remaining postsecondary goals, as outlined in 
their IEP).  Therefore, enrollment in Concurrent Enrollment courses (rather than 
ASCENT) may be more appropriate for these students. 

• Successful completion of ASCENT courses is not necessary for the determination of 
funding. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ascentfaqs
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024A/bills/2024a_188_enr.pdf
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• Fall semester courses offered through an IHE which are not “in session” on the 
applicable count date (i.e., those that begin and end prior to the count date, or those 
that begin after the count date and end prior to the end of the fall semester) may be 
included for funding. 

o For courses beginning after the count date and finishing prior to the end of the 
fall semester, the student must be enrolled and scheduled for the course as of 
the count date. 

o Only postsecondary courses starting and ending during the semester of the 
pupil enrollment count date can be included for funding. 

• Online postsecondary courses that do not meet the requirements for evaluation based 
on credit hours will be assessed as either Supplemental Online courses or as 
contractual education courses, and the fundable instructional time will be based on 
the appropriate equivalency. 

• Δ Reminder: Among other requirements, qualifying IHEs must have a physical presence 
in the state of Colorado. 

Reference 

CRS 22-35-101, et seq. 
CRS 22-35-103(12) 
CRS 22-54-103(5.2). 
CRS 22-35-104, et seq. 
SB 19-176 
HB 22-1390 
1 CCR 301-86-2.03 
CDE ASCENT website 
Technical Assistance: Concurrent Enrollment for Students with Disabilities 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J37W-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-101&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJX3-RY7W-83NH-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-103&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GG33-RY7W-810P-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-104&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2022a_1390_signed.pdf
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3079&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-86
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ce_ascent
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ce_ascent
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/ta_concurrentenroll
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Concurrent Enrollment 

What is Unique? 

The Concurrent Enrollment Programs Act (CEPA) created three district programs: Concurrent 
Enrollment (CE), Accelerating Students through Concurrent EnrollmeNT (ASCENT), and the 
Teacher Recruitment Education and Preparation (TREP) program. Students meeting the 
requirements for the CE program have the option of taking college-level courses for which 
they are earning both high school and college credit. Districts must ensure that both the 
programmatic and funding requirements are met for the applicable CEPA program when 
submitting students for funding. 

Districts must properly identify the CEPA program in which students are participating to 
ensure both the programmatic and funding requirements are met.  

In the event a student is concurrently enrolled (and not participating in ASCENT or TREP), 
the determination of funding will be dependent on the number of years in which a student 
has been enrolled in high school (as determined by the student’s Anticipated Year of 
Graduation--AYG) and the location in which the Concurrent Enrollment courses are being 
offered.  Depending on the scenario for a given student, documentation requirements and 
processes used to determine funding eligibility for concurrently enrolled students may vary 
from a traditional student. 

Programmatic Requirements 

Only those courses which meet the requirements outlined in CEPA are eligible to be 
evaluated as Concurrent Enrollment courses, based on the number of postsecondary credit 
hours students will receive rather than the course’s scheduled instructional time. The chart 
below provides some general guidance that may be used to assist in determining Concurrent 
Enrollment eligibility of some common course types; for more information about specific 
courses or IHEs, contact the Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness. 

Type of Course Is it Concurrent 
Enrollment? 

How will instructional time be 
evaluated? 

Area Vocational Program 
(AVP) course taken for both 
high school and college credit 

Concurrent Enrollment Evaluated based on credit hours 

Area Vocational Program 
(AVP) course taken for high 
school credit only 

Not Concurrent Enrollment 
Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/concurrentenrollment
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(continued from previous page) 

Type of Course Is it Concurrent 
Enrollment? 

How will instructional time be 
evaluated? 

Career and Technical 
Education (CTE) course taken 
for high school credit only 
("secondary" CTE courses) 

Not Concurrent Enrollment 
Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time 

Advanced Placement (AP) 
courses Not Concurrent Enrollment Evaluated using scheduled 

instructional time 

International Baccalaureate 
(IB) courses Not Concurrent Enrollment Evaluated using scheduled 

instructional time 

IHE coursework related to 
apprenticeship and internship 
programs 

Concurrent Enrollment 
With appropriate documentation, 
may be evaluated as Concurrent 
Enrollment, based on credit hours 

International Salon and Spa 
Academy (ISSA) courses Not Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time, or under an 
applicable section of this Guide 

Courses that meet all of the 
statutory requirements for 
Concurrent Enrollment that 
are offered online through 
the IHE 

Concurrent Enrollment Evaluated as Concurrent 
Enrollment, based on credit hours 

Courses that meet all of the 
statutory requirements for 
Concurrent Enrollment that 
are offered on-site at the 
high school 

Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as Concurrent 
Enrollment, based on credit hours 
OR using scheduled instructional 
time 

Courses offered by IHEs that 
do not maintain a physical 
location in Colorado 

Not Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time, or under an 
applicable section of this Guide 

Courses for which the district 
did not incur the full cost of 
the student's tuition  

Not Concurrent Enrollment 
Will not be considered in the 
evaluation of instructional time 
for funding purposes 

Courses that do not meet all 
of the statutory requirements 
for Concurrent Enrollment 
eligibility  

 

Not Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time, or under an 
applicable section of this Guide 

  

http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs
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(continued from previous page) 

Type of Course Is it Concurrent 
Enrollment? 

How will instructional time be 
evaluated? 

Postsecondary courses offered 
online that do not meet the 
requirements for Concurrent 
Enrollment  

Not Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as contractual 
education, using an equivalency 
for the scheduled instructional 
time a student would receive if 
taking the course on-site at an 
IHE campus  

Any postsecondary course 
that is taken without an 
executed Cooperative 
Agreement for Concurrent 
Enrollment between the IHE 
and the LEA. 

Not Concurrent Enrollment 

Evaluated as contractual 
education, using scheduled 
instructional time, or under an 
applicable section of this Guide 

*The statutory requirements for CE courses are summarized in a flowchart 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs) 

Limitations and Considerations 

For students taking Concurrent Enrollment courses, some limitations may apply based on the 
student’s year in high school (as determined by the student’s AYG) and the location in which 
the course is being offered. 

Grade Level 

During the first four years of high school (as determined by the student’s AYG) 

• Upon successfully completing a Concurrent Enrollment postsecondary course, the 
qualified student must receive credit that applies toward completion of high school 
graduation requirements. 

• Students are not statutorily limited to the number of allowable credit hours per 
semester or per year. 

• Districts may not establish limitations on allowable credit hours per student. 

5th Year and Beyond (as determined by the student’s AYG) 

Once a student has completed their 4th year of high school, they are restricted to a total of 
nine (9) Concurrent Enrollment credit hours for the remainder of their high school career 
(unless they are participating in ASCENT TREP, or identified as transition students; see bullet 
below).  This is true regardless of whether the student is pursuing a traditional diploma 
program or working towards earning a GED/HSED. Credit hours taken during the 5th year and 
beyond MUST post to the student’s high school transcript AND apply toward the student 
meeting their remaining high school graduation requirements. 

• All college credit hours must apply toward the student meeting the student’s 
remaining graduation requirements. 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ceguidelines_faqs
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• Students are limited in the number of college credit hours in which they can be 
concurrently enrolled 

o Up to 3 credit hours if scheduled less than part-time with high school courses, 
or 

o Up to 6 credit hours if scheduled at least part-time with high school courses. 
• Concurrent Enrollment courses being taken by home-school students in their 5th year 

of high school and beyond must apply toward the student meeting their home-school 
high school completion requirements.  Home-school students are still limited to 3 or 6 
credit hours per semester and a total of 9 credit hours after their 4th year of high 
school, as described above. 

• Pursuant to SB24-188, beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, transition students 
are not limited in the number of Concurrent Enrollment courses they can take while 
receiving 18 to 21-year-old services (provided the courses can be applied toward the 
completion of the student’s remaining postsecondary goals, as outlined in their IEP).   

Course Location 

• Concurrent Enrollment courses offered through the Institution of Higher Education 
(for both high school and IHE credit) at a location other than the high school campus 
will be evaluated based on credit hours. 

• Concurrent Enrollment courses offered at the high school (for both high school and 
IHE credit) may be evaluated based on scheduled instructional time, or credit hours as 
described below. 

• Online Concurrent Enrollment courses offered through an IHE will be evaluated based 
on credit hours. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Verification the district paid all of the student’s share of tuition directly to the IHE 
• College credit hour verification (from the IHE) in the semester of the pupil enrollment 

count date 
• Concurrent Enrollment Cooperative Agreement or Memorandum of Understanding 

(MOU) 
• For students in the 5th year of high school: 

o District graduation requirements 
o High school transcript generated prior to, or during, the semester of the pupil 

enrollment count date 
• For students in the 6th and 7th year of high school: 

o District graduation requirements 
o High school transcript generated prior to, or during, the semester of the pupil 

enrollment count date 
o Invoices for all IHE terms, beginning with the student’s 5th year (as determined 

by AYG), demonstrating that the district had not previously paid for a total of 9 
postsecondary credit hours  

• Δ Secondary Transition students taking CE courses must meet additional funding and 
documentation requirements. 

• For students exclusively enrolled in online postsecondary courses, or any student that 
has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024A/bills/2024a_188_enr.pdf
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public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• A student’s “year” of high school is determined using the student’s assigned 
Anticipated Year of Graduation (AYG). 

• Only those courses for which the district directly paid all tuition costs to the IHE will 
be considered in the determination of funding level. 

• Successful completion of the Concurrent Enrollment course is not necessary for the 
determination of funding. 

• Under House Bill 15-1275, IHE coursework related to apprenticeship programs and 
internship programs may be included in Concurrent Enrollment programs.  These 
classes will be evaluated consistent with all other CE courses. However, the MOU 
related to these course types must include the IHE, the LEP, and the industry partner 
providing the apprenticeship and internship programs. 

• Passing periods are not allowed in the determination of scheduled instructional time 
for periods of time between one course evaluated based on actual instructional time 
and another course evaluated based on college credit hours. 

• Home-school students who are taking CE courses are not eligible for full-time funding, 
regardless of the number of credit hours for which they are scheduled. 

• Fall semester courses offered through an IHE which are not “in session” on the 
applicable count date (i.e., those that begin and end prior to the count date, or those 
that begin after the count date and end prior to the end of the fall semester) may be 
included for funding. 

o For courses beginning after the count date and finishing prior to the end of the 
fall semester, the student must be enrolled and scheduled for the course as of 
the count date. 

• Δ Reminder: Among other requirements, qualifying IHEs must have a physical presence 
in the state of Colorado. 

Reference 

CRS 22-35-101, et seq. 
CRS 22-35-103 (6)(a) 
CRS 22-35-103 (6)(b)(I) 
CRS 22-35-104(1)(d) 
CRS 22-35-104(2)(a)(III)(b) 
CRS 22-54-103(5.2) 
SB 19-176 
HB 15-1275 
1 CCR 301-86 
1 CCR 301-86-2.04, et seq. 
CDE Career and Technical Education website   
CDE Concurrent Enrollment website 
Technical Assistance: Concurrent Enrollment for Students with Disabilities 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2015a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/67C497D11BE7168A87257DCC008382B4?Open&file=1275_enr.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J37W-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-101&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJX3-RY7W-83NH-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-103&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJX3-RY7W-83NH-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-103&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GG33-RY7W-810P-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-104&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GG33-RY7W-810P-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-104&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2015a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/67C497D11BE7168A87257DCC008382B4?Open&file=1275_enr.pdf
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3079&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-86
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3079&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-86
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=3079&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-86
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/cte
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/concurrentenrollment
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/ta_concurrentenroll
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Dropout Recovery  

What is Unique? 

Dropout recovery students are district students who are attending a dropout recovery 
program offered and run by a community college or local district college in which all 
courses are being taken at the Institution of Higher Education (IHE). Because all courses are 
being taken at the IHE, funding eligibility is determined by the number of credit hours for 
which the district is paying tuition. 

For funding purposes, dropout recovery students do not refer to those that are enrolled in a 
program operated by the local education provider (e.g., the district). An example of a 
program that is not considered dropout recovery for this purpose is a “credit recovery” 
program offered by the district. 

Programmatic Requirements 

• Students must be enrolled in and taking all courses through a dropout recovery 
program offered and run by a local community college. 

o Dropout recovery students may not be taking classes at a school operated by 
the local education provider (e.g., the district). 

• Dropout recovery courses must count toward the student meeting the district’s 
minimum graduation requirements. 

• Δ Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, to align with applicable statute, for 
funding purposes a student’s schedule of courses will be evaluated differently based 
on the type of credit being earned for completing the course: 

o For courses in which the student is receiving only high school credit, the course 
will be evaluated for funding purposes based on scheduled instructional time. 

o For courses in which the student is receiving both high school and college 
credit, the course will be evaluated for funding purposes based on college 
credit hours. 
 Full-time funding: 7+ semester credit hours 
 Part-time funding: 3-6 semester credit hours 

o Note: This credit hour requirement differs from all other postsecondary 
programs. 

Limitations 

• Students in a dropout recovery program should never be scheduled into courses 
offered by the district (i.e., these students should be scheduled exclusively into 
dropout recovery courses). 
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Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Tuition payment verification (from the district or school to the IHE), including 
payment for classes not credited on the community college’s transcript 

• College credit hour verification (from the IHE) in the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date 

• Δ For Dropout Recovery courses for which the student is only receiving high school 
credit, a schedule indicating the days and times each course is scheduled to meet. 

• Cooperative agreement or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 
• District graduation requirements 
• High school transcript generated prior to, or during, the semester of the pupil 

enrollment count date 
• For students exclusively enrolled in online postsecondary courses, or any student that 

has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• Known community colleges that offer dropout recovery programs include, but are not 
limited to, Pueblo Community College, Front Range Community College, and Red 
Rocks Community College. 

o Districts should be able to clearly identify which of their students who are 
enrolled at the IHE are participating in a dropout recovery program (as opposed 
to a Concurrent Enrollment program). 

• Fall semester courses offered through an IHE which are not “in session” on the 
applicable count date (i.e., those that begin and end prior to the count date, or those 
that begin after the count date and end prior to the end of the fall semester) may be 
included for funding. 

o For courses beginning after the count date and finishing prior to the end of the 
fall semester, the student must be enrolled and scheduled for the course as of 
the count date. 

Reference 

CRS 22-35-109.5. 
SB 19-176 
“Community college” must meet the definition as outlined in CRS 23-60-201. 
“Local district college” must meet the definition as outlined in CRS 23-71-102. 
CDE Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement website 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J386-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-109.5&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/635V-8JJ3-GXJ9-30V7-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2023-60-201&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/656S-10P3-GXF6-80DD-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2023-71-102&context=1000516
http://www.cde.state.co.us/dropoutprevention
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Early College  

What is Unique? 

An Early College, as defined by CRS 22-35-103(10)(a), is a secondary school that provides 
only a curriculum that requires each student to enroll in and complete secondary and 
postsecondary courses while enrolled in the first four years of high school such that, upon 
successful completion of the curriculum, the student will have completed the 
requirements of a high school diploma and an associate's degree or other post-secondary 
credential or at least sixty credits toward the completion of a postsecondary credential.  
The curriculum must be designed to be completed within four years. 

For more information, including a current list of all designated Early Colleges, visit the 
Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness Office’s Early College High School website.  

Due to their unique structure, Early Colleges are likely to have more students taking 
postsecondary courses; therefore, the requirements considered in the determination of 
funding will vary. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• If the student is taking postsecondary college courses that need to be evaluated based 
on credit hours: 

o Tuition payment verification (from the district/school to the college or IHE) 
 Only those courses for which the district directly paid all tuition costs to 

the college or IHE will be considered in the determination of funding 
level. 

o College credit hour verification (from the IHE) in the semester of the pupil 
enrollment count date 

o Cooperative agreement or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 
• For students exclusively enrolled in online postsecondary courses, or any student that 

has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• Passing periods are not allowed in the determination of scheduled instructional time 
for periods of time between one course evaluated based on actual instructional time 
and another course evaluated based on postsecondary college credit hours. 

• Fall semester courses offered through a college or IHE which are not “in session” on 
the applicable count date (i.e., those that begin and end prior to the count date, or 
those that begin after the count date and end prior to the end of the fall semester) 
may be included for funding. 

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJX3-RY7W-83NH-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-103&context=1000516
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ce_earlycollegehighschool
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
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o For courses beginning after the count date and finishing prior to the end of the 
fall semester, the student must be enrolled and scheduled for the course as of 
the count date. 

o Although attendance is no longer required for postsecondary courses, students 
taking high school courses must still meet the attendance requirement, even if 
they are also taking postsecondary courses. 

Reference 

CRS 22-35-103(10)(a) 
SB 19-176 
CDE Early College High School website 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJX3-RY7W-83NH-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35-103&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/ce_earlycollegehighschool
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TREP (Teacher Recruitment Education and Preparation)  

What is Unique? 

The Teacher Recruitment Education and Preparation (TREP) program was added to the 
Concurrent Enrollment Programs Act (CEPA) by SB 21-185.  The TREP program creates 
the opportunity for qualified students in a teaching career pathway to concurrently enroll in 
postsecondary courses for the two years following the 12th grade year (defined as the 5th 
and 6th years of high school, as determined by the student’s Anticipated Year of Graduation--
AYG).   

For more information about the TREP program requirements (including how to request TREP 
slot allocations for funding purposes), refer to the Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness 
Office’s TREP site (https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/trep) 

The documentation requirements and determination of funding eligibility for students 
participating in TREP vary from traditional students. 

Programmatic Requirements 

In addition to other programmatic requirements, students wishing to participate in the TREP 
program must have been identified during their 4th year of high school, during which time 
the student must have been enrolled in at least one TREP Pathway course. Further, any 
student reported as TREP during their 5th or 6th year of high school must have been enrolled 
in at least one of the TREP Pathway courses during the fall semester of the year being 
reported (whether the first or second year of TREP program participation).  

For the 2025-2026 school year, the list of acceptable TREP Pathway courses includes only: 

ART1110: Art Appreciation 
DAN1025: Dance Appreciation (GT-AH1) 
ECE1011: Intro to ECE 
ECE2101: Working with Families and 
Communities 
ECE2381: Child Growth and Development 
EDU2088: Practicum II 
EDU2211: Intro to Education 
EDU2215: Intro to Education Techniques 
EDU2341: Multicultural Education 
EDU2611: Teaching, Learning, & Technology 
ENG1021: English Composition I (GT-CO1) 
ENG1022: English Composition II (GT-CO2) 
GEO1005: World Regional Geography 
GEO1006: Human Geography (GT-SS2) 
HIS1210: US History to Reconstruction 
 

HIS1220: US History Since Civil War (GT-HI1) 
LIT1015: Intro to Literature (GT-AH2) 
LIT2055: Children’s Literature (GT-AH2) 
MAT1340: College Algebra 
MAT1220/1230: Integrated Math 1-2 
MAT1240: Mathematics for the Liberal Arts  
MAT1260: Intro to Stats 
MAT2410: Calculus I 
MUS1020: Music Appreciation 
POS2020: Introduction to Political Science 
POS1011: American Government 
PHI1012: Ethics 
PSY2440: Human Growth & Development 
PSY2441: Child Development 
THE1005: Theater Appreciation 
Any 2 GTSC-1 OR Any GTSC-1 + GTSC-2 
 

More information can be found on the Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness’ 
TREP FAQ. 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2021a_185_signed.pdf
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/trep
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/trep
https://cdhe.colorado.gov/guaranteed-transfer-pathways-general-education-curriculum
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/trepfaqs
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Additional Documentation Requirements 

• The district must identify which scheduled course in the current year is on the TREP 
pathway 

• Verification the district paid the student’s share of tuition directly to the IHE 
• College credit hour verification (from the IHE) in the semester of the pupil enrollment 

count date 
• TREP Cooperative Agreement or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 
• High school transcript that identifies which course taken during in the 12th grade was 

on the TREP pathway 
• For students exclusively enrolled in online postsecondary courses, or any student that 

has a schedule that does not require the student’s regular physical presence at a 
public school, the district must verify and document the student’s residency in the 
State of Colorado upon enrollment and annually thereafter. 

o Electronic Affidavit of State of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the 
guidance outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

Helpful Hints 

• A student’s “year” of high school is determined using the student’s assigned 
Anticipated Year of Graduation (AYG). 

• As with all other postsecondary courses that need to be evaluated based on credit 
hours, only those courses for which the district directly paid all tuition costs to the 
IHE will be considered in the determination of funding level.  

• Δ Reminder: Among other requirements, qualifying IHEs must have a physical presence 
in the state of Colorado. 

• The following table describes the appropriate Student October Count data submission 
coding for all current year slots:   

TREP Slot 
Allocation Year 

Funding 
Level 

Postsecondary 
Program 

Enrollment 
Code 

Public School 
Finance 
Funding 
Status 
Code Comment 

TREP Year 5 Full-time 17 80, 91, 92  

TREP student in Year 5 occupying a full-
time current year-allocated TREP slot 
(1.0 FTE) 

TREP Year 5 Part-time 17 82, 85, 94, 95 

TREP student in Year 5 occupying a part-
time current year-allocated TREP slot 
(0.5 FTE) 

TREP Year 5 
Carryforward Full-time 18 87, 96 

TREP student in Year 5 occupying a full-
time carryforward TREP slot (1.0 FTE) 
from the prior school year. 

TREP Year 5 
Carryforward Part-time 19 87, 96 

TREP student in Year 5 occupying a part-
time carryforward TREP slot (0.5 FTE) 
from the prior school year. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
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TREP Slot 
Allocation Year 

Funding 
Level 

Postsecondary 
Program 

Enrollment 
Code 

Public School 
Finance 
Funding 
Status 
Code Comment 

Carryforward/ 
Current Full-time 19 82, 85, 94, 95 

This is a full-time TREP student who is 
occupying a ½ TREP slot from the current 
year (0.5 FTE) AND ½ carryforward TREP 
slot from the prior year (0.5 FTE). 

TREP Year 6 Full-time 20 80, 91, 92 
TREP student in Year 6 occupying a full-
time allocated TREP slot (1.0 FTE) 

TREP Year 6 Part-time 20 82, 85, 94, 95 
TREP student in Year 6 occupying a part-
time allocated TREP slot (0.5 FTE) 

Reference 

SB 21-185 
CDE Teacher Recruitment Education & Preparation website 
CDHE Guaranteed Transfer (GT) Pathways General Education Curriculum website 
  

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2021a_185_signed.pdf
https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/trep
https://cdhe.colorado.gov/guaranteed-transfer-pathways-general-education-curriculum
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Unique Schools and Programs 

With limited exceptions, all students submitted for funding in the state of Colorado must 
meet the same enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours requirements.  However, the 
documentation required to demonstrate those requirements have been met may vary for 
certain schools and program types. The following sections describe these schools and 
programs, and identify any additional documentation requirements necessary to submit 
those students for funding. 
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Δ Alternative Education Campus (AEC) Schools 

What is Unique? 

Alternate Education Campuses (AECs) are schools with specialized missions designed to serve 
high-risk student populations.  

It is the district’s responsibility to ensure that the documentation provided for AECs to 
support funding eligibility meets all requirements described in this Guide. In general, 
students attending AECs must meet the same enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours 
requirements as all other students; however, pursuant to HB25-1167, AECs have a very 
limited exception to the enrollment requirement for 21-year-old students. 

21-Year-Old Students 

Students who reach the age of 21 on or prior to the applicable count date are typically not 
eligible for funding. However, if a high-risk 21-year-old student is attending an AEC, the 
student may be eligible for funding if the student has sufficient credits such that the student 
will be eligible for a diploma by the end of the same school year. 

To be eligible for funding, these students must meet the same attendance and scheduled 
hours requirements as all other students. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
• Individual Student Schedule 

For high-risk students who reach the age of 21 on or prior to the applicable count date, 
additional documentation will be needed at the time of the Student October Count data 
submission to support the student’s eligibility: 

• School diploma completion requirements 
• Student transcript (or other documentation) showing the number of credits earned as 

of the count date 
• A description of the student’s expected path to earn a diploma by the end of the 

current school year 

References 

Alternative Education Campuses HB25-1167 
C.R.S. 22-7-604.5  

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2025a_1167_signed.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2025a_1167_signed.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/62FS-3JG3-CH1B-T0XR-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-7-604.5&context=1000516
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Δ Board Of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES)  

What is Unique? 

A Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES) exists to supply educational services to 
two or more school districts that alone cannot afford the service, or find it advantageous 
and cost-effective to cooperate with other districts. These services represent a financial 
commitment that is best met by several districts sharing costs and programs. In some 
instances, BOCES also operate as Special Education Administrative Units, in which Colorado 
Revised Statutes require a minimum number of students or participants in order to qualify.  

Some BOCES authorize schools and/or run non-school programs to educate students. 
Students who attend BOCES schools or programs are reported for funding at the district 
where they are enrolled; the per-pupil funding for these students is then distributed to the 
reporting district.  

Students who are attending a BOCES school or program must meet the same enrollment, 
attendance, scheduled hours, and other applicable documentation requirements as all 
other students and as described throughout this Guide.  This is also true of students 
receiving educational services through BOCES programs and who are submitted for funding 
by their school districts; in such cases, the district should refer to the Contractual Education 
section of this Guide.  Regardless of the programming offered, it is the responsibility of each 
district reporting students attending a BOCES school or program to ensure that all funding 
and documentation requirements have been met when reporting students for funding. 

  



 Contractual Education Page 53 of 118 

 This Guide is to be read as a whole  

Contractual Education  

What is Unique? 

Contractual education serves those students for whom a district is paying the entire cost of 
services used to determine funding eligibility to another district or third-party entity to 
educate one of its students. Services provided through contractual education must be of 
comparable quality and meet the same requirements and standards that would apply if 
performed by the school district itself. Further, contracted services may comprise some or 
all of the student’s educational services.  

If a district is incurring the entire cost of educational services at a non-district location, the 
district is entitled to submit the student for funding in its Student October Count data 
submission. In such cases, the district will be responsible for ensuring that it has all 
necessary documentation from the educational provider evidencing the student has met all 
funding requirements. Examples of educational providers include, but are not limited to:  
another Colorado public school district, a BOCES, a private educational service provider, 
homeschool enrichment program provider, etc. The responsibility for ensuring funding and 
documentation requirements for courses and services offered by a third party are met 
lies with the district. 

In the event a district is providing the educational services for an out-of-district student and 
is also receiving tuition (whether paid by the district of residence, student’s 
parent/guardian, or other entity), the district may include the student in its Student 
October Count data submission; however, the district cannot submit the student for funding.   

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) from the 
education provider 

o Expanded attendance documentation if the student did not meet the 
attendance requirement within the attendance documentation date range. 

• Individual Student Schedule from the education provider 
o Appropriate documentation showing the student’s actual scheduled 

instructional time. The determination of funding level will be based only on 
the actual time in which the student is scheduled to receive services. The 
district will need to determine the appropriate documentation to evidence 
each student’s unique schedule. 
 Only those courses or services for which the district is incurring the cost 

of the student’s general tuition may be included as instructional time in 
the determination of funding level (assuming all other requirements 
have been met). 

• Education provider program/school calendar 
• Education provider program/school bell schedule 
• Education provider school handbook, if available 
• Purchase agreement or contract for educational services between district and 

educational provider 
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o Alternatively, evidence of payment for the entire cost of services used to 
determine funding eligibility from the district to the third-party educational 
provider 

• Δ The Department’s “Annual Assurances for Statutory Compliance for Contracted 
Services” (Form AUD-108) 

o This form contains the annual statutory compliance assurances referenced in 
the State Board rules.  Districts must ensure that this form is completed and 
retained whenever they plan to submit the contractor’s educational services as 
funded instructional time under the Public School Finance Act and must be 
provided to the School Auditing Office upon request.  

o This form is designed to assist districts to ensure compliance of contractual 
education services.  

o A “No” response to any of the listed requirements does not necessarily mean 
that students educated through the contracted services are not eligible for 
funding. Funding eligibility is determined separately from this form.  

o The educator licensure requirement (Ref. 1(B)) outlines that instructional time 
submitted for funding is taught by licensed personnel when such licensure is 
required by statute or by an educator of record otherwise. In some cases, 
licensed personnel are not required. For example, charter schools may have 
been issued teacher licensure waivers. Additionally, IEP teams are responsible 
for ensuring FAPE. At times, the IEP team may select educational services that 
are not provided by licensed educators. In these instances, it would be 
appropriate to respond to this requirement with a “Yes” response. 

o CDE recommends that districts consider including the assurances outlined by 
this form within their contracts for educational services with third parties. 

• Additional documentation, as described in this Guide, for all applicable unique 
student, course, school, and program types. 

Helpful Hints 

• If the district is purchasing digital course content for Blended Learning or 
Supplemental Online courses from a third-party course content provider (such as 
CDLS, Edmentum, Edgenuity, etc.), the district must indicate this in their catalog of 
courses using alternative instruction.  Further, the district must be prepared to 
provide evidence of payment or agreement for these courses (as applicable).  

Reference 

CRS 22-54-109. 
1 CCR 301-39(5.11)(1), et seq. 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_annual_assurances_contracted_services_form-aud108
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_annual_assurances_contracted_services_form-aud108
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J3K2-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-109&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Detention Centers 

What is Unique? 

Students who are placed short-term in a detention center or Youth Service Center (YSC) may 
be included in a district’s funded pupil count. Education for detention center students is 
most often provided for by the district in which the detention center is located (if this 
option is available). If a student is placed in a detention center outside of their resident (or 
last known) district, there can be some confusion as to which district is eligible to submit 
the student for funding (i.e., the district in which the student last attended/resides or the 
district providing the detention center educational services).   

Students in detention centers are not considered facility students. 

The School Auditing Office provides Form AUD-101 to facilitate communication between 
districts regarding the funding eligibility of students placed short-term in a detention center.  
For the sake of clarity, in this section of the Guide: 

• “District A” refers to the last known district of attendance (or, if unknown, district of 
residence) 

• “District B” refers to the district providing the educational services at the detention 
center or YSC (where the student is currently placed). 

Form AUD-101: Detention Center Notification Process 

1) District B is responsible for identifying the student’s District A.  
2) District B must then provide Form AUD-101 (Detention Center Notification) to each 

District A that has  students placed short-term in District B’s Detention Center as of 
the applicable count date, no later than 15 calendar days following the applicable 
count date. 

3) Upon receipt of the AUD-101 form, District A must complete and return Form AUD-101 
to District B regarding the detention center student. 

A. On the form, District A must indicate whether or not the student is eligible for 
funding through District A. In order to be eligible for funding, District A must 
determine whether all of the following criteria have been met: 
 Enrollment: The student was still enrolled with District A as of the 

applicable count date, and 
 Attendance: The student established attendance with District A within 

30 calendar days preceding the applicable count date, and 
 Schedule: The student has a schedule with District A as of the applicable 

count date that supports funding eligibility. 
B. If all of the listed criteria have been met, District A will circle “Yes” on Form 

AUD-101, return it to District B, and submit the student for funding based upon 
the schedule that was in place as of the applicable count date. 

C. If one or more of the listed criteria are not met, District A will circle “No” on 
Form AUD-101 and return it to District B. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_office_detention_center_form_aud101
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4) Upon receipt of the completed Form AUD-101, District B will submit the student for 
funding if any of the following criteria apply: 

A. Form AUD-101 completed by District A is returned with “No” circled in the 
appropriate column for the noted student, OR 

B. District A is the same district providing the educational services at the 
detention center (i.e., District A and District B are the same district), OR 

C. District B is unable to determine District A, and therefore is unable to include a 
student on an AUD-101 form. 

5) The district submitting the student for funding should retain the applicable AUD-101 
form as audit documentation. If an AUD-101 form is not returned to District B, District 
B should submit the student for funding and the incomplete AUD-101 should be kept 
and submitted as audit documentation if the student appears in the Duplicate Count 
process.  

Additional Documentation Requirements 

District A must retain the following for audit purposes in the event a student placed short-
term in a detention center is included in its funded pupil count: 

• Enrollment history generated from the district’s Student Information System 
• Daily Attendance. 

o Current year attendance evidencing student established attendance in the 30 
days preceding the applicable count date, AND 

o Completed detention center notification (AUD-101) indicating that the student 
is eligible to be submitted for funding by District A along with confirmation that 
it was returned to District B 

o When District A and District B are the same: if the student did not establish 
attendance in the 30 days preceding the applicable count date, the student 
may be reported for funding if the district enrolls the student and creates a 
schedule for the student (with the intent to have the student attend a district 
school after being released from the detention center). 

• Individual Student Schedule 

District B must retain the following for audit purposes in the event a student placed short-
term in a detention center is included in its funded pupil count: 

• Entry and exit dates for students in the detention center who were present on the 
applicable count date 

• Returned form AUD-101 showing that District A is not eligible to include the 
student for funding 

• Education program bell schedule 
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Helpful Hints 

• Current list of Detention Centers: 
District 

Code 
Center 

Code 
Detention Center Name 

0040 9801 Prairie Vista Youth Services Center 
0130 9802 Marvin W. Foote Youth Services Center 
0880 9803 Gilliam Youth Services Center 
1020 9804 Zebulon Pike Youth Services Center 
1420 9805 Mount View Youth Services Center 
2000 9807 Grand Mesa Youth Services Center 
2690 9808 Pueblo Youth Services Center 
3120 9809 Platte Valley Youth Services Center 

 
• As a reminder, Local Education Agencies (LEAs) must use secure means when sending 

Personally Identifiable Information (PII) to CDE. CDE strongly recommends that 
districts use a secure method if transferring PII between districts, schools, or with 
other parties. For example, a secure file sharing tool like Syncplicity, or including the 
PII in a password protected document. For more information, contact CDE’s Data 
Privacy Office at dataprivacy@cde.state.co.us 

• This section of the guide does not apply to students awaiting trial in an adult facility 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/edservforstudentawaitingtrial). 

Reference 

CRS 22-32-141 
1 CCR 301-39(5.13), et seq. 
  

mailto:dataprivacy@cde.state.co.us
mailto:dataprivacy@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/edservforstudentawaitingtrial
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-GJY3-RY7W-83NJ-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-32-141&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Facility Schools 

Note: This section only applies to students attending a CDE-approved facility school. The 
list of these schools can be found on CDE’s Facility Schools website 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools).  For the documentation requirements for 
students attending “facility” schools that do not appear on this list, see the Contractual 
Education section of this Guide. 

What is Unique? 

Approved facility schools receive funding from CDE that is allocated through the legislative 
process. This funding is known as “facility school state revenue” which is determined using 
the baseline funding model. Because basic education funding is provided directly to the 
approved facility schools through this model, districts are almost never entitled to include 
these students in their funded pupil count as reported in the Student October funding 
submission. 

Δ Students attending a CDE-approved facility school may not be submitted for per pupil 
funding by a district within Student October UNLESS the student was placed in the 
facility school short term, as described below: 

• The student was enrolled, scheduled, and attending a district school during the 
current school year; 

• was placed short-term at the facility school for a period encompassing the count date 
(while remaining enrolled at the district school); 

• resumed attendance at the district school within 30 days following the applicable 
count date.  

This is a very rare circumstance and the district is encouraged to validate a student’s 
funding eligibility prior to reporting the student for funding.  

The documentation requirements that must be met to claim a student attending a CDE-
approved facility school for funding vary depending on which of the above circumstances 
describe the student’s situation, and are discussed below. 

Additional Documentation Requirements 

Prior to submitting a student attending a facility school for funding, the district should 
review the list of CDE-approved facility schools 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools).  

• If the facility school that the student was attending does not appear on the list, the 
student may be submitted for funding by meeting the documentation requirements 
for Contractual Education students. 

  

http://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools
http://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools
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Short-term placement students 

If a district has a student who was previously attending a district school during the current 
school year, was placed in a facility short-term over the applicable count date, remained 
enrolled in the district school, and then returned to the district school within 30 days 
following the count date, the student may be claimed by the district for funding with:  

• Documentation showing the student established attendance with the district (not 
including attendance at the approved facility school) during the current school year 
prior to the applicable count date 

• Documentation showing the student resumed attendance with the district within 30 
days following the applicable count date 

• A student schedule from the district school supporting the funding level at which the 
student was claimed dated prior to the count date 

• Enrollment history showing student remained enrolled in the district while short-term 
placed in a facility school 

Helpful Hints 

• The Office of Facility Schools at CDE annually posts the Tuition Cost Rate 
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools/finance).  Per this document, the 
“Tuition Cost Rate” covers costs associated with specialized services as outlined in the 
student’s IEP. The “Additional Education Costs” may cover day treatment, residential 
treatment, and/or exceptional costs above and beyond the specialized services 
covered under the Tuition Cost Rate. These costs ("Tuition" and/or "Additional 
Education"), if paid by the district, do not entitle the district to include the student in 
the district’s funded pupil count as reported in Student October; however, payment of 
these costs may entitle the district to include the student in the district’s Special 
Education December count (http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_sped-
december). 

• Δ In some circumstances, a student may be receiving educational services through a 
combination of district and facility school resources. In these instances, only the 
instructional time offered and/or provided by the district should be included in the 
calculation of instructional time for per-pupil revenue funding; instructional time 
provided by a CDE-approved facility school should not be used to determine funding 
eligibility. 

Reference 

C.R.S. 22-54-129 
SB23-219 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools/
https://www.cde.state.co.us/facilityschools/facilityschoolpolicyfinance
http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_sped-december
http://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/snap_sped-december
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C45-1JS3-RT0C-23B9-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-129&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C45-1JS3-RT0C-23B9-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-129&context=1000516
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2023a_219_signed.pdf
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Home-School Enrichment Programs 

What is Unique? 

For funding purposes, “home-school enrichment programs” are run by (or contracted 
through) Colorado school districts to provide part-time educational services to home-school 
and private school students (including those enrolled in independent and parochial schools).  
If a student’s family must pay tuition to a non-public school as a requirement to participate 
in the “home-school enrichment” program, the home-school enrichment program will not be 
included in the determination for funding. 

Home-school students enrolled in home-school enrichment programs are eligible for a 
maximum of part-time funding statewide. If a home-school or private school student is 
receiving part-time services from multiple districts, the student may only be submitted for 
part-time funding by one district. For additional information, refer to Appendix B of this 
Guide. 

Home-school enrichment programs may be operated directly by the district, or through a 
contractual agreement with an outside education provider. If the home-school enrichment 
program is being operated by a non-district entity, the district must ensure that all of the 
funding requirements for Contractual Education are met.   

Instructional time at home-school enrichment programs may only include courses that are 
designed by the district or its contractor; parent-led instruction may never be included as 
fundable instructional time.  Because districts are receiving the funding for students 
attending home-school enrichment programs, it is ultimately the district’s responsibility 
to ensure all funding and audit documentation requirements have been met. 

Funding Restrictions and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Restrictions 

• Students enrolled in home-school enrichment programs are never eligible for more 
than part-time funding statewide. 

• Home-school enrichment programs run by third-party contractors have additional 
documentation requirements (see below). 

• Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-39, rule 2.05, only secondary students (grades 6-12) and 
homebound K-5 students are eligible to include alternative instruction courses in the 
determination of funding level. 

o To qualify for funding, alternative instruction courses must be credit-bearing. 
o Home-school enrichment programs serving students in grades K-5 need to 

ensure that students are receiving at least 90 semester hours of direct 
instruction in order to qualify for funding. 

• Home-school enrichment programs may offer postsecondary courses to students. 
However, these students are still limited to a maximum of part-time funding, even 
when they are enrolled for 12 or more CE credit hours. 
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o Home-school students in their 5th year and beyond who are enrolled in 
Concurrent Enrollment courses are subject to the same course restrictions as 
other students in their 5th year of high school and beyond.   

Documentation 

Students enrolled in home-school enrichment programs must meet all of the same 
enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours requirements as all other students.  However, 
there may be additional considerations or requirements for funding these students: 

• Attendance documentation for home-school enrichment programs may differ from 
other schools within the district. Districts must ensure that the attendance records for 
all home-school enrichment programs appropriately demonstrate student 
participation.  

o For students participating in a home-school enrichment program, attendance 
beyond the attendance documentation date range may be necessary, depending 
on the frequency in which the students attend these programs.  

• Home-school enrichment programs may serve different cohorts of students (such as 
those who meet in different locations or are scheduled to attend on different days of 
the week).  

o The district must provide appropriate calendar and bell schedule 
documentation for each cohort, appropriate documentation to reflect the 
attendance of each cohort, and be able to identify to which cohort each 
student belongs. 

• If the district is contracting with a third party to provide home-school enrichment 
services to students, the district will be responsible for ensuring funding and 
documentation requirements have been met.  This includes the “Annual Assurances 
for Statutory Compliance for Contracted Services” (Form AUD-108). 

Helpful Hints 

• The terms “home-based,” “home-study,” and “home-school” are sometimes used 
interchangeably and may vary by district. However, these students are not the same 
as “home-bound” students (whose educational services are the primary responsibility 
of the district that may be provided at the student’s home, hospital, or other off-site 
location). 

• Only teacher-led instruction may be considered as instructional time for funding 
purposes; instruction being provided by parents (including that which is delivered 
“under the supervision of” teachers) may not be included in the calculation of 
instructional time. 

Reference 

CRS 22-33-104.5(6)(a). 
1 CCR 301-39(1.10) 
1 CCR 301-39(1.14) 
1 CCR 301-39(2.05), et seq. 
1 CCR 301-39(5.06), et seq. 
CDE Homeschool in Colorado website  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_annual_assurances_contracted_services_form-aud108
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_annual_assurances_contracted_services_form-aud108
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C45-1HY3-RT0C-2000-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-104.5&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
http://www.cde.state.co.us/choice/homeschool
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High School Equivalency Diploma Programs 

What is Unique? 

A High School Equivalency (HSE) diploma is equivalent to a traditional high school diploma 
for the purpose of obtaining education or employment in Colorado.  

HSED program students are eligible for funding if they: 

• Are actively enrolled and participating in an HSED program, OR 
• Have received an HSED certificate and have returned to earn their high school 

diploma 

In the event a student is enrolled in an HSED program, the documentation evidencing 
funding requirements may be different. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

The enrollment, attendance, and scheduling requirements for students participating in these 
programs are the same as they are for all students. No additional requirements apply to 
students in HSED programs. 

Reminders 

• Students who are actively enrolled and participating in an HSED program can only be 
reported for funding by a district if the district is providing (or paying the tuition for) 
the students’ educational services.  

o This is true whether the HSED student is attending a district program or if the 
district is contracting with another entity to provide the educational services 
for the student. 

• Students who have received an HSED certificate and have returned to earn their high 
school diploma can only be submitted for funding if the students are under the age of 
21 as of the applicable count date, and have not met the district’s minimum 
graduation requirements as of the applicable count date. 

o Exceptions are made for students receiving services (outlined in an IEP) who 
turn 21 in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date, and those who are 
21 years old, attending an AEC, and meet specific criteria. 

• Students pursuing an HSED are eligible to participate in Concurrent Enrollment 
courses; however, during the 5th year of high school and beyond, HSED students (like 
all other students) are limited in the number of credit hours they are eligible to take.  
Refer to the Concurrent Enrollment section of this Guide to confirm eligibility. 

• As a reminder, pursuant to 1 CCR 301-39, rule 2.05, secondary students (grades 6-12) 
are eligible to participate in courses using alternative instruction.  HSED programs are 
responsible for ensuring that all applicable requirements for alternative instruction 
courses are met. 
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Documentation 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
• Individual Student Schedule 
• For students attending an HSED program operated by a third-party entity (see 

“Contractual Education Students”): 
o Tuition payment verification by district to the entity 
o Contract or agreement between the district and the third-party entity 
o Program calendar and bell schedule 

Helpful Hints 

• When determining full- or part-time funding status for students enrolled in HSED prep 
courses, districts may only consider the actual teacher-pupil instruction and contact 
hours that the student is scheduled to receive. 

o The district or program should not automatically assume that the student is 
eligible for full- or part-time funding based on the number of hours the “lab” 
or “classroom” is open, but rather on the individual student’s expected times 
of attendance.  
 For example: The HSED lab is open Monday through Thursday from 10am 

until 6pm (8 hours per day); however, the student works in the morning 
and can only attend Monday through Thursday from 4 pm until 6 pm. In 
this example, the student is scheduled for 2 hours each day, not the 8 
hours per day the lab is open. 
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Δ ILOP (Innovative Learning Opportunities Program Pilot) 

Per Senate Bill 19-216, the Innovative Learning Opportunities Pilot Program (ILOP) 
sunsetted on June 30, 2025, marking the close of the legislated pilot initiative. Please 
review any program closeout requirements as needed. Questions should be directed to the 
Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness. 
  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/contact
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Online Schools and Programs 

IMPORTANT: This section refers only to Colorado public Online Schools and Programs as 
described in 1 CCR 301-71 and the students primarily enrolled in them (i.e., those 
whose reported Student October Count funding codes are 91, 92, 94, or 95).  For 
information regarding supplement online or blended learning courses being taken by 
students primarily enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools (i.e., those whose reported 
Student October Count funding codes are 80, 82, 85, or 86) refer to the Alternative 
Instruction section of this Guide.  Further, references in 1 CCR 301-39 to alternative 
instruction and/or courses do not apply to students primarily enrolled in Colorado 
Online Schools and Programs. 

What is Unique? 

Any approved multi-district Online School or identified single-district Online School or 
Program must ensure that it has all documentation outlined below for all students reported 
for funding in its district’s Student October Count data submission available at the time of 
audit. These requirements apply regardless of whether the Online School or Program utilizes 
a “blended learning” or “hybrid” model which incorporates both in-person and online course 
delivery methods. 

Per 1 CCR 301-71, the intent of Online Schools and Programs “is to deliver a sequential 
program of synchronous or asynchronous instruction directed by a teacher primarily through 
online digital learning strategies that provide students choice over time, place, and path, 
and teacher-guided modality of learning.”  Students enrolled in and taking courses through 
these Online Schools and Programs (“online students”) are eligible to be included in the 
district’s funded pupil count. To be considered for funding, online students must meet the 
same enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours requirements as all other students.  
However, because these Online Schools and Programs offer more flexibility in the times and 
locations in which students are participating in courses, the documentation necessary to 
support funding eligibility is different from students primarily enrolled in brick-and-mortar 
schools. 

Funding Requirements 

Enrollment Requirements 

As is true for all students, in order to be eligible for funding, online students must be 
enrolled with the district as of the applicable count date. Additionally, online students must 
have proof of Colorado residency. 

• Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-71-8.06, Online Schools and Programs must collect appropriate 
documentation evidencing proof of Colorado residency upon initial enrollment and 
annually thereafter.  Therefore, documentation must be dated within the 365 days 
preceding the applicable count date. Further, Online Schools and Programs must 
retain this documentation in the student’s mandatory permanent record.  

o Electronic Affidavit of Colorado Residency forms should adhere to the guidance 
outlined in the School Auditing Office’s Online Signature Guidance. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/schools
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_online_signatures
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• Acceptable documentation to evidence Colorado residency includes, but is not limited 
to: 

o Property tax payment receipts 
o Residential Lease Agreement (that encompasses the applicable count date) 
o Rent payment receipts 
o Inclusion on the SNAP/TANF direct certification list 
o Completed Family Economic Data Survey (FEDS) form (available on the School 

Auditing Office’s At-Risk Count website) or Application for Free and Reduced-
Priced School Meals which include the student’s physical Colorado address 

o Utility service payment receipts showing service dates beginning prior to the 
count date, service and mailing addresses in Colorado, that are addressed to 
the parent, guardian, or another household member 

o Written “Statement of Residency” (example and instructions can be found on 
CDE’s Online and Blended Learning Resources website) 

o Appropriate residency documentation for a member or dependent of a member 
of the United States Armed Services 

o McKinney-Vento list provided by the district’s homeless liaison  
o Migrant list provided by the district’s regional migrant liaison  

• Proof of residency is not required for students who are required to be on-site 
regularly for any portion of the instructional day, if appropriate evidence of on-site 
attendance is provided. Otherwise, proof of Colorado residency (as described above) 
is required. 

Attendance Requirements 

Online students must meet the same attendance requirements to be eligible for funding that 
students at brick-and-mortar schools must meet. However, because students enrolled in an 
Online School or Program do not necessarily “attend” a physical location, Online School and 
Program authorizers are required to submit Authorizer Assurances that describe the local 
board policies regarding the tracking of student enrollment, attendance, and participation.  
These Assurances ensure compliance with the compulsory attendance requirements, as well 
as the attendance requirements for funding as described below: 

Online students: 
• Must participate in one of the activities described on the Authorizer Assurances on the 

applicable count date,  
or: 

• If the student does not participate (for any reason) in one of the activities described 
on the Authorizer Assurances on the applicable count date (including non-student 
contact days), then the student:  

o Must establish participation prior to the applicable count date during the 
current school year  
AND 

o Resume participation within 30 days following the applicable count date. 

For audit purposes, all documentation provided to evidence student attendance and 
participation must have been included in the submitted Authorizer Assurances to be 
considered. 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_atrisk_freeandreduced
http://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/resources
http://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/resources
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Scheduled Hours Requirements 

Students primarily enrolled in Online Schools or Programs must meet the same scheduled 
hours requirements that students at brick-and-mortar schools must meet. While all schools 
and most programs (both online and brick-and-mortar) provide the opportunity for students 
to receive a full day of instruction, funding level is determined by each student’s scheduled 
hours of instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date, as described 
below: 

• Part-time funding: Students must be scheduled for at least 90, but less than 360, 
hours 

• Full-time funding: Students must be scheduled for at least of 360 hours 

Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-71-8.02, for Online Schools and Programs “the determination of full-
time or part-time status is based upon the minimum number of hours provided for a student 
to receive instruction. Minimum hours can be based on the number of hours per day (or 
week) required to earn an equivalent number of credits in a traditional classroom 
setting.” See the “Determining Equivalent Instructional time” section below for guidance. 

Considerations for Scheduling Online Students 

In order to ensure districts are receiving the appropriate funding for each student enrolled in 
a Colorado Online School or Program, the following guidance should be taken into 
consideration when scheduling students: 

• Student schedules should clearly state all courses into which the student is scheduled 
during the semester of the pupil enrollment count date. 

o These courses should appear on the schedule provided to the student as of the 
count date (i.e., students should be aware of all courses in which they are 
expected to participate during the semester of the pupil enrollment count 
date). 

o In the event a student’s schedule changes during the semester of the pupil 
enrollment count date, these changes should be documented and available 
upon request at the time of audit.  

o Student schedules must include all courses which are to be considered in the 
determination of funding level. 

• Each student’s schedule should be developed to meet the student’s individual needs 
(i.e., not a generic or “placeholder” schedule). 

o While generalized grade-level schedules may be appropriate for elementary 
and middle school students, high school students’ schedules should be 
individualized in order to assure progress toward graduation. 

o As with brick-and-mortar students, because schedules are student-specific, not 
all online students may be eligible for full-time funding based on their 
scheduled equivalent instructional hours. 
 For example, a full-time schedule may not be appropriate for some high 

school students. This may include students with family or work 
obligations, or those who do not need a full-time schedule in order to 
meet graduation requirements.  

o Students in online courses have some control over the timing of their courses; 
however, to be considered for funding, these courses must appear on a 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
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student’s schedule on or prior to the applicable count date. While students may 
not necessarily begin work on all scheduled courses prior to the count date, 
they must attend every scheduled course at some point during the semester of 
the pupil enrollment count date, and documentation demonstrating 
participation in all courses may be required to validate the student’s schedule. 

• Funding level should be based on the student’s entire fall semester schedule. 
Therefore, if an Online School or Program follows a different calendar structure, it 
must take into consideration all terms that fall within the equivalent of the first 
semester. For example: 

o If a school or program follows a semester structure, funding should be based on 
the fall semester schedule. 

o If a school or program follows a quarter structure, funding should be based on 
quarters 1 and 2. 

o If a school or program follows a hexter schedule, funding should be based on 
hexters 1, 2, and 3. 

• In elementary and middle school grades, scheduling should take into consideration the 
number of courses necessary, if completed successfully, that would allow for the 
student to progress to the next grade level. 

o In addition, schedules should be inclusive of programming sufficient to allow 
students an opportunity to develop mastery of state core academic standards 
in Math, English Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies. 

Determining Equivalent Instructional Time 

Online Schools and Programs “provide students choice over time, place, path, and teacher-
guided modality of learning” (1 CCR 301-71-2.10).  Additionally, pursuant to 1 CCR 301-71-
8.02, “the determination of full-time or part-time status is based upon the minimum number 
of hours provided for a student to receive instruction. Minimum hours can be based on the 
number of hours per day (or week) required to earn an equivalent number of credits in a 
traditional classroom setting.”   

Traditional Classroom Setting Calculations 

Although Online Schools and Programs are afforded more flexibility in the manner in which 
instruction is provided, they must still meet the same scheduled hours requirements as a 
traditional classroom setting. In a traditional brick-and-mortar setting, districts must 
complete a calendar calculation. The purpose of a calendar calculation is to demonstrate, 
based on the number of scheduled student contact days in a given school year, the average 
number of minutes per instructional day necessary to meet full- or part-time funding 
thresholds. In addition to a calendar calculation, districts must conduct a bell schedule 
calculation in order to determine the amount of instructional time associated with each 
scheduled semester course or period. 

• For example, a district semester class that averages 55 minutes per day of instruction 
(based on the bell schedule calculation) would provide between 70 to 85 hours of 
instructional time, based upon the number of scheduled student contact days in the 
semester of the pupil enrollment count date. 

 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
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When determining funding eligibility, brick-and-mortar schools then evaluate each individual 
student schedule by applying minutes per period as evidenced on the bell schedule to 
determine the minutes per day on average the student is receiving instruction.  

• Following the general rule described above, a student’s schedule would require 5 of 
these “typical” classes in order to qualify for full-time funding (because 4 classes at 
85 hours per class would result in 340 hours of instruction, which would be insufficient 
to meet the full-time threshold).  

Equivalent Calculations for Online Schools and Programs 

When evaluating courses, Online Schools and Programs should work closely with their 
Authorizer to determine the appropriate equivalent instructional time (i.e., an “equivalency 
statement”) for the same or similar courses offered in a brick-and-mortar setting within the 
same district. During this process, Online Schools and Programs (and their Authorizer) should 
consider:   

• A time equivalency is meant to emulate the amount of instructional time a student 
would receive within a classroom if taking the same or similar course in a brick-and-
mortar school, so online instructional time and brick-and-mortar instructional time 
should be reasonably aligned.  

o Online courses which offer total instructional time within 10% of their brick-
and-mortar equivalent will be considered “reasonably aligned.” 
 Passing periods should not be included when creating an equivalency to 

a brick-and-mortar course. 
o Similar to brick-and-mortar courses, online course equivalencies should NOT 

include any coursework time that would have occurred outside the classroom in 
a brick-and-mortar setting (e.g., homework). 
 For example, if a student taking classes in a brick-and-mortar setting 

were scheduled for 75 hours of direct instructional time in the 
classroom, and completes an additional 15 hours working independently 
on assignments and projects outside of the classroom, only the 75 
classroom hours of instructional time would count toward the 360 hours 
needed for full-time funding (not the total 90 hours).  As such, the 
appropriate equivalency for the same or similar online course would be 
75 hours, not 90. 

• An online course should be structured so that students would be provided with an 
opportunity to successfully master the same breadth of learning provided to a student 
if the same class were offered in an in-person, on-site environment. By collaborating 
with the authorizing body, an Online School or Program would receive meaningful 
feedback to ensure that course designs offer such comparable breadth to in-person 
courses as well as building reasonable assurance that opportunities for achieving 
mastery are comparable. 

• Like brick-and-mortal schools, not all courses necessarily receive the same time 
equivalency. For example, in a brick-and-mortar setting, courses such as homeroom, 
orientation, required advisement periods, etc. may have fewer scheduled teacher-
pupil instruction and contact minutes per day; therefore, the Online School or 
Program should use an appropriate time equivalency for all courses. 



 Online Schools and Programs Page 70 of 118 

 This Guide is to be read as a whole  

o Courses for which students do not receive credit on their transcripts may be 
considered in the determination for funding with an appropriate time 
equivalency.   

o The publishing of course documentation at the beginning of the school year 
with defined course equivalency will provide greater assurance as to the 
reasonableness of the course equivalency assigned. 

• Postsecondary courses are never subject to an equivalency calculation; these courses 
will only be assessed based on college credit hours as described in the Postsecondary 
Courses and Programs section of this guide.  

Additional Documentation Requirements 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o Proof of Colorado Residency (POR) must be dated within 365 days preceding 

or on the applicable count date 
 This document requirement is deemed met if the district is able to 

provide appropriate evidence of regular in-person, on-site attendance. 
• Daily Attendance 

o Authorizer Assurances 
 When submitting the Authorizer Assurances, the Authorizer must provide 

local board policy defining and describing the activities that may be 
considered participation in the education process for the purpose of 
establishing attendance in the Online School or Program. 

 The Authorizer must also provide samples of documentation that will be 
used to demonstrate students have met the attendance requirement to 
CDE’s Office of Blended and Online Learning.  

o Attendance/participation documentation 
 This may be evidenced by attendance on the count date. In the event 

the student did not attend or participate on the count date, 
documentation evidencing attendance or participation during the 
current school year prior to the applicable count date and within 30 days 
following the count date is acceptable. 

 At the time of the funding audit, the School Auditing Office will only 
consider the same type of documentation as that which was submitted 
as a sample along with the Authorizer Assurances and local board policy. 

• Individual Student Schedule for all online students (regardless of grade level) 
o Individual student schedule 

 Individual student schedules should include the entire first semester 
(which may include the fall semester, Quarters 1 and 2, Hexters 1, 2, 
and 3, etc.) 

o Course Documentation 
 For each course code and name that appears on a student’s schedule 

(and which is to be used in the determination of funding), the district 
must be prepared to provide course documentation which includes, at a 
minimum: 

• Assigned semester credit hours (for students in grades 9-12)  
• Equivalent instructional time (i.e., an equivalency statement as to 

instructional hours per semester) 
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 A semester is defined as one-half of the school year; 
therefore, this is calculated by determining the total 
number of scheduled student contact days (as evidenced by 
the appropriate calendar) and dividing by two. 

• A description of the course content with sufficient information so 
that a reasonable individual would have enough understanding of 
the material covered to understand the overall breadth of the 
course. 
 If a course is to be used in the determination of funding, an 

entry is required even if no credits are awarded (e.g., zero-
credit courses, pass/fail courses, etc.) 

 If a singular document (such as a course catalog, vendor course 
guidebook, student handbook, etc.) does not contain all of the required 
course information, supplemental documents which contain the missing 
information may be provided. 

o Calendar 
 Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-71-8.03, an Online School or Program “must have 

a calendar that reasonably aligns with the beginning date of the school 
year of the Authorizer that operates it or has been approved for an 
alternate calendar by the Authorizer and the Department.” The 
calendar should demonstrate which days are teacher-pupil instruction 
and student contact days. The calendar should also identify any non-
contact days (weekends, teacher work days, scheduled holidays, etc.) 
for both terms.  

Helpful Hints 

• Colorado resident students, temporarily living outside of Colorado with their parent or 
guardian, are eligible to enroll in an Online School or Program if appropriate 
documentation evidencing Colorado residency is provided (e.g., Colorado voter 
registration, documentation supporting payment of Colorado taxes, or other 
comparable documentation supporting residency in the state of Colorado).  In such 
cases, the absence from the state must be temporary with the intention of the family 
to return to Colorado. 

• Online Schools and Programs are encouraged to review the Duplicate Count section 
(Appendix B) of this Guide, as the documentation requirements for Duplicate Count 
may exceed the requirements detailed above. 

• Students enrolled in Colorado public Online Schools and Programs may participate in 
Work-Based Learning courses; however, these courses are not considered Alternative 
Instruction courses (as the rules for Alternative Instruction only apply to brick-and-
mortar students). For online students, these courses do not need to be incorporated 
into a student’s ICAP. 
 

Reference 
CRS 22-30.7-105. 
CRS 22-30.7-106(2). 
CRS 22-30.7-107. 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=8708&fileName=1%20CCR%20301-71
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J31Y-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-30.7-105&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J320-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-30.7-106&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C4N-3013-RS2V-74VD-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-30.7-107&context=1000516
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CRS 22-54-103(8.5) and 103(10)(a)(I) and 103(10)(e.5). 
1 CCR 301-71 
CDE Online and Blended Learning Resources website 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2981&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-71
http://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/resources
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P-TECH (Pathways in Technology Early College High School) 

What is Unique? 

A Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH) is a secondary school or 
program that provides its students the opportunity to earn simultaneously a high school 
diploma and an industry-recognized Associate’s degree, while also receiving relevant 
workplace skills in the form of internships, pre-apprenticeships, and other workplace 
educational experiences through partnership with high-growth industry employers.   

If a district offers a P-TECH program within a school, the school may include a mix of 
students who are in the P-TECH program and students who are not. The district must ensure 
that students are tracked and coded appropriately. 

Because P-TECH students may be taking a combination of courses and work-based learning 
opportunities offered by both the district and an Institution of Higher Education (IHE), the 
funding and documentation requirements for students enrolled in a P-TECH school or 
program vary from those students participating in Concurrent Enrollment and/or those 
attending an Early College not associated with P-TECH. 

For more information, including a current list of all approved P-TECH programs and schools, 
visit the Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness Office’s P-TECH website 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/p-tech). 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements: 

In addition to the enrollment and attendance requirements for all students, the way in 
which funding eligibility is determined for P-TECH students will vary depending on the year 
in which the student is in school and the type of courses being taken. 

Students in grades 9 through 12 (P-TECH students in their first four years of high school)  

• High school courses only in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date: 
o Full-time funding: 360+ semester hours of instructional time 
o Part-time funding: at least 90 semester hours, but less than 360 hours, of 

instructional time 
• Post-secondary college courses only in the semester of the pupil enrollment count 

date: 
o Full-time funding: 12+ semester credit hours 
o Part-time funding: 3-11 semester credit hours 

• Both high school and postsecondary college courses in the semester of the pupil 
enrollment count date: 

o In order to receive full-time funding, students enrolled in both high school and 
post-secondary courses must meet one of the following funding requirements: 
 Full-time funding requirement met with all high school courses, or 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/p-tech
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 Full-time funding requirement met with all courses offered through the 
IHE, or 

 Part-time funding requirement met with high school courses and part-
time funding requirement met with postsecondary courses offered 
through the IHE 

o In order to receive part-time funding, students must meet one of the 
requirements for part-time funding discussed above (i.e., 90 semester hours at 
the high school or 3-11 credit hours through the IHE). 

5th and 6th Year P-TECH Students: 

• Students enrolled in their 5th or 6th year of high school (as determined by a student’s 
Anticipated Year of Graduation--AYG) at a P-TECH school or program are eligible for 
full-time funding if they are scheduled for a minimum of one class in the semester of 
the pupil enrollment count date. 

o A class may include any course or work-based learning opportunity, offered or 
facilitated by the district or an Institution of Higher Education, in which a 
student is receiving credit toward meeting the P-TECH school or program 
graduation requirements. 
 Work-based learning courses include, but are not limited to, work study, 

work experience, internships, apprenticeships, etc. 
o In order to include a class in the determination for funding, all applicable 

course-level requirements must still be met per the course type, as described 
elsewhere in the Guide 

Documentation 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) from the 
district or employer, except 

o Attendance verification is not required if the student is taking postsecondary 
courses only, including work-based learning courses facilitated by the IHE. 

• Individual Student Schedule 
o Secondary PTECH courses must meet all applicable requirements for their 

course type in order to be considered for funding (e.g., a course that meets the 
definition of alternative instruction courses must meet all requirements in that 
section) 

o Any other applicable documentation (depending on the course type) 
o If the student is taking postsecondary courses:  

 Tuition Payment Verification (from the district/school to the IHE) 
 College Credit Hour Verification (from the IHE) 
 Agreement between district (including P-TECH school or program) and 

the IHE 

Helpful Hints 

• A student’s “year” of high school is determined using the student’s assigned 
Anticipated Year of Graduation (AYG). 
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• Districts must verify P-TECH coding and P-TECH transfer eligibility with the Office of 
Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness, especially for new P-TECH programs with 
students enrolling for the 12th grade year (i.e., 4th year of high school). 

• Fall semester postsecondary courses offered through an IHE which are not “in session” 
on the applicable count date (i.e., those that begin and end prior to the count date, 
or those that begin after the count date and end prior to the end of the fall semester) 
may be included for funding. 

o For courses beginning after the count date and finishing prior to the end of the 
fall semester, the student must be enrolled and scheduled for the course as of 
the count date. 

o Although attendance is not required for postsecondary courses, students taking 
high school courses must still meet the attendance requirement, even if they 
are also taking courses offered by the IHE.  

• As with all other postsecondary courses that need to be evaluated based on credit 
hours, only those courses for which the district directly paid all tuition costs to the 
IHE will be considered in the determination of funding level. 

Reference 

CRS 22-35.3-101. 
HB 15-1270 
HB 17-1194 
SB 19-176 
CDE P-TECH website 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J38F-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-35.3-101&context=1000516
https://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2015a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/4F14B4BA0DF5D8B887257DDD005FC4E1?Open&file=1270_enr.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2017A/bills/2017a_1194_enr.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_176_signed.pdf
http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/p-tech
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Unique Student Types 

With limited exceptions, all students submitted for funding in the state of Colorado must 
meet the same enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours requirements. However, the 
documentation required to demonstrate those requirements have been met may vary for 
certain student types. The following sections describe these students and identify any 
additional documentation requirements necessary to submit them for funding. 
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Expelled Students 

What is Unique? 

Typically, a student who has been expelled receives educational services at a location other 
than the school where they were attending prior to expulsion. Expelled students may be 
eligible for funding if the district is providing educational services to the student as of the 
applicable count date. Expelled students must still meet the same enrollment and 
attendance requirements as all other students; however, the schedule used to determine 
funding-level eligibility will vary depending on when the student last attended a district 
school prior to expulsion.  

The way in which the district documents funding eligibility may vary for expelled students. 
Depending on the type of instruction being delivered to expelled students (e.g., direct, 
alternative, etc.), the district is responsible for ensuring all funding and audit 
documentation requirements are met. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements: 

The student schedule used to determine funding level eligibility for expelled students will be 
dependent on when the student is expelled and whether the student established attendance 
in or outside of the expelled program during the current school year, prior to the count date. 

Scenario 1: 

Students expelled prior to the start of the school year who remained expelled at least 
through the count date: 

• These students have not attended their primary school during the current school year 
(prior to the count date), and have only participated in an expelled program or 
through expelled services. 

• Funding level is determined based on the scheduled instructional time the student is 
scheduled to receive in the expelled program or through expelled services. 

• Attendance documentation from the expelled program demonstrating participation in 
expelled services on the count date (or, alternatively, before the count date and 
within 30 days following the count date) should be provided at audit. 

Scenario 2: 

Students expelled after the start of the school year on or within 30 days following the count 
date (this includes students who were suspended out-of-school during the attendance 
documentation date range, awaiting an expulsion hearing): 

• These students have established attendance at a district school during the current 
school year (prior to the count date), but did not meet the attendance requirement at 
the district school on or within 30 days following the count date. 
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• Funding level is determined based upon the scheduled instructional time as evidenced 
by the student’s schedule at the time of expulsion. 

• Attendance documentation should be provided from both the district school (prior to 
expulsion) AND from the expelled program or expelled services (on the count date or 
within 30 days following the count date). 

o The district should attempt to start expelled services within 30 days following 
the applicable count date in order for the student to meet the attendance 
requirements for funding (i.e., resume attendance within 30 days following the 
applicable count date). 

Scenario 3: 

Students returning from expulsion prior to the applicable count date: 

• These students will be evaluated similarly to all other students and must meet the 
same funding requirements as all other students. These students should not be 
reported as expelled during the Student October data submission. 

• Funding level is determined based upon the scheduled instructional time as evidenced 
by the student’s schedule as of the applicable count date. 

• Attendance documentation should be provided demonstrating the student met the 
attendance requirement. 

o To demonstrate the attendance requirement has been met, it may be necessary 
(based on a student’s circumstances) to provide a combination of documents 
from both the district school and the expelled program or expelled services. 

Documentation 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation. 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
o Districts should be prepared to provide appropriate attendance documentation 

from all applicable district schools and/or programs which were providing 
educational services to the expelled student (including programs, alternative 
schools, etc.) showing that the requirements have been met. 

• Individual Student Schedule 
o All applicable documentation (depending on the instructional type, e.g., 

direct, alternative, IEP considerations, etc.) 
 In some cases, the student’s schedule may include a description and 

frequency of direct expelled educational services being delivered to the 
student (i.e., days/times for scheduled tutoring sessions, etc.) 

 For example, if an expelled student is scheduled to receive in-home 
tutoring 2 hours every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for a total of 6 
hours per week, this would be the student’s schedule. 

Helpful Hints 

• Expelled educational services can be provided or offered in a variety of ways. It is 
important that the district identify the types of services being offered in order to 
ensure that the students receiving these services meet the enrollment, attendance, 
and scheduled hours requirements necessary for funding eligibility, and to identify the 
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appropriate documentation necessary to demonstrate that these criteria have been 
met. 

Reference 

CRS 22-33-203 
1 CCR 301-39(5.03)(2)(b) 
1 CCR 301-39(5.07) 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/62PC-0NS3-GXJ9-30T6-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-203&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Foreign Exchange Students 

What is Unique? 

Depending on the type of exchange program through which a student is attending a Colorado 
public school, the student may or may not be required to pay tuition to the district providing 
educational services. Foreign exchange students with a J-1 visa who are enrolled through a 
sponsor organization, as designated by the U.S. Department of State, do not pay tuition and 
are therefore eligible for funding. Conversely, a student on an F-1 visa (who receives Form I-
20) must pay tuition, and is therefore not eligible for funding. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements: 

The enrollment, attendance, and scheduling requirements for foreign exchange students are 
the same as they are for all students. 

Documentation: 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation. 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
• Individual Student Schedule 
• Evidence of a J-1 student visa. This may include documentation from the sponsor 

organization as designated by the U.S. Department of State. 
o A student passport is not adequate documentation for evidencing visa type, 

unless it indicates the type of visa on which the student has entered the 
country. 

Helpful Hints 

• Students who reside in Colorado with their parent(s) and/or guardian(s) on a 
temporary visa are not considered foreign exchange and are eligible for funding 
without additional documentation. 

• Examples of Colorado residency include Colorado voter registration, documentation 
supporting payment of Colorado taxes, or other comparable documentation 
supporting residency in the state of Colorado. 

Reference 

US Department of State BridgeUSA website 

  

https://j1visa.state.gov/


 Home-Bound Students Page 81 of 118 

 This Guide is to be read as a whole  

Home-Bound Students 

What is Unique? 

A home-bound student receives educational services at a location other than a school district 
building (e.g., student’s home, hospital, etc.) because the student is not able to physically 
attend school. This includes students who cannot physically attend due to a temporary or 
permanent illness, hospitalization, medical or mental health impairment or condition, or due 
to an expelled or incarcerated status.  For funding purposes, home-bound status is 
determined by the district’s IEP or 504 team; a student who is voluntarily home-bound (even 
at the recommendation of a doctor), without supporting documentation from the IEP or 504 
team, would be evaluated based on the actual services or instruction provided. 

Home-bound students may be eligible for funding if the district is providing educational 
services to the student as of the applicable count date. Home-bound students must still 
meet the same enrollment and attendance requirements as all other students; however, the 
schedule used to determine funding-level eligibility will vary depending on when the student 
last attended a district school prior to starting home-bound services.  

The way in which the district documents funding eligibility may vary for home-bound 
students. Depending on the type of instruction being delivered to home-bound students 
(e.g., direct, alternative, etc.), the district is responsible for ensuring all funding and audit 
documentation requirements are met. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements   

The student schedule used to determine funding-level eligibility for home-bound students 
will be dependent on when the student began receiving home-bound services and whether 
the student established attendance in a program other than the home-bound program during 
the current school year, prior to the applicable count date. 

Scenario 1 

Students receiving home-bound services from the start of the school year and through at 
least the applicable count date: 

• These students have not attended at a district school building during the current 
school year (prior to the count date), and have only received education through 
home-bound services. 

• Funding level is determined based on the instructional time the student is scheduled 
to receive while home-bound. 

• Attendance documentation from the home-bound program showing the student 
established attendance on the count date (or, alternatively, before the count date and 
within 30 days following the count date) should be provided at the time of audit. 
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Scenario 2 

Students starting home-bound services after the start of the school year but on or within 30 
days following the count date: 

• These students have established attendance at a district school building during the 
current school year (prior to the count date), but did not meet the attendance 
requirement on or within 30 days following the count date at the district school 
building. 

• Funding level is determined based upon the scheduled instructional time as evidenced 
by the student’s schedule at the time the student began receiving home-bound 
services. 

• Attendance documentation should be provided from both the district school (prior to 
beginning home-bound services) AND from the home-bound services provider (on the 
count date or within 30 days following the count date). 

Scenario 3 

Students stopping home-bound services prior to the count date: 

• These students will be evaluated similarly to all other students and must meet the 
same funding requirements as all other students.  

• Funding level is determined based upon the scheduled instructional time as evidenced 
by the student’s schedule as of the applicable count date. 

• Attendance documentation should be provided demonstrating the student met the 
attendance requirement. 

o To demonstrate the attendance requirement has been met, it may be necessary 
(based on a student’s circumstances) to provide a combination of documents 
from both the district school or program and the home-bound services provider. 

Documentation: 

Since home-bound services may vary, the enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours 
documentation provided by the district must align with the services provided to each 
student. 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range or longer, if 

necessary) 
o If the student was receiving home-bound services through an online program or 

home-bound tutoring, the district must provide the appropriate online or 
home-bound attendance documentation, such as log-ins and/or tutor logs. 

o In some cases, the district may need to provide multiple types of attendance to 
show the student met the requirements (e.g., SIS attendance report prior to, 
and tutor logs after, a student’s designation as home-bound). 

• Individual Student Schedule 
o All applicable documentation (depending on the instructional type, e.g., 

direct, alternative, IEP considerations, etc.) 
 In some cases, the student’s schedule may include a description and 

frequency of direct home-bound educational services (i.e., days/times 
for scheduled tutoring sessions, etc.) 
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• For example, if a home-bound student is scheduled for tutoring 2 
hours every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for a total of 6 hours 
per week, this would be the student’s schedule. 

Helpful Hints 

• If a student establishes attendance in the current school year prior to the count date 
and then is absent on the applicable count date awaiting home-bound services, the 
district should attempt to start those services within 30 days following the applicable 
count date in order for the student to meet the attendance requirements for funding 
(i.e., resume attendance within 30 days following the applicable count date). 

• Students may be considered “home-bound” and receiving services through a home-
bound program for a variety of reasons, such as receiving services as outlined in an 
IEP, illness, expulsion, incarceration, injury, etc. 

Reference 

1 CCR 301-39(1.09) 
1 CCR 301-39(5.03)(2)(c) 
1 CCR 301-39(5.07) 
  

https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Home-School and Private School Students 

What is Unique? 

A home-school student is a pupil receiving education under a non-public, home-based 
educational program where the parent or guardian (not the district) has taken on the 
primary responsibility for providing the student’s education in a home setting. A private 
school student is a pupil enrolled in an independent or parochial school. School districts can 
submit these students for funding if they are also enrolled in and receiving instruction part-
time from a Colorado public school (and provided they meet all other funding requirements). 
For these students, the parent, guardian, or private school has taken on primary 
responsibility for providing the student’s education; therefore, districts are limited in the 
amount of funding that they can receive for a home-school and private school students. 

Home-school students may receive services from a public school district in a variety of ways. 
Examples include, but are not limited to, students enrolled in limited courses at a local 
public school, students attending a “home-school enrichment program” run by (or offered 
through) a Colorado public school, etc.   

Note: To qualify for funding, a student must be able to attend the home-school enrichment 
program without required participation in a tuition-based non-public school.  

Home-school and private school students are eligible for a maximum of part-time funding 
statewide. If a home-school student is receiving part-time services from multiple districts, 
the student may only be submitted for part-time funding by one district. For additional 
information, refer to Appendix B of this Guide. 

Home-school and private school students receiving no educational services through the 
district are not eligible for funding. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

In addition to the enrollment and attendance requirements for all students, the following 
additional requirements apply to this student type: 

Schedule 

• If a home-school or private school student is receiving some regular education 
services provided by the district, the student may be eligible for a maximum of part-
time funding. Further, part-time funding will be determined based on the type of 
courses or services the student is receiving: 

o Home-school and private school students who are enrolled in Concurrent 
Enrollment courses are limited to a maximum of part-time funding, even when 
they are enrolled for 12 or more CE credit hours. 

o Home-school students and private schools students in their 5th year and beyond 
who are enrolled in Concurrent Enrollment courses are subject to the same 
course restrictions as other students in their 5th year of high school and beyond.   
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• Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-39, rule 2.05, only secondary students (grades 6-12) and 
homebound K-5 students are eligible to include alternative instruction courses in the 
determination of funding level. 

o To qualify for funding, alternative instruction courses must be credit-bearing. 
o Home-school and private school students (i.e., those students reported with a 

funding code of 85) in grades K-5 must receive at least 90 hours of direct 
instruction in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date in order to 
qualify for funding. 

Documentation: 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
o For students participating in a district-operated home-school enrichment 

program or school, attendance beyond the attendance documentation date 
range may be necessary, depending on the frequency in which the students 
attend these programs or schools.  
 For example, if a program meets once during the attendance 

documentation date range and not on the count date, attendance 
outside the attendance documentation date range will be needed to 
show this requirement has been met. 

o For 100% in-person, on-site courses, only days of direct instruction may be used 
as attendance days for the purposes of showing that the attendance 
requirements have been met. 

o For elementary home-school and private school students receiving educational 
services at a district school, if the student attends after attendance has been 
taken for the day (e.g., the student comes in for afternoon “specials” and 
attendance is only taken in the morning), the district may need to collect 
additional evidence of attendance for the student. 

• Individual Student Schedule 
o For all home-school and private school students, including elementary 

students receiving educational services at a district school, a student 
schedule or other documentation will be necessary at the time of audit 
evidencing the days and times the student was expected to attend, as this may 
not be captured in the district’s Student Information System. 

• If the district is contracting with a third party to provide educational services to 
students, the district will be responsible for ensuring funding and documentation 
requirements have been met.  

Helpful Hints 

• The terms “home-based,” “home-study,” and “home-school” are sometimes used 
interchangeably and may vary by district. However, these students are not the same 
as “home-bound” students (whose educational services are the primary responsibility 
of the district that may be provided at the student’s home, hospital, or other off-site 
location). 

• Only teacher-led instruction may be considered as instructional time for funding 
purposes; instruction being provided by parents (including that which is delivered 
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“under the supervision of” teachers) may not be included in the calculation of 
instructional time. 

Reference 

CRS 22-33-104.5(6)(a). 
1 CCR 301-39(1.10) 
1 CCR 301-39(1.14) 
1 CCR 301-39(2.05)(1)(c)(V) 
1 CCR 301-39(5.06)(2), et seq. 
CDE Homeschool in Colorado website 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C45-1HY3-RT0C-2000-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-104.5&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
http://www.cde.state.co.us/choice/homeschool
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Δ Individualized Education Program (IEP) Students 

What is Unique? 

Every child with a disability who attends public school and receives special education and 
related services must have an Individualized Education Program (IEP). An IEP is a document 
uniquely designed for one specific student, with the intention of improving educational 
results for that child. Each IEP must be created in compliance with the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and, in Colorado, the Exceptional Children’s Education Act 
(ECEA). 

In almost all circumstances, students who have an IEP must meet the same enrollment, 
attendance, and scheduled hours requirements as all other students.  However, there are 
some special considerations that must be made when reporting these students for funding.  

Secondary Transition (18 to 21-year-old Services) Students 

Secondary transition students are students receiving special education services who have an 
IEP and are accessing 18 to 21-year-old services through the school district. To qualify for 
funding, the district must include a transition student’s IEP that is dated on or prior to the 
pupil enrollment count date. For more information about the documentation requirements 
for these students, see the Secondary Transition (18 to 21-year-old Services) section of this 
Guide. 

Students with an active IEP who turn 21 during the current school year (but prior to the pupil 
enrollment count date) are eligible for funding. During an audit, the IEP should be provided 
to support funding eligibility. 

IEPs as Schedule Documentation 

An IEP will describe some or all of the educational services a student will be provided by the 
district. For some students, during the audit process the district may choose to provide an 
IEP as documentation to support a student’s scheduled hours for funding eligibility. In these 
cases, it is the district’s responsibility to ensure that the IEP contains sufficient information 
to support the funding level at which the student was reported. If the IEP does not include 
all of the educational services that a student is scheduled to receive, additional 
documentation may be required. 

For funding purposes, when evaluating the instructional time described on an IEP, only direct 
services should be included in the district’s calculations. Indirect services are not considered 
instructional time when calculating a student’s scheduled hours of instruction.  

Students Unable to Benefit from a Full-Time Schedule 

In the event a district has a student whose IEP includes language stating that the student 
would not benefit from a full-time schedule, this waives the general full-time funding 
requirement of 360 hours in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date. To be 
considered, the IEP language must be explicit and individualized in describing how the 
student’s disability affects their involvement, progress, and participation in appropriate 
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activities such that the student would not be able to meet the full-time scheduling 
requirement. 

Reference 

1 CCR 301-39(5.01)(2) 

  

https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Kindergarten Students – Special Circumstances 

What is Unique? 

Kindergarten students who are at least five years old as of October 1 of the current school 
year are eligible for a maximum of full-time funding, assuming they are enrolled in a full-day 
kindergarten program in which the student is scheduled to receive at least 360 hours of 
teacher pupil instruction and contact time in the semester of the pupil enrollment count 
date.  

There are two circumstances in which kindergarten students who do not meet the above 
criteria may still be eligible for funding: 

• Kindergarten students under the age of five as of October 1 may be eligible for 
funding, provided they meet one of the exceptions outlined below. 

• Retained kindergarten students enrolled in a half-day kindergarten program are 
eligible for full-time funding if they are retained due to a Significant Reading 
Deficiency (SRD).  

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

The enrollment, attendance, and scheduling requirements for kindergarten students are the 
same as they are for all students.  

Kindergarten Students Under the Age of 5 as of October 1 

Scenario 1 
If a kindergarten student is identified as highly advanced gifted and granted early access, 
the student is eligible for funding if the following requirements are met and the student has 
an Advanced Learning Plan (ALP) dated on or before September 30 indicating the district 
identified the student for grade acceleration: 

• Districts and multi-district members (i.e., BOCES) who have an Early Access Addendum 
filed with the Office of Gifted Education are eligible to submit these students for 
funding. 

• Students must meet the requirements of a highly advanced gifted student who has 
been granted early access into kindergarten and the district must have documentation 
to support early access. 

• Additional documentation (beyond the ALP) may be necessary in the event the ALP 
does not contain all required information. 

Scenario 2 
If a kindergarten student has a parent that is/was active military and the student was 
enrolled in kindergarten during the current school year outside of Colorado, the student 
may be eligible for funding if any of the following requirements apply:   

http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt
http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt/data
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• The student’s parent is active military, and the student has been transferred into a 
Colorado school district because of military orders (either living with the parent or 
living with the guardian while parent is on active military duty), OR 

• The student’s parent was active military and has been medically discharged or 
retired, and the student has been transferred into a Colorado school district as a 
result of this discharge or retirement (valid for one year after medical discharge or 
retirement), OR 

• The student’s parent was active military and died on active duty or as a result of an 
injury sustained on active duty, and the student has been transferred into a Colorado 
school district as a result of this death (valid for one year after death). 

Retained Kindergarten Students Enrolled in a Half-day Kindergarten Program 

If a student is retained for a second year of kindergarten due to a Significant Reading 
Deficiency (SRD) identified by the district, the student is eligible for full-time funding (even 
if enrolled in a half-day kindergarten program) as long as the student is scheduled for a 
minimum of 90 semester hours of instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment 
count date. 

Documentation  

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
• For Highly Advanced Gifted/Early Access Students: 

o An Advanced Learning Plan (ALP) dated on or before September 30 indicating 
the district identified the student for grade acceleration (additional 
documentation may be necessary in the event the ALP does not contain all 
required information) 

• For students whose parent is/was active military: 
o Enrollment documentation from the previous school for the current school year, 

AND 
 Copy of active military orders effective as of the applicable count date, 

OR 
 Copy of medical discharge, retirement papers, or death certificate 

evidencing cause of death that resulted from being on active duty or 
from injuries sustained while on active duty dated within one year 

• Retained Kindergarten Students: 
o Documentation dated on or before June 30 of the previous school year 

evidencing that the district notified the student’s parent/guardian that the 
student would be retained, in whole or in part, due to a Significant Reading 
Deficiency (SRD). 
 Many local boards of education adopted policies ILBC and ILBC-R 

requiring the written notification 
 Retained kindergarten students with an SRD should have been reported 

as a retained kindergartner with an SRD in the READ Act data submission 
during the prior school year. 
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Reference 

CRS 22-7-1207. 
CRS 22-54-103(10)(b)(I) and (II). 
1 CCR 301-39(5.05)(2) 
HB19-1262 
CDE READ Act Data Collection website 
CDE Gifted Education website 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J2HD-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-7-1207&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/6C3P-H4Y3-S0C7-04JB-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-54-103&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2019a_1262_signed.pdf
https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/per_read_springassessments
http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt
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Δ Secondary Transition Students (18 to 21-Year-Old Services) 

What is Unique? 

Secondary transition students who have an Individualized Education Program (IEP) and are 
accessing 18-21-year-old-services through the school district are unique because they have 
ongoing secondary transition needs identified by the IEP team. Because secondary transition 
services for students 18 to 21 years of age are designed to meet the individual needs of the 
student on an IEP, the types of services being delivered may vary by student and/or district. 
As a result, the way in which districts document funding eligibility (i.e., enrollment, 
attendance, and scheduled hours) for students receiving 18- to 21-year-old services is likely 
to be different than documentation provided for general education students. 

The following funding eligibility exceptions are common with secondary transition students 
accessing 18- to 21-year-old services: 

• A student may have met their district’s graduation requirements; however, because 
the student has an active IEP, the student may still be eligible to receive services as 
well as funding. 

• A student may be 21 years old as of the applicable count date, as long as they turned 
21 in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

Secondary transition students must otherwise meet the same general attendance and 
schedule requirements as all other students; however, there are special considerations for 
certain course types for secondary transition students. 

Δ Work-Based Learning Courses  

Work experience courses for students receiving 18 to 21-year-old services may be used in the 
determination for funding if one of the following apply: 

• Directly-supported special education service time attributed to work hours (i.e., 
actual hours in which the secondary transition team staff are on-site or working 
directly with students) may be used on an “hour-for-hour” basis in determining 
funding eligibility. This time is categorized as Direct Instruction. 

o Transition team staff, in this case, can include a district employee or a 
contractor paid by the district. 

• Work experiences that are not directly supported by staff, but meet the requirements 
of a Work-Based Learning Course will be evaluated as an Alternative Teacher-Pupil 
Instruction Course, using an instructional time equivalency based on high school 
credits earned rather than on an “hour-for-hour” basis.  See Appendix A for more 
information.  
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Δ Concurrent Enrollment courses 

Students receiving secondary transition 18- to 21-year-old services are eligible to participate 
in Concurrent Enrollment. Pursuant to SB24-188, secondary transition students are not 
limited in the number of Concurrent Enrollment courses they can take while receiving 18 to 
21-year-old services (provided the student’s active IEP contains all required information as 
described below).   

• Postsecondary Transition Plan 
o Measurable Post-School Goals:  

 Identify the pursued postsecondary education pathway as the 
Education/Training postsecondary goal. 

o Planned Course of Study:  
 Identify the postsecondary courses the student will take during the IEP 

timeframe; and 
 Identify requirements to begin and/or complete the pursued pathway 

(including the required courses). 
o Transition Services and Activities:  

 Services written within Education/Instruction and Related Services, 
Career/Employment and other Post-School Adult Living Objectives, 
and/or Community Experiences  

 Services and/or activities that promote access and progress towards the 
identified postsecondary education pathway/concurrent enrollment 
courses. 

• Service Delivery Statement  
o Special education and/or related services that enable the student to advance 

appropriately toward attaining postsecondary annual goals. 
o Note: This means that to include CE courses in their schedule for funding 

purposes, secondary transition students must also be receiving related special 
education services at the district as of the applicable count date.  

Documentation 

In order to determine the appropriate documentation to evidence the funding requirements 
have been met for secondary transition students, districts should know the types and 
methods of instructional delivery. 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation. 
o If a student is 21 years old as of the count date, districts must also provide an 

IEP service delivery page showing that the service delivery dates encompass the 
applicable count date. 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
o Due to the unique nature of the services delivered, attendance documentation 

generated from the district’s student information system may not be adequate. 
The district will need to determine the appropriate attendance documentation. 

o Δ As a reminder, Alternative Instruction courses may require additional 
documentation to demonstrate attendance requirements have been met. 

• Individualized Education Program (IEP) with services that encompass the count date 
• Individual Student Schedule 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024A/bills/2024a_188_enr.pdf
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o Appropriate documentation showing the student’s actual scheduled 
instructional time. The determination of funding level will be based only on the 
actual time in which the student is scheduled to receive instruction and/or 
educational services. The district will need to determine the appropriate 
documentation to evidence each student’s unique schedule. 
 Only those courses for which the district is incurring the cost of the 

student’s tuition may be included as instructional time in the 
determination of funding level. 

o In the event the district provides an IEP to evidence a student’s schedule, the 
IEP should show that the service dates encompass the applicable count date. 
Further, the IEP should provide sufficient detail to distinguish between directly-
supported instruction, Alternative Instruction, and postsecondary courses (as 
described in this Guide). 

o Any other applicable documentation (depending on the course type, e.g., 
Concurrent Enrollment, work-based learning, IEP considerations, etc.) 

• Secondary transition program calendar and bell schedule  

Helpful Hints 

• If a secondary transition student’s IEP states that the district will provide 
transportation, this amount of time would not be included in the determination of 
full- or part-time funding, unless the transportation time is part of the student’s 
instructional day. 

o Transporting students from home to school and school to home is not part of 
the instructional day. However, once the student is at school, if the 
instructional day for the secondary transition student includes providing 
transportation for group activities during the day, then it may be appropriate to 
include this time in the determination of scheduled instructional time. 

o Generally, “lunch” is not part of the instructional day; however, if part of the 
secondary transition student’s instructional day includes learning how to 
prepare meals or order at restaurants, and these educational activities are part 
of the student’s instructional day, then it may be appropriate to include this 
time in the determination of scheduled instructional time. 

• Δ Indirect services (as described on an IEP) are neither direct instruction, nor 
Alternative Instruction courses, and as such cannot be included in the determination 
of funding. 

Reference 

Secondary Transition: Special Education Services for Youth Ages 15-21 
18-21 Secondary Transition Eligibility and IEP Guidance for Concurrent Enrollment  
Technical Assistance: Concurrent Enrollment for Students with Disabilities  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/transition
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/secondary_transition
https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/ta_concurrentenroll
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Δ Transfer Enrollment Exception Students  

Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, pursuant to SB 25-125, the following rules: 3.04; 
5.04; and 5.12(6) have been removed from 1 CCR 301-39.  As such, students no longer 
qualify for funding as transfer enrollment exception students. To qualify for funding, all 
students must be enrolled and attending in their reporting district on or prior to the 
applicable pupil enrollment count date, regardless of whether the student has transferred 
from another district or moved to Colorado from another state or country during the 5 school 
days following the count date during the current school year. 

  

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2025A/bills/2025a_125_enr.pdf
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Truant Students 

What is Unique? 

As with all other students, students who are at risk of being declared (or already have been 
declared) habitually truant must meet all general funding requirements, including the 
attendance requirement.  However, if the student does not attend on, or resume attendance 
within 30 days following the applicable count date, and the district determines that it is 
appropriate to file legal action to compel attendance, the student may be eligible for 
funding. 

Funding and Additional Documentation Requirements 

Requirements 

The enrollment, attendance, and scheduling requirements for truant students are the same 
as for all students. However, in the event a habitually truant student does not establish 
attendance on or within 30 days following the applicable count date, the student may still 
be eligible for funding if all of the following apply: 

• The student established attendance during the current school year, prior to the 
applicable count date, and continues to be enrolled as of the applicable count date, 
and 

• The student did not enroll in or transfer to another school or district within the 30 
days following the applicable count date, and  

• The district filed legal action during the current school year (but no more than 10 
school days following the applicable count date) to compel attendance. 

o Legal action should be a last-resort approach to address the child’s truancy 
and pursued only if a child continues to be habitually truant after the 
district has created and implemented a plan pursuant to CRS 22-33-107(3) 
to improve the child’s attendance. 

o Districts should evaluate their own truancy policies to determine if legal action 
is appropriate. 

o Legal action must be filed in the current school year to compel attendance. 
Prior year documentation will not be accepted. 

o The letter of intent to file truancy addressed to the parents/legal guardians is 
not considered adequate documentation. 

Documentation 

• Evidence of Enrollment Eligibility 
o This may be evident on the daily attendance documentation 

• Daily Attendance (for the entire attendance documentation date range) 
o Documentation from the current school year evidencing that the student 

established attendance in the district prior to the applicable count date, AND 

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/65N1-8463-GXF6-841V-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-107&context=1000516
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o Truancy documentation evidencing legal action during the current year that has 
been filed no later than 10 school days following the applicable count date. 
Examples of legal action include, but are not limited to: 
 A diversion agreement between the court and the student 
 Filing a Petition to Compel Attendance with the court and served with a 

summons to the student and parent or legal guardian 
 Proof of Service showing that the parent or legal guardian has received 

the petition and summons 
 Proof of an ongoing court case showing that the student is not complying 

with the order to compel attendance and notice to the court was 
provided no later than 10 school days following the applicable count 
date 

• A letter of intent to file truancy addressed to the parents/legal 
guardians is not adequate documentation 

• Individual Student Schedule 

Reference 

CRS 22-33-104(5)(a). 
CRS 22-33-107(3). 
CRS 22-33-108. 
1 CCR 301-39(5.03)(2)(a) 
  

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/61P5-WTJ1-DYDC-J36X-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-104&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/65N1-8463-GXF6-841V-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-107&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/68CM-0BT3-GXF6-82J2-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-33-108&context=1000516
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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Appendix A:  Calendar and Bell Schedule Calculation 

Overview 

Pursuant to 1 CCR 301-39, the level of funding for which a student is eligible (as reported in 
Student October) is determined by the amount of instructional time the student is scheduled 
to receive, as evidenced by their individual student schedule, as of the pupil enrollment 
count date.   

The minimum instructional hours thresholds for funding purposes are as follows: 

• Full-Time Funding: Students must be scheduled to receive at least 360 hours of 
instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date in order to be 
eligible for full-time funding 

• Part-Time Funding: Students must be scheduled to receive at least 90, but less than 
360, hours of instructional time in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date in 
order to be eligible for part-time funding. 

• Not Eligible/No Funding: Students who, as of the pupil enrollment count date, have a 
schedule that provides for less than 90 hours of instructional time in the semester of 
the pupil enrollment count date are not eligible for funding. 

Types of Instructional Time  

Throughout this Appendix, reference to instructional time applies to both “direct teacher-
pupil instruction” and “alternative teacher-pupil instruction,” unless otherwise stated, as 
defined in 1 CCR 301-39: 

• 1.08 “Direct teacher-pupil instruction” means the organized delivery of educational 
content (aligned to state standards where applicable) for pupils enrolled in brick-and-
mortar public schools under the supervision of a licensed educator that takes place 
synchronously, when the licensed educator and the pupil are in the same physical 
location or when the licensed educator and the pupil are in the same virtual 
classroom. Direct instruction also includes engagement with educational content in 
courses, such as study hall or advisory or credit recovery lab or independent study, 
that are onsite at a scheduled time during regular school hours and for a set 
amount of time and where attendance is mandatory.  

o 1.08(1) For the purpose of these rules, “synchronous” refers to the organized 
delivery of educational content which occurs during scheduled times and 
includes real-time interactions between teacher and pupils in-person, by 
video, or by phone 

• “Alternative teacher-pupil instruction” means the organized delivery of educational 
content (aligned to state standards where applicable) for pupils enrolled in a brick-
and-mortar public school under the supervision of a licensed educator that may take 
place asynchronously. The following types of courses with alternative teacher-pupil 
instruction can be funded with appropriate documentation: independent study, work-
based learning (work-study, internships, apprenticeships), blended learning, and 
supplemental online learning. 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=2046&deptID=4&agencyID=109&deptName=Department%20of%20Education&agencyName=Colorado%20State%20Board%20of%20Education&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20301-39
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o 1.01(6) Asynchronous means the delivery of educational content designed to 
allow the teacher and the pupils to engage with the educational content at 
different times. 

Equivalent Instruction Time  

To determine equivalent instruction time for students primarily enrolled in and reported at a 
Colorado online public school or program, refer to the Online Schools and Programs section 
of this Guide.   

To determine equivalent instruction time for students enrolled in and reported at brick-and-
mortar schools, use the calendar and bell schedule calculations described below. 

Once these calculations are conducted, the brick-and-mortar school or program will know: 

• The average daily minutes of instructional time each student must be scheduled to 
receive in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date in order to meet the full-
time and part-time funding thresholds (i.e., Calendar Calculation); and 

• The average daily minutes of instructional time each class period is scheduled to 
provide (i.e., Bell Schedule Calculation). 

 

In addition to determining direct instructional time, the calendar and bell schedule 
calculations must be used as the basis for applying equivalent instructional time to courses 
using alternative instruction for students enrolled at the same school. For example, if a bell 
schedule calculation shows that each scheduled direct instruction class period averages 50 
minutes of instruction (excluding passing periods) per day at a given school, this same 
amount of (equivalent) instruction time (i.e., 50 minutes of instruction per day) will be 
applied to courses using alternative instruction at the same brick-and-mortar school. 

Note: Instructional time associated with the following only applies to courses/periods in 
which all instruction is being delivered/received on-site and in-person, and at a scheduled 
time during regular school hours and for a set amount of time and where attendance is 
mandatory 

• Passing periods between two classes, and between a class and lunch period. 
• Non-credit bearing instructional time (such as study hall, advisory, etc.) 

Note: Qualifying postsecondary courses are evaluated for funding purposes based on total 
postsecondary credit hours during the semester of the pupil enrollment count date, 
regardless of the modality of instruction (i.e., in person or online). Refer to the 
Postsecondary Course section of the Guide for additional information. 

Methods for Determining Instructional Time Hours 

The following steps outline the process the School Auditing Office uses when determining 
whether a given student meets the instructional hours thresholds for full-time and part-time 
funding. Verification of scheduled student-level instructional time (for funding purposes) by 
the Office will occur during the School Auditing Office’s Annual Audit Review and any 
subsequent expanded audit. 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_office_audit_process
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Definitions 

When reviewing the steps described to complete both a calendar and a bell schedule 
calculation, the terms listed below are defined as follows: 

• Regular Week(s):  Refers to the reoccurring use of the same bell schedule(s) during a 
“regular” or standard school week. (The examples below are illustrative and do not 
represent all possibilities.) 

o Example 1:  School or program follows the same bell schedule every day of the 
regular school week (i.e., Monday through Friday, etc.) in which every class 
period meets every day of the week for the same amount of instructional time. 

o Example 2:  School or program follows the same bell schedules every regular 
week; however, different days during the regular week have different bell 
schedules. For example: Monday/Thursday (even period) bell schedule, 
Tuesday/Friday (odd period) bell schedule, and Wednesday (all period) bell 
schedule. 

o Example 3: School or program follows the same bell schedules that rotate over 
a two-week time period (such as in the case of rotating block schedules). For 
instance, 
 Week 1: Even class periods meet Monday, Wednesday, Friday, AND Odd 

class periods meet Tuesday and Thursday; 
 Week 2:  Odd class periods meet Monday, Wednesday, Friday, AND Even 

class periods meet Tuesday and Thursday 
 

• Modified Bell Schedules: Refers to bell schedules that are followed occasionally, but 
not during every “regular” school week(s). These bell schedules are followed 
occasionally, but not weekly or biweekly. (The examples below are illustrative and do 
not represent all possibilities.) 

o Example 1- Finals bell schedule: School or program follows a different bell 
schedule during “finals” week. In these cases, the total daily instructional time 
provided by this bell schedule may be different from the total number of daily 
instructional minutes provided during “regular” week bell schedule(s), and/or 
the classes and times periods are different than what would normally occur 
during a regular week. 

o Example 2- Monthly scheduled late start day: School or program follows a 
different bell schedule the last Wednesday of each month (i.e., it has different 
start/end times, and/or the class periods that meet during this late start day 
are different compared to those that meet during a regular week Wednesday). 

Calculations 

Calendar and bell schedule calculations must be completed for all secondary schools, as well 
as any district-run or contracted program (including home-school enrichment programs) or 
educational services provided for any funded students in grades K-12.   
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Conducting a Calendar Calculation 

The purpose of the calendar calculation is to determine the average number of minutes per 
day of instructional time a student must be scheduled to receive in order to reach both the 
full-time and part-time funding thresholds. This calculation may vary by school and program 
within a given district if the total number of scheduled student contact days differs, or if the 
given school’s or program’s use of modified bell schedules results in lost minutes. 

Step 1:  Determine the number of student contact days in the semester. 

To begin the calendar calculation, the district must determine the number of scheduled 
student contact days during the semester of the pupil enrollment count date.  

1. Evaluate the corresponding calendar to identify the total number of scheduled 
student contact days (whole or partial) for the entire school year, including days set 
aside for testing. 

a. Do not include student non-attendance days or optional attendance days. 
b. The same number of student contact days will be used for all students within a 

given school. If the total number of school days varies by grade level, use the 
total number of scheduled student contact days for the grade level(s) that have 
the most scheduled student contact days.  

i. For example, if grades 9-11 at a given school have a total of 170 
scheduled student contact days, and grade 12 has 165 scheduled student 
contact days, use 170 scheduled student contact days for this Step. 

2. Take the total number of scheduled student contact days for the entire school year 
and divide it by 2. This will be the number of days in the semester. 

Step 2: Determine the minimum average daily minutes needed for each 
funding threshold. 

Complete the following calculations for each funding threshold: 

• Full-Time Funding: 360 hours per semester multiplied by 60 minutes per hour equals 
21,600 minutes per semester divided by the number of days in a semester (as 
determined in Step 1). 

o 360 x 60 = 21,600 minutes per semester 
o 21,600 ÷ (days in a semester) = average daily minutes  

 
• Part-Time Funding: 90 hours per semester multiplied by 60 minutes per hour equals 

5,400 minutes per semester divided by the number of days in a semester (as 
determined in Step 1). 

o 90 x 60 = 5,400 minutes per semester 
o 5,400 ÷ (days in a semester) = average daily minutes  
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Step 3: Determine the total number of yearly lost instructional minutes 
associated with modified bell schedules not used during a “regular” week. 

For purposes of this step, instructional “minutes” include all instructional “periods.”  For 
direct instruction courses, instructional periods also include allowable passing periods 
offered during the entire instructional day. Regardless of instructional type (direct or 
alternative), instructional time excludes time set aside for lunch, the passing period directly 
following a lunch period, and any other non-instructional periods in which attendance is not 
mandatory. 

1. Determine the number of instructional minutes per day during a regular week. 
2. Determine the number of “lost” instructional minutes per instructional day (not class 

period) for modified bell schedules (i.e., bell schedules that are not followed during a 
regular week). 

a. For each modified bell schedule, calculate the total number of lost 
instructional minutes compared to the same day in a normal week. For 
example, if a modified bell schedule occurs on a Tuesday, determine lost 
minutes based on the Tuesday bell schedule during a regular week. 

b. If there are multiple modified bell schedules that are not used during a regular 
week, this step will need to be followed for each modified bell schedule. 

3. Sum the total number of yearly lost instructional minutes for all days using modified 
bell schedules (i.e., those not followed during a regular week) to determine the total 
number of lost instructional minutes for the entire school year. 

Step 4: Determine the average number of daily lost instructional minutes 
associated with modified bell schedules not followed during a “regular” week. 

Divide the total number of lost instructional minutes for the entire school year (as 
determined in Step 3) by the scheduled student contact days for the entire school year (as 
determined by Step 1.1) to calculate the average lost instructional minutes per day. 

Step 5: Determine the adjusted minimum average daily minutes needed for 
each funding threshold  

If a school or program has lost daily minutes as determined in Step 4, these lost minutes 
must be added to the average daily minutes needed for each funding threshold as calculated 
in Step 2. 

• Full-Time Funding: 360 hours per semester multiplied by 60 minutes per hour equals 
21,600 minutes per semester divided by the number of days in a semester plus the 
average daily lost instructional minutes (as determined in Step 4). 

• Part-Time Funding: 90 hours per semester multiplied by 60 minutes per hour equals 
5,400 minutes per semester divided by the number of days in a semester plus the 
average daily lost instructional minutes (as determined in Step 4). 

The calendar calculation is now complete. 

The school or program should use the adjusted minimum average daily minutes as 
determined in this step when evaluating a student’s schedule for full-time or part-time 
funding (as described in the section below providing instructions for evaluating student 
schedules).  
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Conducting a Bell Schedule Calculation 

The purpose of the bell schedule calculation is to determine the average number of minutes 
per day of direct instruction each instructional period (i.e., “class period”) included in a 
regular bell schedule provides.  

Once this is determined, this amount can then be used in combination with Step 5 of the 
Calendar Calculation to evaluate each student’s schedule and determine whether they are 
scheduled into enough instructional class periods for full-time or part-time funding. 

Step 1: Determine the type of regular week bell schedule your school or 
program follows. 

There are generally two types of regular week bell schedules a school or program follows: 

• 1-week standard bell schedule(s) 
o In this instance, the regular standard bell schedule(s) used during a regular 

school week do not rotate or change from one week to the next. Refer to 
Regular Week Example 1 and Example 2. 

o When determining average daily minutes (as described in Step 3 below), total 
weekly minutes will be divided by the total scheduled student contact days 
during a regular week (i.e., 4 or 5 days). 

• 2-week standard or rotating bell schedule(s) 
o In this instance, the regular standard bell schedules used during the regular 

week rotate over a 2-week period rather than a 1-week period. Refer to 
Regular Week Example 3. 

o When determining average daily minutes (as described in Step 3 below), total 
weekly minutes will be divided by the total scheduled student contact days 
during a regular 2-week period (i.e., 8 or 10 days). 

Step 2: Determine the total number of weekly instructional minutes each class 
period is scheduled to provide during a regular week. 

1. For each class period included on a regular week bell schedule, determine the total 
number of instructional minutes per day the course provides.  

2. Sum the total number of instructional minutes each period meets every day during a 
regular week to calculate total weekly minutes. 

Example: Period 1 is scheduled to meet 90 minutes on Mondays and Wednesdays, and 50 
minutes on Friday. The total weekly instructional minutes period 1 is scheduled to provide is 
230 (90 + 90+ 50). 

If regular week bell schedules rotate over a 2-week period, sum the total number of 
instructional minutes each period meets during this 2-week period. 

Additional considerations 

• The assumption is that each class period on the bell schedule represents the amount 
of instruction associated with a single class for the entire semester. If this is not the 
case, adjustments need to be made accordingly. Contact the School Auditing Office 
with questions. 

mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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Step 3: Determine the average daily instructional minutes each class period is 
scheduled to provide. 

Once the total number of scheduled instructional minutes for an entire regular week is 
determined for each class period, divide this total number of instructional minutes by the 
number of days in a regular week. 

• If a school or program follows a 4-day week calendar, then total weekly instructional 
minutes for each class period should be divided by 4 days. 

• If a school or program follows a 5-day week calendar, then total weekly instructional 
minutes for each class period should be divided by 5 days. 

If regular week bell schedules rotate over a 2-week period, divide the sum total of 
instructional minutes for this time period by the number of regularly scheduled days during 
this time period. For instance:  

• If a school or program follows a 4-day week calendar, then total weekly instructional 
minutes during a 2-week period should be divided by 8 days. 

• If a school or program follows a 5-day week calendar, then total weekly instructional 
minutes during a 2-week period should be divided by 10 days. 

Step 4: Determine the number of instructional class periods into which a 
student must be scheduled in order to meet the full-time and part-time 
funding thresholds. 

Once the average daily minutes of instruction for each class period included on regular week 
bell schedules is determined (Step 3), identify the number of instructional class periods 
needed to meet the adjusted minimum average daily minutes required for full-time or part-
time funding (as determined in Step 5 of the Calendar Calculation). 

• If average daily instructional minutes are not the same for each scheduled class 
period, ensure that class periods with the fewest number of daily instructional 
minutes are considered first when determining the minimum number of class periods 
needed to meet each funding threshold.  
 

For example, to determine whether 5 scheduled class periods are sufficient for full-
time funding, start the evaluation by adding up the total daily instructional minutes 
for the 5 shortest class periods (i.e., those with the fewest daily instructional 
minutes). If the 5 shortest class periods are not sufficient for full-time funding, 
determine whether the inclusion of other instructional time (such as allowable passing 
periods, etc.), with the 5 shortest class periods, reaches the minimum threshold for 
full-time funding.  
 

The bell schedule calculation is now complete. 
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Evaluating Each Student’s Individual Schedule  

Based on the determination made in Step 4 of the Bell Schedule Calculation, each student’s 
schedule should be evaluated to determine whether they are scheduled into enough 
instructional class periods for full-time or part-time funding (as determined in Step 5 of the 
Calendar Calculation).   

Considerations when evaluating student schedules: 

• Equivalent instructional time for courses using alternative instruction will be equal to 
the same amount of instructional time associated with direct instruction courses at 
the school the student is reported (as evidenced by the bell schedule calculation) 
resulting in the same amount of semester credits. 

• Passing periods between direct instruction courses may be included when calculating 
total scheduled daily instructional minutes for students attending on-site. 

o Δ Passing periods are designed to allow for students to transition from one 
period to the next; their length should be dictated by the time necessary based 
on the configuration of the school’s building or campus. Passing periods 
between a class and lunch periods (or between lunch periods and class) should 
remain consistent with passing periods throughout the day. As a reminder, no 
more than 7 minutes per passing period can be included in funded instructional 
hours. 

• Scheduled direct instruction courses that meet outside of the school’s or program’s 
regular bell schedule must be evaluated based on the “bell schedule” unique to those 
courses (e.g., night school courses). 

• In the event a student schedule includes direct instruction courses being completed at 
a location different from the school at which they are reported (including contractual 
education courses), the district should use the appropriate direct instruction calendar 
and bell schedule calculations for that location/provider.   

• Scheduled courses that have optional attendance requirements (i.e., a class may be 
listed on a student’s schedule, but the student is not required to attend that class 
during the days and times listed on the bell schedule) will NOT be included in the 
determination for funding. 
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Appendix B:  Duplicate Count 

Overview of Process 

The purpose of the Duplicate Count process is to ensure that funding for a given student 
does not exceed the maximum state-allowable level. The Duplicate Count process is run 
after all districts have completed the initial Student October Count data collection process 
(on or about November 10). 

The Duplicate Count process is run by the Data Services unit immediately following the 
closing of the collection process, and generates the “Audit Exception Report.”  This COGNOS 
report lists, for each district, which of their funded students are also being submitted for 
funding by another district AND for whom the total funding (by both districts) exceeds the 
allowable state amount. Districts will receive an email after this process is run instructing 
them to access their report from COGNOS if they have students who appear on their report. 
For students appearing on this report as funding duplicates, districts will be required to 
provide all required audit documentation supporting funding eligibility to the School Auditing 
Office within 2-3 business days. This documentation must be uploaded to the district’s audit 
Syncplicity folder during the Duplicate Count period. 

The School Auditing Office will then review all documentation provided for each student to 
determine which district is entitled to submit the student for funding, and at what level. 
The School Auditing Office will notify each district as to the Duplicate Count findings 
(decisions will be uploaded to the district’s audit Syncplicity “Duplicate Count” subfolder). 
The Data Services unit will then unlock the Student October Count data for any district 
needing to make changes per the School Auditing Office’s Duplicate Count decisions.  

Districts will then need to: 

•  Make the appropriate adjustments to their interchange files; AND 
•  Regenerate their Student October Count Snapshot; AND 
•  Re-submit their Snapshot. 

Audit Exception Report 

The Audit Exception Report has two sections: 

1) Summary of Pupils Being Reported by Another District: Funding Duplicates 
• Do submit documentation to the School Auditing Office for these students. If 

you do not submit documentation, your district will likely lose funding. 
 

2) Summary of Pupils Being Reported by Another District: PAI Duplicates 
• Do not submit documentation to the School Auditing Office for these students. 
• Student has been reported by a BOCES with Pupil Attendance Information (PAI) 

code 01-08 and by a district with a code of 01-08. District PAI code of 31 or 33 
may be appropriate. 
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Total Funding Allotment 

In general, the following rules apply UNLESS a given student meets specific exception 
criteria which would allow for more/less funding: 

• Students in grades K-12 cannot exceed a total of 1.0 FTE statewide 
• Home-school students and students attending a private school (regardless of grade 

level) cannot exceed a total of 0.5 FTE statewide 

Below is a summary of funding codes associated with each funding level as reported in the 
Student October Count data submission: 

• Full-time funding (1.0 FTE) 
o 80, 91, and 92 

• Part-time funding (0.5 FTE) 
o 82, 85, 94, and 95 

• No funding (0.0 FTE) 
o 86, 87, 96 

Data Pipeline edit checks are in place to ensure that a given district does not submit an 
individual student for a funding level that is not allowed, per statute. 

Edit Checks 

In order to ensure that the allowable funding is not exceeded when a given student is 
submitted for funding by multiple districts, the following Duplicate Count criteria/edit 
checks will result in a student being included in the Duplicate Count process: 

• Students in any grade level who are submitted for funding by more than one district 
resulting in a total of 1.0 FTE or more 

• Home-school students who are submitted for more than a total of 0.5 FTE (as 
identified by any district who has reported the student with a Home-Based Education 
Flag value of “1”) 

Preparation 

Because the turnaround time for providing Duplicate Count documentation is very short 
(typically 2-3 business days), during the weeks leading up to Duplicate Count districts are 
encouraged to monitor the “Summary of Pupils Being Reported by Another District” COGNOS 
report throughout the Student October Count data collection. Initial preparation for 
Duplicate Count may include contacting the other district (if appropriate) to discuss specific 
students and beginning to gather electronic documentation evidencing funding eligibility. 

• The “Summary of Pupils Being Reported by Another District” report provides a list of 
students who are being reported by another district and another district or BOCES. 

• As a reminder, this report is limited, as it only includes students reported by districts 
that have generated a Snapshot, and will only include students who are “error free” 
and meet the criteria to be included in the Student October Snapshot.  
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Audit Syncplicity Folders 

All Duplicate Count documentation must be provided to the School Auditing Office securely 
via Syncplicity. Duplicate Count audit documentation must be uploaded to the “Duplicate 
Count” subfolder found within the district’s audit Syncplicity folder. 

• The deadline to upload documentation is Thursday, November 13, 2025 at 5pm 
(Data Services will send out an email if this deadline is adjusted for any reason). 

If you do not already have access to your district’s audit Syncplicity folder, email the School 
Auditing Office at audit@cde.state.co.us. 

• In the subject line of the email, include your district number, district name, and 
“Duplicate Count Contact.” 

o For example: “0010_Mapleton 1_Duplicate Count Contact” 

An audit Syncplicity folder has been created for each district. The naming convention for 
these Syncplicity folders is as follows: 

• District Number_District Name_Audit_FAST 
o For example: 0010_Mapleton 1_Audit_FAST 

The audit Syncplicity folder contains several subfolders: 

• Annual Audit Review 
• At-Risk Count 
• Audit Report 
• Duplicate Count 
• English Language Learner Count 
• Pupil Count 
• Transportation_CDE40 

 

 

Duplicate Count Documentation 

Because all Duplicate Count decisions are final, districts should upload all required audit 
documentation to the “Duplicate Count” subfolder to support funding eligibility for all 

mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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students included on the “Audit Exception Report.”  Districts are further encouraged to 
submit additional information or documentation related to a given student in support of 
funding consideration. In addition, Online Schools and Programs should provide course-level 
attendance documentation (beyond the normal Online School or Program participation) for 
all courses used in the determination of funding. 

Whenever possible, districts should try to resolve Duplicate Count issues related to count 
date/enrollment prior to the Duplicate Count process. 

If districts are unable to come to a resolution regarding who is eligible to submit the 
student for funding, then both districts are encouraged to submit documentation during 
the Duplicate Count process for funding consideration. 

Required documentation for every Duplicate Count student includes, but is not limited to: 

• District/school/program calendar 
• School/program bell schedule 
• Household demographic printout (from SIS) 
• Enrollment history 
• Attendance verification (example: detailed period attendance) 
• Student schedule 
• Additional documentation as applicable (i.e., corresponding unique 

student/course/school/program type documentation outlined in the Student October 
Count Audit Resource Guide) 

For each student, upload one document (when possible), using the following naming 
convention: 

District Number_SASID_StudentLastName_StudentFirstName 

o For example: 0010_9999999991_Smith_John 

 
o Each document should contain all required audit documents necessary to 

support funding. 

If your district is conceding funding for a student (i.e., your district submitted the student 
for funding in error), you must still upload a document for the student with the following 
naming convention: 

District Number_SASID_StudentLastName_StudentFirstName_Concede 
o For example: 0010_9999999991_Smith_John 

 
o This document can be blank. 

Considerations and Scenarios 

In the event a student meets the funding criteria at multiple districts, and each district is 
using a different count date, the following is the general count date “hierarchy” that is used 
to determine which district is eligible to submit the student for funding: 
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1) District using the pupil enrollment count date  

2) District using an approved alternative count date (either before or after the pupil 
enrollment count date) 

Pupil Enrollment Count Date Takes Precedence 

Districts using the pupil enrollment count date (10/1) will always have precedence over 
those that are using an alternative count date (whether the alternative count date comes 
before or after the pupil enrollment count date). 

Example: 
• Student meets all funding requirements at District A (who used the pupil enrollment 

count date). 
• Student also meets all funding requirements at District B (who used an alternative 

count date). 
• In this instance, District A is allowed to count the student for funding. 

Transferring on the Pupil Enrollment Count Date 

If a transferring student meets the attendance criteria on the count date at multiple 
districts (assuming they are both using the same count date), the “receiving” district is 
eligible to submit the student for funding. 

Example: 
• Student was enrolled and attended at District A in the morning on the pupil 

enrollment count date  
• The student then transfers to District B and attended in the afternoon on the pupil 

enrollment count date  
• Even though the student met all funding criteria at both schools on the pupil 

enrollment count date, District B (the receiving district) is allowed to count the 
student for funding. 

Two Districts with Approved Alternative Count Dates 

If a student meets all funding requirements at two different districts who each had an 
approved alternative count date, the receiving district is eligible to include the student for 
funding. 

Example: 
• District A had an approved alternative count date of 9/23 
• District B had an approved alternative count date of 10/6 
• Student was enrolled at District A until 9/27 (and so met the funding requirement at 

District A). The student then enrolled in District B prior to the alternate count date 
for District B, and so met the funding requirement at District B as well. 

• Even though funding criteria were met at both districts, District B (the receiving 
district) is allowed to submit the student for funding. 
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Home-School/Private School Students Enrolled Simultaneously in Multiple Districts 

If a home-school or private school student is receiving education services simultaneously 
through two different districts (who have the same count date), AND meets the part-time 
funding criteria at both, the district of primary residence is allowed to submit the student 
for funding. 

In the event neither district is the district of primary residence, then both districts 
should submit documentation for consideration during the Duplicate Count process as 
additional information (such as length of enrollment) will be considered. 

Students Enrolled Part-Time at Two Brick-and-Mortar Schools (with neither reporting the 
student as home-school or online) 

If a student is reported for part-time funding at multiple districts, a review of 
documentation will be conducted to confirm split funding eligibility (i.e., the student cannot 
be considered home-schooled or a private school student). 

Students Enrolled Full-Time at a Colorado public Online School/Program and Part-Time at a 
Brick-and-Mortar School 

If a student is enrolled full-time in a Colorado public Online School or Program, the district 
of residence is not obligated to provide supplemental educational opportunities to that 
student. Such decisions are left up to each individual district. 

Therefore, in a situation in which a student is enrolled in both districts prior to the count 
date and continues to be enrolled in both beyond the count date: 

• If the Online School or Program is providing a full-time educational program, AND 
• The brick-and-mortar is providing a part-time educational program, THEN  
• It is likely the Online School or Program would retain full-time funding for the 

student. 

When in doubt, both districts are encouraged to submit audit documentation during the 
Duplicate Count. 
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Appendix C:  Data Submission Codes  

File layout and definitions for the Student Demographic and Student School Association 
interchange files can be found on the Data Pipeline Student Interchange website 
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/inter_student). 

References to “brick-and-mortar students” below are those with a Public School Finance 
Funding Status code of 80, 82, or 85; “online students” are those with codes 91, 92, 94, or 
95. 

Student/Course 
Type Field 

Student 
Interchange 

File Value Comment 
ASCENT Postsecondary 

Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association  

01 ASCENT students 
funded with a 
current-year ASCENT 
slot 

Blended 
Learning 

Blended 
Learning Course 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Brick-and-mortar 
student enrolled in at 
least one of this 
course type 

Concurrent 
Enrollment 

Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

02 Students enrolled in 
concurrent enrollment 
courses  

Contractual 
Education 

Non-School 
Program 

Student 
School 
Association 

03, 04 Students for whom 
the district is paying 
tuition to another 
entity to provide 
educational services 

Detention 
Center 

School Code Student 
School 
Association 

Many  Use valid detention 
center code in school 
code field.  

Dropout 
Recovery 

Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

08 Students participating 
in a dropout recovery 
program offered 
exclusively at a 
community college  

Early College Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

07 Early college students 
who are enrolled in 
postsecondary courses 

Expelled Expelled 
Education 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Students receiving 
services through a 
program established 
for expelled students 

  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/datapipeline/inter_student
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Student/Course 
Type Field 

Student 
Interchange 
File Value Comment 

Foreign 
Exchange 

Country of 
Parent's 
Residence for 
Non-Residence 
Students 

Student 
School 
Association 

<> "000" Any value other than 
"000" 

Home-School Home Based 
Education 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Home school students 
receiving some 
educational services 
through the district 

HSED Attends District 
Funded HSED 
Program 

Student 
Demographic 

1 Students enrolled in a 
high school 
equivalency degree 
(HSED) program 

Independent 
Study 

Independent 
Study Course 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Student enrolled in 
one of this course 
types 

Kindergarten 
(Under the Age 
of 5)  

Entry Grade 
Level and 
Student Date of 
Birth 

Student 
School 
Association 

006 or 
007 
(DOB) 

Any kindergarten 
student under the age 
of 5 as of October 1 

Online Schools Public School 
Finance Funding 
Status 

Student 
School 
Association 

91, 92, 
94, 95 

Students primarily 
enrolled in a Colorado 
public Online School. 

Online Program 
- Single-District 
Online 

Non-School 
Program 

Student 
School 
Association 

 
01 

Students primarily 
enrolled in a Colorado 
public school district’s 
Online Program. 

P-TECH Schools 
and Programs 
(Years 1-4) 

Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

15 Students attending a 
P-TECH school or 
program in their first 
4 years of high school 
(Years 1-4) 

P-TECH Schools 
and Programs 
(Years 5-6) 

Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

16 Students attending a 
P-TECH school or 
program in their fifth 
or sixth year of high 
school (Years 5-6) 

Secondary 
Transition 

Special 
Education 
Transition 

Student 
Demographic 

1, 2, 3, 4 Any value other than 
"0" 

Supplemental 
Online 

Supplemental 
Online Course 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Brick-and-mortar 
student enrolled in at 
least one of this 
course type 
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Student/Course 
Type Field 

Student 
Interchange 
File Value Comment 

TREP (Year 5) Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

17, 18, 
19 

Students participating 
in the TREP program 
in their 5th year of 
high school 

TREP (Year 6) Postsecondary 
Program 
Enrollment 

Student 
School 
Association 

20 Students participating 
in the TREP program 
in their 6th year of 
high school 

Work-Based 
Learning  

Work-Based 
Learning 
Opportunity 
Course 

Student 
School 
Association 

1 Brick-and-mortar 
student enrolled in at 
least one of this 
course type 
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Appendix D: Documentation Checklist 

All relevant documentation is subject to review for any, and all, students submitted for 
funding in the district’s Student October Count data submission. This list is not exhaustive, 
and additional documentation may be requested during the course of the audit.  

Annual Audit Review Documentation Checklist 

The following audit documents must be provided to the School Auditing Office via Syncplicity 
no later than September 15, 2025. 

Organization-Level (district/CSI/BOCES) and School-Level (if applicable) 
documents: 

• Pupil Count Questionnaire 
• District/BOCES Calendar 
• Secondary High Schools and Programs 

o Handbooks (if available) 
o Calendars and Bell Schedules (with accompanying calculations, preferably in 

Excel format) 
• District-Run Programs 

o Handbooks (if available) 
o Calendars and Bell Schedules (with accompanying calculations, preferably in 

Excel format) 
• Home School Enrichment Programs  

o Handbooks (if available) 
o Calendars and Bell Schedules (and accompanying calculations, preferrable in 

Excel format) 

Expanded Audit Documentation Checklist 

During an expanded audit, additional documentation may also be requested for individual 
students, or for specific school, program, course, or student types. For further information 
about any of the documentation listed below, contact the School Auditing Office at 
audit@cde.state.co.us.  

Student-Level documentation: 

• Attendance reports (covering a minimum of the attendance documentation date 
range) 

• Enrollment reports including entry and exit dates for students (if enrollment is not 
included on attendance reports) 

• Individual student schedules 
o Brick-and-mortar students in grades 6-12 
o All online students 
o Contractual education students (including home-school enrichment programs) 

• Individual Education Program (IEP) documentation 

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_pupil_count_questionnaire_aud110
mailto:audit@cde.state.co.us
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• Tuition payment verification and contracts/MOUs/cooperative agreements 

Additional school, program, course, or student type documentation (as 
applicable): 

• Detention Center Notification (AUD-101) forms 
• Compliance Assurances for Contracted Services (AUD-108) forms 
• Alternative Instruction Course documentation 

o Blended Learning courses 
o Independent Study courses 
o Supplemental Online courses  
o Work-Based Learning courses 
o Catalog of Courses Using Alternative Instruction 

• Postsecondary course and program documentation 
o ASCENT  
o Concurrent Enrollment 
o Dropout Recovery 
o Early College 
o TREP 

• Alternative Education Campus (AEC)  
• Contractual Education 
• Detention Centers 
• Expelled students 
• Facility Schools 
• Foreign Exchange students 
• High School Equivalency Diploma (HSED) students and programs 
• Home-school/Private School Students and Home-school Enrichment Programs 
• Home-bound students 
• Individual Education Program (IEP) students 
• Kindergarten students 
• Online Schools and Programs 
• P-TECH 
• Secondary Transition students 
• Truant students 

  

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/school_auditing_annual_assurances_contracted_services_form-aud108
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Summary of Changes 

• To the Pupil Enrollment Count Date section, added guidance concerning the removal 
of the “11-day count period.” 

• From the Pupil Enrollment Count Date section, removed reference to the “alternative 
11-day count period.”  

• To the Enrollment Funding Eligibility section, added guidance regarding transfer 
enrollment exception students. 

• To the Enrollment Funding Eligibility section, added guidance regarding students 
enrolled at an Alternative Education Campus (AEC) school. 

• To the Enrollment Funding Eligibility section, clarified guidance regarding 
documentation requirements for students enrolled exclusively in qualifying 
postsecondary online courses. 

• To the Attendance Funding Eligibility section, added language regarding the 
Attendance Documentation Date Range. 

• To the Scheduled Instructional Time Funding Eligibility section, added clarification 
regarding the school-level instructional time minimums Instructional Hours Days and 
Hours data collection. 

• To the Scheduled Instructional Time Funding Eligibility section, added guidance 
regarding the length of lunch periods. 

• To the Blended Learning Courses section, added language clarifying that Blended 
Learning courses will always be evaluated at the course level. 

• From the Work-Based Learning Courses section, removed requirement and references 
to work-based learning contract. 

• To the Work-Based Learning Courses section, updated ICAP documentation 
requirements. 

• To the Postsecondary Courses and Programs section, added language requiring proof of 
Colorado residency for student enrolled exclusively in qualifying online postsecondary 
courses. 

• To the Postsecondary Courses and Programs section, added the “Instructional Time for 
Postsecondary Courses Consideration” subsection. 

• To the ASCENT, Concurrent Enrollment, and TREP sections, added a reminder 
regarding qualifying IHEs. 

• To the Concurrent Enrollment section, added a clarifying note regarding Transition 
students. 

• From the Dropout Recovery section, removed outdated language regarding the 
evaluation of courses which do not appear on a student’s college transcript. 

• To the Dropout Recovery section, added a documentation requirement for courses 
that do not earn college credit. 

• Added the Alternative Education Campus (AEC) Schools section to the Guide. 
• Added the Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES) section to the Guide. 
• To the Contractual Education section, added guidance regarding the “Annual 

Assurances for Statutory Compliance for Contracted Services” (Form AUD-108). 
• To the Facility Schools section, clarified language regarding the circumstances under 

which students placed in a facility short term can be reported for funding. 
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• To the Facility Schools section, added guidance regarding students who are being 
served both by the district and by a CDE-approved facility school. 

• To the ILOP section, added language concerning the sunsetting of the pilot program. 
Other references to the ILOP pilot were removed throughout the Guide. 

• Added the Individualized Education Program (IEP) Students section to the Guide. 
• Renamed the Transition Students (18 to 21-Year-Old Services) section to Secondary 

Transition Students (18 to 21-Year-Old Services) 
• From the Secondary Transition Students section, removed Indirect Services from 

funding and audit documentation section. 
• To the Secondary Transition Students section, added documentation requirements for 

students taking Concurrent Enrollment courses. 
• To the Secondary Transition Students section, added clarification regarding 

attendance for Alternative Instruction courses. 
• To the Secondary Transition Students section, added a Helpful Hint regarding Indirect 

Services. 
• To the Transfer Enrollment Exception Students section, added language concerning 

transfer enrollment exception students no longer qualifying for funding. Other 
references to transfer enrollment exception students were removed throughout the 
Guide.  

• To the Evaluating Each Student’s Individual Schedule section in Appendix A, added 
clarifying language concerning passing periods between class and lunch periods. 
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