
 

 Flowchart: State Board of 
Education Rulemaking 

Step One:  Legislature 
Authorizes Rules  

Step Four: Rulemaking 
Hearing 

Step Three: Notice of 
Rulemaking Hearing  

Step Eight: Rules Are 
Effective  

Step Six: Attorney General 
Reviews Rules 

Step Five: State Board 
Votes to Approve Rules 

Step Seven: Rules Filed 
with SOS and Legislature 

Step Two: Rules Drafted  

CDE staff collaborates with 
appropriate internal and external 
stakeholders to draft new rules or 
draft revisions to existing rules.  
During this process, CDE staff 
reaches out to individual Boards of 
Cooperative Education Services, 
Colorado BOCES Association CASE, 
CASB, CEA, and Colorado League of 
Charter Schools.  

  

Legislators must have passed a statute 
that authorizes the State Board of 
Education (SBE) to adopt rules.   

After draft rules are presented to SBE 
at a regularly scheduled meeting, SBE 
approves a Notice of Rulemaking 
Hearing and initiates the formal 
rulemaking process.  Notice is filed 
with Secretary of State and Dept. of 
Regulatory Agencies; hearing is 
scheduled at least 20 days after 
publication of notice. Copies of rules 
and notice of hearing date are emailed 
to superintendents, BOCES directors 
and other interested parties.  
 

Members of the public may provide 
written comments* prior to public 
hearing and provide oral testimony 
at hearing.  SBE may opt to hold 
more than one hearing. 

As required by the Administrative 
Procedures Act, the Attorney General 
reviews legality of the rules that have 
been approved. 

 

Final rules are filed with the Secretary 
of State for publication. 
Final rules also are submitted to the 
General Assembly to be reviewed by 
the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
to assess compliance with statute. 

Final rules become effective 20 days 
after publication in the Registrar. 

Step Nine:  OLLS Reviews 
Rules  

The Office of Legislative Legal 
Services must review all new rules 
to determine if they are within the 
SBE’s scope of authority.  Any 
concerns are presented to the 
Committee on Legal Services. 

*Written comments on rules may be submitted to state.board@cde.state.co.us or to Office of the Colorado State Board 
of Education, 201 E. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80203. 
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