Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

News Release - Jones Names U.S. Senate Youth Program Delegates

Dec. 13, 2010

News Release

Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones Names Students From Craig and Brighton as U.S. Senate Youth Program Delegates

Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones today announced the appointments of Billy “Slade” Gurr from Moffat County High School in Craig and Jenna Rose Sandoval from Brighton High School in Brighton as the Colorado delegates to the 49th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C.

“Congratulations to these two exceptional students and young leaders,” said Commissioner Jones. “Their demonstrated leadership abilities and commitment to public service make them perfect candidates for this program. Billy and Jenna will be excellent representatives for Colorado.”

Billy “Slade” Gurr is student body president. Gurr is currently ranked first in his senior class and has been actively involved with student government since the ninth grade. He is co-vice president of the Key Club and is actively involved in band, United Way and many other community programs. Gurr’s future plans include pursuing a bachelor’s degree in public or business administration, followed by a master’s degree in public administration.

Jenna Rose Sandoval is student government co-president. She has been involved in numerous activities including National Honor Society, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, varsity sports and Teen Court. Sandoval’s career plans include majoring in psychology or sociology before pursuing a law degree. Sandoval aspires one day to become a district attorney and judge.

Chosen as alternates to the 2010 program are Charlee Ottersberg, a resident of Arvada who attends Arvada West High School and James Taravella, a resident of Westminster who attends Mountain Range High School.

Selection for the U.S. Senate Youth Program is based on the student’s outstanding abilities and demonstrated qualities of leadership in an elected or appointed high school student office, in addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates to the U.S. Senate Youth Program. Two delegates are chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity. The student leaders will gather in Washington, D.C., from March 5-12, 2011, for a week of intensive study of the federal government and, in particular, the U.S. Senate.

The operations of the Senate will be particularly emphasized during the week. As in past years, arrangements are underway for the delegates to meet with leading cabinet members, a Supreme Court justice and several key congressional policy makers.

Each of the 104 delegates will receive a $5,000 college scholarship. This scholarship, in addition to the program week in Washington, D.C., is made possible by a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. All transportation, meals and accommodations are also provided. No government funds are utilized for the program.

Return to news release page

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing